Heather M. Motonaga MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office East
3550 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.4
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 189 Ratings
  • 58 Comments

No problems - positive visit - have confidence in *Dr. Motonaga.

June 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

we are in great hands with Dr Motonaga

May 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first visit to *Dr. Motonaga. I felt very comfortable with her. I was most happy that she took my concerns seriously and is doing some follow-up. I have a follow-up phone appt. with her - brilliant idea!

May 03, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Motonaga is always so kind and professional. She is personable and honestly interested about my well being. She is also very attentive to my needs outside of my appointment.

April 27, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Montonaga is the best.

April 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Motonaga exemplifies the BEST in a health care provider. She is check friendly check knowledgeable check assertive check caring.

March 06, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm very impressed and satisfied with my KP healthcare service,*Dr. Motonaga is excellent.

February 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor is friendly and is non-threatening. I feel comfortable around her.

January 30, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

i enjoy my vists. she takes time to listen and help me understand everything. i have no complaints

January 18, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

With *Dr. Motonaga, I can feel confident that I'm getting the best care possible. She is very attentive to my concerns and is through about ordering testing when my symptoms could be a sign of something serious. I really appreciate her efforts to contact me - calling me on a weekend - when she had information that was important to me. I can always count on her to follow up.

December 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Montonaga is excellent at being clear and straightforward, while also being welcoming, curious, and kind.

December 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am so very happy with *Heather & her staff - her assistant was very caring & interested in what I had to say as did *Heather.

November 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Motonaga has always been very responsive to questions, medical care and maintaining health as I age and experience physical changes. I appreciate her facilitating special needs and requests - for travel and dermatology issues.

October 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Motonaga is a STELLAR provider!

September 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Motonaga was exceptionally supportive and attentive to my needs.

September 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Motonaga takes as much time is necessary to listen and answer your questions. She is very thorough. She genuinely cares about her patients.

September 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was excellent

August 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Motonaga is one of the best doctors I've encountered at Kaiser -

July 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Montonaga is a very caring dr.

June 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent experience with *Dr. Motonaga -

June 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very thorough care and advocacy for a specific need. Thank you, Doctor Motonaga!

June 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am pleased with *Dr. Motonaga & have referred her to other potential patients.

May 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love *Heather Motonaga and her assistant. I am so lucky at this time of my life to have *Dr. Motonaga as my primary care dr.

May 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Motonaga is very quick to respond to my questions & request (prescribing medications) when it was needed before we are going away overseas which was very helpful. She also explained me about the lab results what they meant which was not the case with my previous provider. Thank you for your consistent great care to us *Dr. Motonaga.

April 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Motonaga is one of the best providers I have seen. SHe takes the time to listen to my needs & issues and works to provide me with exceptional care. I feel very lucky to have a doctor of her caliber and KP is lucky to have her on their team. I think *Dr. M is an exceptional doctor and I would highly recommend her to anyone.

March 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor was attentive and helpful. I am very pleased with my experience!

March 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She is patient focused, she is thorough, she listens carefully. She is really top notch!

January 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

What a friendly and nurturing doctor! I feel very fortunate to have found someone who is as flexible and good natured as she is. I never feel rushed when I visit her, and feel as though she is genuinely interested in helping me be healthy.

January 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My friend had recommended Dr. Motonaga and I was so glad that she had because I felt incredibly comfortable and Dr. Motonaga worked with me to help me feel really cared for and heard.

January 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was excellent and very informative.

December 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Heather Motonaga is a great doctor. She's smart and knowledgable...and is very personable. She listens very well, is empathetic, caring, makes a personal connection - and at the same time is very efficient and focused on the reason for the visit. I am always impressed by how well she does her work. I have recommended her to a number of friends. Thank you, *Heather.

December 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm absolutely grateful to be under the care of *Dr. Heather Motonaga. She listens, she understands my concerns & she plans, with your input, what is the best follow up plan for a solution to your problem. She is very warm & caring & I feel very fortunate to have her as my primary physician. I know I can trust her to give me the best of care & that's very comforting feeling. *Dr. Montonaga exceeded my expectations in every way. I feel very fortunate to have her in charge of my care. [name]

November 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My first appt. with this doctor - she was wonderful and will keep her as my primary.

November 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Have referred this provider to someone who now uses her.

November 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I highly recommend *Dr. Motonaga. She showed/demonstrated sensitivity to my concerns regarding my [condition] & the many unsuccessful attempts w/earlier prescriptions by other KP doctors.

October 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very friendly and welcoming.

July 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very pleased with my new doctor

July 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Motonaga is exceptionally approachable. She LISTENED carefully and responded with sensitivity, knowledge & caring. Keep her!!!

July 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor M was fabulous: responsive to my concerns, assertive but not aggressive with treatment suggestions, ... She bumped up my thyroid, rather than assuming my exhaustion was stress or depression. I feel so much better, I cannot express how grateful I am. Now I have other concerns to manage, but at least I have the energy to do it! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

July 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Heather was very friendly and receptive to my history and concerns going forward. I'd like to continue seeing her and make progress with my inner & outer health.

June 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Motonaga is an extraordinary provider--one of the very best I have ever had. And, she is exceptional about responding to email, follow up in general and clinical care. Pls thank her for me.

June 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Motonaga was excellent to work with. She is friendly and warm and clearly listened to me. Our time together didn't feel rushed, which was appreciated. Also, she clearly communicated throughout the appointment, especially as we navigated some potential health issues and how to take steps to figure out what is going on. I also appreciate that she advised me to email with an update in one month to see how things are going, which makes me feel like she's invested in solving my health issues and staying connected. I had a great experience with Dr. Motonaga and have already recommended her to someone!

May 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Motonaga is relatively new as my Dr., as my old one who I liked so much retired. I am very happy with her as my Dr. She is caring & thorough.

April 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Going to a new doctor is hard, but I felt comfortable with Dr. right away.

April 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first visit with Dr. Motonaga and I was very pleased with the way it went. She is an excellent listener and made all the referrals I needed. I really look forward to working with her. I especially appreciated her referral to the Healthy Living coach and I am actively participating in that program. Thanks!

March 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The Dr was very through, and spent more time than I expected, but was grateful for.

March 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really like *Dr. Heather Motonaga and her nurse!! I would recommend her to anyone. She's has been 100% for me ever since I met her. She is a caring, considerate person.

March 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Motonaga was courteous, respectful, and professional.

February 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good.

February 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am so very pleased to have found the right care provider for myself.

January 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Really like my new doctor, she was very insightful and easy to talk to. I hope KP values her.

December 22, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good visit - helpful in making decisions regarding the need for increased level of care. // Care provider helped with a direct referral to the social worker during that visit and I saw the SW following the exam.

December 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I truly rate Dr Montonaga as an Exceptional health care provider. // Dr Montonaga is the first doctor that I feel actually listened to how I was feeling, and worked with me to make me better. I'm very impressed with her and am glad she is my doctor. Going to East Interstate clinic isn't very convenient for me, but Dr Montonaga is worth it. She is a wonderful provider. Kaiser is lucky to have her as part of the team.

December 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Heather was excellent.

November 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

my doctor was very kind and attentive, and offered more support than I asked for. My only constructive feedback is that she asked me all the questions that I answered in the health history questionairre. I enjoyed having that conversation much more than I enjoyed filling out that form, and was also able to give more details than the form allowed. It seemed like the form was unnecessary.

October 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Care provider seemed a bit unsure of the problem or condition but she recommended me to physiatry so I'm going to change my 3 to a 5.

October 13, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Motonaga was very pleasant, easy to talk with, and most compassionate!

October 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Motonaga was a thoroughly efficient and understanding. I felt heard and cared about. I would recommend Dr. Motonaga to anyone.

August 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born and raised on the island of O'ahu, Hawaii. In my early teenage years, as I watched my grandparents age, I realized I wanted to go into medicine. I moved to the mainland to complete my undergraduate studies at University of California, Los Angeles before returning home to Hawaii to complete four years of medical school. I decided to complete my Internal Medicine Residency at Oregon Health and Science University and fell in love with the people and the city of Portland, Oregon. It was in my third year of training that I knew I didn't want to practice anywhere else but here in Oregon. I love the idea of not simply caring for people but also developing long-term relationships with my patients.

About my practice

I believe in working with my patients to build a strong doctor-patient partnership. I became especially interested in geriatric care during my training, and through my practice at Kaiser Permanente have also developed an interest in preventive care and working with adolescents/young adults. I enjoy being able to grow with my patients here at Kaiser Permanente and become a part of their lives while keeping them healthy and maintaining a good quality of life.

How I thrive

Physical activity is the best form of stress relief and maintaining mind-body balance for me and I thrive by running and playing soccer. I also enjoy being in the kitchen and spreading happiness by baking for family and friends.

Medical School ?

University of Hawaii John A Burns School of Medicine
Honolulu

Medical Training ?

Internal Medicine
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine