Hao-Jun J. Chong MD
4.8 / 5
(503)813-2000
Sunnybrook Medical Offices
9900 SE Sunnyside Rd.
Clackamas, OR 97015

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.7
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.9
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 38 Ratings
  • 12 Comments

Blown away (in a good way) by my visit with *Dr. Chong. He was SO friendly, professional, and kind. He explained everything in easy language, and was not rushed during our visit. He addressed all my concerns and made me feel like his only patient of the day! I trust *Dr. Chong and am looking forward to him doing my surgery.

July 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I wouldn't want another surgeon. He is good at communicating, and makes sure I feel heard.

June 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Chong was fantastic and I have a lot of confidence in him. He was very professional and organized.

June 12, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Chong is one of the best doctors I have met at Kaiser. He is an excellent plastic surgeon, very kind and considerate. I would highly recommend him to others.

June 11, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was extremely impressed with the time and patience displayed by *Dr. Chong during this visit. He was friendly, kind and knowledgeable and very professional. He took the time to explain my procedure in detail including possible complications including showing pictures of patients with the procedure and concerns. I have always been treated well by clinicians at Kaiser but this was even above and beyond in care excellence!

April 27, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Chong did a fantastic job with my final stage of my journey!

April 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Everyone is very professional. My surgery is scheduled for early April and I feel everything has been explained. I have confidence in *Dr. Chong and I am comfortable with him as my surgeon.

March 06, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Chong took care to answer all my questions thoroughly and spent enough time with me that I didn't feel like it was a revolving door which sometimes happens with over scheduled drs. He is bright and kind.

February 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really like *Dr. Chong and his staff He takes time to explain everything and is very personable.

February 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent Dr.Chong he was friendly, talked with me not at me and he wore Awesome shoes.

January 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Chong is an incredible doctor. I felt confident and trusting of him since the moment we met. Highly recommend *Dr. Chong and his staff.

January 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Such a kind physician. Unhurried, answered all questions. Very comfortable!

January 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I cultivated an interest in plastic and reconstructive surgery in medical school, where I became enthralled by the artistic precision of the field and the possibility of helping people from diverse backgrounds overcome varied situations to lead more fulfilling lives. I completed my residency in Seattle, or “real-life Grey’s Anatomy” as friends and family would quip. Undeterred by the rain, I then ventured to Edinburgh to pursue an international fellowship with the Scottish National Health Service, acquiring valuable new perspectives both professionally and personally. Now, I am thrilled to call Portland home. It is my privilege to serve and treat the members of Kaiser Permanente.

About my practice

Every person is unique. I will strive to treat you as an individual, tailoring treatment plans to your personal needs and goals. I believe in the value of each member of your health-care team, and I will endeavor to promote an environment in which each team member takes pride in your care. I am trained across the scope of plastic and reconstructive surgery, and I aim to deliver the best possible care to you and your family. My clinical and research interests include reconstructive surgery, microsurgery, body contouring, and transgender health.

How I thrive

I thrive when I live each day to the fullest, savoring all that life offers. An avid violinist, I have performed with various orchestras, even throughout my years in training, including the Seattle Rock Orchestra and the Edinburgh Highland Reel and Strathspey Society. I enjoy spending time with my partner – cooking, hiking, and exploring the beautiful Pacific Northwest with our dogs, a Dalmatian and a shih tzu. We love traveling, locally and internationally, to rural locales and “urban jungles” alike. We aspire to a philosophy of healthy mindful living for ourselves and for our planet.

Medical School ?

University of California, San Francisco School of Medicine
San Francisco CA

Medical Training ?

Plastic Surgery
National Health Service
Livingston United Kingdom

Plastic Surgery
University of Washington
Seattle WA

General Surgery
University of Washington
Seattle WA

Board Certification ?