Hisham A. Bismar DO
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office South
3500 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.6
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 103 Ratings
  • 9 Comments

*Dr. Bismar is one of the kindest, genuine, compassionate, men & physician in the Kaiser system. Not to mention an EXCELLENT hand surgeon.

July 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have already recommended the care provider to at least two others.

February 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt *Dr. Bismar was very thorough and professional.

January 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love Dr. Hisham Bismar. He was kind, and understood my questions.

January 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great top to bottom!

August 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr was great.

August 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good experience. Doctor was very clear in prescribing the condition and options - everyone was very helpful.

June 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bismar is a terrific doctor. He immediately made me feel at ease.

May 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doc, who was very busy, just didn't have much time for me.

January 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I grew up in Damascus, Syria but have spent most of my life in the Midwest. After earning degrees at University of Dayton and Wright State University, I began work as a biomedical engineer at the Detroit Medical Center. Although the work was fascinating, I missed the direct interaction with people that I had enjoyed as a volunteer at the hospital, and decided to pursue my lifelong dream of become a surgeon. I was drawn to hand surgery because it of its variety and complexity.

About my practice

My practice is focused on care of the hand and elbow. I prefer a patient-centered approach, where I assist my patients in making the best decision considering their condition, lifestyle, and expectations. I listen carefully to my patients and address concerns and questions.

How I thrive

Working at Kaiser Permanente helps me thrive by allowing me to practice my vocation without having to worry about meeting quotas and instead being able to focus on providing the best patient care. I also thrive by spending time with my family, enjoying the natural beauty of the Northwest, and working in my garden.

Medical School ?

Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine
East Lansing

Medical Training ?

Shoulder and Elbow Surgery
Cleveland Clinic Foundation
Cleveland OH

Hand Surgery
State University of New York at Buffalo
Buffalo NY

Orthopaedic Surgery
Pontiac Osteopathic Hospital
Pontiac MI

Board Certification ?

Orthopedic Surgery
American Osteopathic Board of Orthopedic Surgery