Grace E. Sun DO
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office Central
3600 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.7
    Wait Time
  • 4.9
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.9
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 183 Ratings
  • 60 Comments

absolutely love Dr Sun. she has one of the best bedside manner I've ever experienced with a Dr.

May 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Really liked *Dr. Sun and her patient manner. Although my case and condition is quite unique, *Dr. Sun seemed familiar with my records, which is very affirming to me that she took extra time to review my genetic condition, my case history and past surgical events. She also took the time to record personal updates to my family genetic records. Thank you, *Dr. Sun!

May 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Doctor Sun is very nice and a very caring person.

April 10, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Sun so compassionate & caring. First time I have met such a nice doctor in Salem. She was so knowledgeable and kind.

April 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Sun was amazing. She is kind. Her professionalism was above and beyond. *Dr. Sun has my highest recommendation.

March 27, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Sun is among the best of the best. I truly feel she cares for me.

March 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Sun is the best.

March 07, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Sun is excellent! Follow up care the best! Excellent communication skills.

March 06, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

A++ # best physician EVER!! Through friendly professional loved her! 1st visit

February 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Loved her! She is wonderful!

January 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

In my book *Dr. Sun is a 10. She is awesome. [name]

January 09, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Had biopsy & went went, *Dr. Sun explained everything as she was doing it.

December 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr.Sun is a very caring person and knowledgeable physician. She takes ample time to explain issues and answer questions.

December 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Sun was delightful! Her bedside manner was exceptional, helping me to relax as I was anxious about having a thyroid biopsy. She reassured me verbally throughout the entire procedure and I was very comfortable. She called me with the results and discussed in detail. She is the kind of MD that everyone would love to have as a primary! Thanks. [name]

October 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Sun & her staff are fantastic!

September 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Sun was one of the best doctors I have interacted with. She was fully focused and not distracted - She did not seem rushed. She seemed incredibly caring, knowledgeable & personable. Thanks! [name]

August 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Superb visit!!!

August 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Sun was wonderful. Seemed very caring. Explained options clearly & involved me in decision.

July 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This dr. is the best! I will recommend *Dr. Sun to everyone.

July 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I can't say enough about how caring my dr., and her assistant were during my procedure. *Dr. Sun kept me aprised of her every move since my eyes were closed and it was necessary to lie very still.

July 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love Dr. Sun.....and I've NEVER loved any of my Endocrinologists

July 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am glad I have *Dr. Sun as my endocrinologist. My health has improved with her care.

July 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Sun is both compassionate and knowledgeable.

June 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent experience in care. I never felt rushed or pressured to make a decision. The dr. answered all of my questions and worked with me to decide on the best "next step" for me. She and the staff showed genuine care for me and I felt like a "person," not just another patient in an out of the office that morning. I recommend this doctor, staff and facility.

June 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My office visit w/*Dr. Sun was very pleasant. She is very caring & attentive. I was very impressed w/her & the info. she provided me with concerning my thyroid.

May 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Sun is excellent. I'm SO very happy she's my doctor!

May 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am so impressed with the care I received! *Dr. Sun was so professional & especially compassionate & patient before and during my biopsy - She talked me through the whole thing and there were no surprises. She is a knowledgeable professional who made me feel safe & cared for. Thank you!

April 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Sun is a caring, informative and very knowledgeable specialty doctor.

April 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Sun and the front desk staff are great.

March 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Grace Sun is so very sweet and compassionate with her clients.

March 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Sun is a very kind doctor and makes me feel at ease. I feel she listened to my questions and I appreciate she was willing to change my prescription to a single tablet as I requested.

March 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

First time meeting with this provider and was very pleased with how appt. went. She will be very easy to work with.

March 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Sun is a great communicator. I feel very comfortable under her care.

March 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Sun is an extremely competent and caring physician. I have made outstanding progress under her care.

March 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr.Sun is a compassionate doctor who gave me plenty of time to answer all of my questions. She was very happy to see me and the visit went great. Thank you!

February 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

EXCELLENT - VERY IMPRESSIVE!

January 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I loved *Dr. Sun! She was so personable and clearly very knowledgeable.

January 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

You need to keep Dr. Sun at all costs. PERIOD.

November 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Sun is very comfortable to be with! She cared for me very well!

November 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Sun & her assistant were courteous, friendly and showed genuine concern during the thyroid biopsy. *Dr. Sun called me with the results and explained the problem and we rescheduled a new biopsy to determine if a problem existed. I like her.

October 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It is a pleasure to be served by *Dr. Sun. She is very qualified. She makes you feel at ease. She is caring. I felt very confident with her advice and treatment.

October 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Sun & her assistant did a great job on my thyroid biopsy. Please thank them for an excellent experience that I had some anxiety about before we started.

September 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Grace E. Sun is a friendly, caring person. She takes the time to explains in details and in words that I understand about my concerns. I would highly recommend her to others.

September 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Sun is a very knowledgeable and compassionate care provider

July 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I think Dr Sun is the best doctor I have had about my thyroid condition and I appreciate her time and care for me while I was with her and since.

June 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent care & visit.

June 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Sun is the best. She always returns my calls and is truly concerned about her patients.

May 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Kaiser is lucky to have *Dr. Sun.

May 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I made appointment so my husband and I could ask questions after Dr. Sun diagnoised me with [name]. She listed and answered each of my questions. I was very impressed and respect her highly.

April 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was first visit with *Dr. Sun. I really like her as my doctor. She was very informative, answered any questions I had I felt she was very thorough at my appt. I look forward to seeing her again for my yearly visits or any other concerns I might have. I would recommend her to anyone!

April 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have had endocrinologists in the past, but *Dr. S_____ is exceptionally good. She is very knowledgeable in her field, and takes time to really listen.

April 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Sun was AMAZING! She spent 45 minutes with me and showed great concern. She added humor to the appointment to put me at ease and made everything very comfortable. I'd recommend her to anyone and everyone.

April 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was a little late was was VERY grateful they took me anyway. I was impressed with Dr Sun. I felt she was very thorough and covered things I hadn't noticed being mentioned before. // I was impressed by her thoroughness, and she came across as being very competent.

March 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Sun was very helpful getting me back on track where I need to be with my diabetes. I am very happy with her being my doctor and feel very confident in being able to regain control of my diabetes with her help. // [name] and Dr Sun are awesome with communication and timeliness of appointments. They both make the patient feel like the patients time is valuable.

March 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent visit.

February 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Hard moving to a new provider when my previous endocrinologist retired, but I'm really appreciating *Dr. Sun and grateful to have her expertise -

February 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very much appreciated the thoroughness of *Dr. Sun's examination and analysis. Change of insulin injection sites per her advice has resulted in much better glucose control.

February 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Sun was very informative about my thyroid cancer and para thyroid issue and what I should be doing for my overall health because of these issues. This was information I did not get before.

January 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like Dr. Sun, she is very polite, very professional.

December 14, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Sun is an excellent doctor I would recommend her highly.

December 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born in Boston, Massachusetts and grew up in Vicksburg, Mississippi. I helped out in our family restaurant after school and learned the value of hard work. I attended college in Atlanta, Georgia and medical school in Kirksville, Missouri. I completed my medical training in Cleveland, Ohio (internal medicine residency at MetroHealth Medical Center and endocrinology fellowship at Cleveland Clinic). After enjoying multiple visits to the Pacific Northwest, I moved to Portland, Oregon to be closer to family and good friends and to take advantage of all the wonderful, unique things in the area.

About my practice

Each person has different motivations for and barriers to staying healthy. As a physician, I enjoy helping patients identify these barriers and motivators to improve individual health. As an endocrinologist, I appreciate that endocrine disease processes may be confusing, and enjoy the opportunity to educate and guide members to optimize their healthcare.

How I thrive

I enjoy quality time with family and friends, nature hikes, tasting new foods, and exploring new places.

Medical School ?

Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine
Kirksville

Medical Training ?

Endocrinology
Cleveland Clinic Foundation
Cleveland OH

Internal Medicine
MetroHealth Medical Center
Cleveland OH

Board Certification ?

Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism
American Board of Internal Medicine

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine