Helena L. Tzou OD
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
North Lancaster Medical Office
2400 Lancaster Drive NE
Salem, OR 97305

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.9
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 151 Ratings
  • 22 Comments

Very friendly, professional and reassuring manner. The Doctor was excellent.

June 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was thorough and friendly!

June 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Best doctor ever! Answered all my questions and explained my options in detail

June 07, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Tzou was excellent, and I hope that for the next, follow-up, visit, if one seems warranted, that I can request to see her again.

May 31, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Her suggestion on how to treat my dry eyes was amazing. I have been telling all my friends

May 24, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor was on time and I did not need to wait, she explained every thing she needed to do and made sure I was comfortable and I will recommend her to others.

May 03, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The visit felt a bit rushed but over all OK!

April 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Nothing specific.

April 18, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Tsou was very thorough & helped me feel comfortable about asking questions.

April 14, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good

April 11, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was a fast friendly and very helpful visit. Dr. Tzou took enough time to let me choose the prescription that best suited my eyes, giving me time to look and decide, but not dawdling. She also explained how to deal with the oil in my eyes which is very helpful on a daily basis.

March 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The optometrist was very good. I had questions about a couple of eye problems I was having she was most courteous and answered my questions.

March 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

A VERY GOOD experience!! Doctor was especially competent and pleasant!

March 01, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I didn't feel rushed. she addressed all of my concerns and was very helpful on how I can help myself

February 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Thank you to my doctor for her exceptional care, I was very pleased!

February 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

A very caring, competent and capable clinician!

February 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was outstanding! Great personality and professional demeanor. She explained things in understandable way.

January 26, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I thoroughly enjoy this doctor. She listens and answers my questions and is thorough and careful.

January 25, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

First time seeing this provider but I was very pleased with my appointment. She went beyond what I would normally expect to ensure my apt went well and also helped by coordinating my care plan with the opticians while I waited in exam room. This really helped as the opticians knew her plan and they could pick up right where she left off. Great service!

January 13, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The Dr. was great! Very enthusiastic about the exam and the equipment she had to complete the exam. It was totally a delightful experience:)

January 11, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very impressed with Dr. Tzou. She was thorough, kind, had a sense of humor, was respectful, listened, was compassionate and caring.

January 11, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

REALLY liked Ms. Tzou. She was extremely friendly and helpful and satisfactorily explained things to me.

January 10, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Growing up in the suburbs of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, I looked forward to going to my eye exam every year since I received my first pair of glasses at age 10. I knew that I wanted to help others with their most precious sense, the gift of sight. After attending the University of Pittsburgh for my undergraduate studies, I graduated from Western University of Health Sciences College of Optometry in Pomona, California. I furthered my education by completing a residency in pediatrics and vision therapy at Southern College of Optometry in Memphis, Tennessee. During my last year of optometry school, I witnessed the magnificent beauty of the Pacific Northwest for the first time and knew that I would be returning to make this place my home.

About my practice

I love interacting with my patients of all ages, from infants to seniors. I enjoy fitting contact lenses as well as managing ocular conditions. Throughout my career, I have had the wonderful opportunity to work with patients with special needs, learning-related vision problems, amblyopia (lazy eye), strabismus (eye turn), and traumatic or acquired brain injuries. I appreciate that Kaiser Permanente is founded on preventive and holistic care, and I enjoy sharing my knowledge about the latest research with my patients.

How I thrive

I enjoy spending time with friends and family. In my free time, you can find me playing tennis, dancing, hiking, swimming, reading, and volunteering. I am a big fan of the arts, including musicals, ballets, and art museums. And every fall, I dust off the black and gold to cheer for my hometown team, the Pittsburgh Steelers! I love traveling to new cities and towns as well as going on road trips, but I enjoy exploring the Portland area most of all. This city still surprises me with its many restaurants and bars that feature cuisines from all around the world.

Medical School ?

Western University of Health Sciences College of Optometry
Pomona

Medical Training ?

Pediatrics & Vision Therapy
Southern College of Optometry
Memphis TN

Optometry
Western University of Health Sciences College of Optometry
Pomona CA

Board Certification ?