Heather M. Penny MD
4.7 / 5
  • Spanish
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office East
3550 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.4
    Wait Time
  • 4.6
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.6
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.5
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 143 Ratings
  • 42 Comments

She was very nice and concerend.

June 29, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

just changed care giver to Dr.Penny very happy about the care she has givin me!

June 04, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Penny, MD is a wonderful primary care provider. She takes the time to really listen to my health issues and follow through with appropriate recommendations or referrals. She is knowledgeable, friendly, helpful, and comforting. I have total confidence in *Dr. Penny and she is a true professional. *Dr. Penny is a bright star at Kaiser.

May 04, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I truly appreciate *Dr. Penny's concern & consideration of my health & point of view on my health care.

February 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This time, I felt heard by Dr. Penny. I have to admit the last two times I didn't, but maybe I was more adamant this time. I felt heard and that my issues would be looked into and not just chalked up to normal.

February 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The whole experience was very very good and Dr. Penny listened to me, helped me orient towards the solution and prescribed me appropriate medicine that helped me a lot

January 03, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Penny is great!

December 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would prefer my provider to ask me first what I'd like to know and what questions I have before launching into a lot of medical advice. I felt really overwhelmed by the amount of information and that some of it didn't apply to me. It was good information, but would have been better if it was more tailored for me and my needs/questions/concerns.

October 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Penny is the very best.

August 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Penny is very kind and thorough. She doesn't ever appear rushed and makes me feel as if my time is her time. She listens and gives appropriate recommendations.

August 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr treated me with respect

July 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. penny is great always caring and trying to determine what needs to be done.

July 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Penny is WONDERFUL.

May 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Penny is very timely!

May 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Staff were very helpful and the doctor was very competent and took time to address my concerns.

April 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr Penny was excellent, active listener, through explanation of process; patient care; expectations with follow up. Very, very pleased!

April 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was the first time I've been heard and believed in a doctor's office. she referred me to services I requested, understood my hesitancy to try medication as a treatment, and was conscious of being sure I wasn't overwhelmed with unnecessary testing. this provider asked what was important to me and valued my insight about my condition and experiences.

January 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Penny is fantastic, I'm so glad she's my doctor.

January 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Time w/provider seemed rushed.

December 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Penny was extremely kind and courteous. She listened to my concerns and was thoughtful.

November 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Penny is the single most reliable doctor I have ever had. The genuinely cares about my medical history. Preferences and will being. I recommend her constantly to people I know who are joining Kaiser. I've truly never had a negative experience with *Dr. Penny or her lovely nurse. Very lucky to put my care in the hands of such patient, kind folks.

November 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Penny is a great physician. She listens, is thorough & make it easy to receive care.

October 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I only wish I could give a higher score than 5. Literally the best first Dr visit I have ever had. I was so pleased when I left, I don't ever want another provider other than Kaiser. I have been gushing to everyone I know about how wonderful my experience was.

September 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Clinician was caring & decisive connection with me would have been stronger if she typed less and had more direct eye contact while listening to my story.

September 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Thanks *Dr. Heather Penny is a sweetheart.

September 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Penny was an excellent provider.

July 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am really happy with Dr. Heather Penny!! She did all the above things very well and understood my concerns about taking a certain medication [name], which we agreed I could quit. // Dr. Penny took time to listen and respond to my questions & concerns.

July 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Penny is great! So glad we found her for our son.

July 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Penny is incredible and I am thrilled to have her as a provider. I had put off getting well-woman screenings but she made it quick and painless. She helped me come up with solutions to my sleep problems which I really appreciated. Most of all, she is smart, super competent and a lovely person and an excellent physician. I wish I could give her more than 5 stars.

July 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Penny is the best!

May 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Penny was excellent. She referred me to a podiatrist. But her assessment turned out to be correct.

May 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Top notch.

May 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Penny has a great team and I believe she is an exceptional care provider!

May 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very friendly, professional and thorough. Because of her attention to detail, she ordered a lab that prior provider was not that concerned about. Thank you

May 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She is great! Always feel like I'm the most important person in her busy day. Telephone follow ups are appreciated.

February 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Penny is wonderful.

January 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Penny was the dr. that really started looking at what was wrong with me. Thank God she took an interest [name]

November 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Penny and her staff are fabulous! very accommodating and made sure my daughter was seen right away. // we love Dr Penny! very knowledgable and kind.

October 12, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The staff at *Dr. Penny's office is always so friendly, professional and timely. *Dr. Penny does a great job in connecting with her patients and always takes the time to explain things, and answer any questions. I would highly recommend *Dr. Penny as a care provider.

October 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

All my needs were met and medications refilled in a very short, but concise and professional visit.

October 05, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Penny has been our family's doctor for the past couples of years and I feel extremely fortunate and pleased that we have found her.

October 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first visit with *Dr. Penny. I had to cancel my appt. with my regular doctor. I like *Dr. Penny even better! She gave me answers and listened to my issues. I felt she really cared about me.

September 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

A Native Oregonian, I was born in Ontario and grew up in the Willamette Valley. During my third year at Oregon State University, I made the decision to become a physician. At the time, I was getting my degree in nutrition and volunteering at a medical clinic in Albany, Oregon. I quickly grew excited about a career that would allow me to interact with people on a daily basis while simultaneously using the science side of my brain. In my journey to become a physician I worked and studied abroad in Central America and Mexico, worked at a homeless shelter, and spent a year of direct care-giving at a nursing home. Each experience prepared me to see life from another person's shoes and continues to affect how I practice today.

About my practice

I enjoy providing care to families, individuals, and children. I believe getting to know your family as a whole and what makes you unique allows me to better focus on prevention and quality of life. Early on, we might talk about breastfeeding, starting food, or vaccinations. With my teenage patients, I try to assist the transition from parent-driven health decisions to good self-driven decisions that will carry on to adulthood. Oftentimes this means letting a teenager tell the story instead of the parent. In adults we tailor care to each person who walks in the door. I treat chronic diseases like diabetes and high blood pressure with the same goals - quality of life and preventive care. While these things can be scary, we have great ways to make you feel better and healthier. In senior citizen patients, individualized care is even more important whether we are treating arthritis to improve activity or discontinuing a medication that causes a side effect. I want to be available to listen and help you have a clear understanding your health and treatments. I will be available to help you manage in times of bad news and also be there to help you celebrate your successes.

How I thrive

I thrive by being around good people, including my family and friends. Laughing, sharing meals, and the little things are the most important to me. These days my cardiac exercise involves stroller walks on the Portland Eastside with some serious weightlifting (moving a toddler). I enjoy kayaking, camping, and hiking in the beautiful northwest summers and will be hoping to get back to doing more of those things as my child gets older. Fresh fruit and vegetables are great and my husband and I have decided to try growing several dwarf fruit trees. Of course, I also like chocolate!

Medical School ?

Oregon Health Sciences University School of Medicine
Portland

Medical Training ?

Family Medicine
Providence Health System/Milwaukie Hospital
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Family Medicine
American Board of Family Medicine