J. Christopher Shaw MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Longview-Kelso Medical Office
1230 Seventh Avenue
Longview, WA 98632

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.9
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 211 Ratings
  • 75 Comments

Dr Dhaw was professional, kind, and quick but gave his time and listened.

July 13, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really enjoyed my appointment with Dr. Shaw. He was very thorough and very easy to talk about current hip issue.

May 22, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

as usual, I am always treated very well at Dr Shaw's office. the doctor is so friendly and I feel like he is never in a hurry to rush through thr exam . He seems to be very concerned about my wellbeing.

May 11, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr Shaw is always awesome

May 01, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent Doctor and a really nice guy. Very complete explanation of my problem and how to deal with it if headaches reoccur.

March 27, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shaw & his nurse very friendly and helpful.

March 12, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I believe he genuinely wants my kids to be healthy, and delights in their development.

March 09, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shaw = Listens!!

March 01, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very great doctor!

February 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shaw was easy to communicate with. I felt very comfortable with his advice and his suggestions about my concerns.

February 22, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was being squeezed in but everything went smoothly and I did not feel rushed when I saw my doctor. Doctor Shaw is such a special doctor. He always make you feel comfortable and is listening to you. // Dr. Shaw is very personable, kind and a good listener. I trust him completely.

January 29, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

First time with *Dr. Shaw - - - very impressed with his attention to my problems, and his attention to putting in motion all of the additional services needed. His style and efforts to listen to my comments, and answers, that were easy to understand. He did not ever appear to be in a hurry to move to next patient. Would highly recommend to anyone - a very productive and pleasant visit.

January 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shaw and [name] are fantastic, compassionate and deliver the highest quality of care!

January 04, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Shaw is the most thorough and professional I've seen in years

January 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first visit with Dr. Shaw. I found him approachable and easy to talk with.

December 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent dr., nurse, and check-in staff - Glad he's our primary dr.

October 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really like my doctor. // he made sure I was to get several preventative inoculations I needed. Otherwise, I would have just passed on getting them.

October 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

perfect

October 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

all in all was a good experience [or as good as can be had being's how your at the doctor. doctor shaw at no time made me feel as if he was rushing thr. appointment. took his time and listened to what I had to say. his nurse --addy--was also friendly and helpful.

October 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shaw & his assistant [name] are the best!

October 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shaw is a very caring and very honest person - I hope I can have him for many years to come -

September 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shaw & his staff is very good.

August 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good *Dr. Shaw.

July 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent service with *Dr. Shaw. He is always PROFESSIONAL & HELPFUL every time! [name]

July 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am considering changing my PCP to Dr Shaw. He took the time to explain exactly where my discomfort was from and why.

June 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My visit with the doctor was caring and supportive. Felt I could trust him to do the things needed to help me. He truly cared about my wellbeing.

June 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shaw is such a loving, kind, concerned doctor. He is so thorough. He explains every thing. He takes the time in patients concerns. He is on top of every concern of mine. I don't know where I would be without his help, concern and direction. Thank you.

May 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr Shaw as always was very informative.

May 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was a good visit Dr. Shaw is good to work with

May 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He puts the patients interest first!

April 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shaw is a very pleasant dr. He always takes all the time we need & is very concerned about us and our health.

April 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I always have a good visit when I come in to see the doctor. He answers my questions so that I can understand them. I am lucky to have a good doctor.

April 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shaw is outstanding. The finest general practitioner I have ever had.

February 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shaw excels in listening, is thorough and has an excellent patient/Dr. rapport.

January 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shaw I would rate as one of the three best that I have had experience with at Kaiser. This was my fist appointment with him and I was impressed!

December 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Shaw gave me so much time, care and love that I left his office with new hope and determination to take better physical care of my body. He was fabulous! !!!!

December 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

first time seeing this doctor, seems knowledgeable, He had a good bedside manner and listened well, although he seemed a bit rushed?

December 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shaw was so friendly and helpful! He spoke clearly and made everything easy for me to understand. You could tell he really cared about trying to help me with my stomach issues. Thank you!

November 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

enjoyed getting to know my new provider. allowed me to participate in my care by giving me good info and then letting me make the decision.

November 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My care provider has always been good, no complaints. I feel very lucky to have had good people looking out for my welfare.

November 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He exceeded my highest hopes and expectations in listening, taking time and giving me suggestions for my problems. He is over the top in my book.

November 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shaw was absolutely phenomenal! He truly cares for his patients and you can tell he loves working with them. He treated [child] with respect, while he did verify her answers with me if needed, he ultimately taught [child] as though she was the champion of her health. It was very impressive.

October 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shaw is one of the most caring and through personal care physicians I have ever seen! All of my family sees him and we and Kaiser are lucky to have him employed by you!

September 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Shaw is terrific and on time and spends quality time with you.

September 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

always a very good experience as Dr Shaw takes the time to address all my concerns, very kind and understanding

September 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shaw was very nice. Wouldn't want a different doctor to care for my son, as a doctor when needed.

September 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

As doctor visits go I have to say *Dr. Shaw is one of the most openly caring doctors I have ever met. A true pleasure to confide in. And very thorough in first contact. Not that I enjoy going to the doctor but when the need is there I am looking forward to *Dr. Shaw and the team at Kaiser.

August 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shaw listen to my concerns. Then he took action. I have not felt this good in a while.

August 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I 100% trust Dr. Shaw with his expertise and judgement.

July 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shaw is one of the most pleasant, caring doctors that I have met.

July 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Shaw is excellent and takes a personal attitude toward his patients

July 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first visit with Dr. Shaw. He listened carefully, picked up on my comments, and I did not feel hurried or pushed aside.

July 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Helpful - answers questions - my doctor is a treasure - I know he's busy but never gives me the feeling I'm talking up to much time - I think he should get a raise.

June 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have recommended Dr many times.

May 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We sure miss our [name] butt really like *Dr. Shaw. He's a great fit for us.

May 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have never had a bad experience with doctor Shaw or his nurse in all the years he has been my doctor.

March 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shaw really did a great job at this meeting with my wife and I on this health condition.

March 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My Doctor always explains things to me clearly and precise.

February 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shaw is the most friendly helpful dr. I have ever had. He listens to me.

January 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was a very good experience. Dr. Shaw is such a great doctor. I truly appreciate him and his ability to understand what is going on with my health issues.

January 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shaw is very thorough, personable, and caring - thank you.

December 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shaw is great.

December 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We've always been happy with Kaiser care. We especially like Dr. Shaw - who doesn't rush and makes us feel like we are the most important patients he has.

December 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Couldn't ask for any better service! Dr. Shaw is the best! // Very satisfied!

November 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I came in for a rash, continue issue w bad knee & new problem w my back. The Dr was running late but @ the minimum I expected him to take the time to examined my knee & my back. I feel I have been descriminated against due to my weight & will be looking for a new provider. The last 2 times I have been in tears after my appt due to frustration. I seem to never get answers & no follow up is ever suggested. Very,very angry & disappointed in the level of care I've received.

November 12, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shaw has always been wonderful, as he was at this appointment.

October 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shaw always has a smile on his face, tells you he is glad you are there and listens to whatever the health issue(s) is that brought you to the clinic. He is a very caring doctor.

October 20, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shaw does a great job.

October 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like the fact doctor Shaw listens to what I have to say and my choices in what is best for me.

October 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciate Dr Shaw not rushing through my appointment. He was personable, and made me feel very comfortable.It was a good experience.

October 05, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shaw and his nurse/asst are boyyh great!

September 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Nice dr. both my husband and I would like to stay with him. Thank-you.

September 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Thank God for *Dr. Shaw and staff they were a life saver.

September 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shaw has always taken complete attention to my sickness. He explains what action need to take as well as caring. He is your top physician. // I do hope these surveys are shared with the drs. In large part, I'm alive today due to *Dr. Shaws knowing I was in danger 8 or 9 yrs. ago. Thank you. [name]

August 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We could never say enough good about *Dr. Shaw. He is the reason we come to Kaiser.

August 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I absolutely love the opportunity I have to take care of my patients here at Kaiser Permanente. I have been working here since 2004 and will be here for many more years to come. I live near Kelso, Washington with my wife and five kids and we spend our out-of-office-time canoeing, hiking, chasing escaped goats, building rabbit hutches, and reading stories about Bigfoot. We also like to pick apples and blackberries, fly kites, carve wood, and play the harmonica. I went to medical school at the University of Arizona after finishing undergraduate studies in zoology at Brigham Young University and we explored all the ghost towns in that part of the world. I then completed my residency in both Internal Medicine (caring for adults) and Pediatrics (kids) in Dayton, Ohio, and I love taking care of both groups of people, though the kids seem to appreciate magic tricks more than the adults do. I think the Northwest is the greatest place in the world to live.

About my practice

My practice is made up of both adults and children. I love seeing people progress through life though the kids seem to grow much too fast. I certainly am not getting old that fast. I feel that care is much more complicated than the doctor dictating what needs to happen. I feel that a team approach, with mutually shared values and concerns, is required in order to have optimal outcomes. This requires the input and thoughts of my patients and their cooperation in the care plan.

How I thrive

I thrive because the things I thoroughly enjoy are the things I do all day. I love talking with my patients and I feel so lucky that I get paid to visit with my friends about their health. I have a hard time sitting still so my wife channels my energy in doing projects that she wants to have done around the house. I am very fortunate that most of my kids have inherited my wife's sweet nature and temperament, and they are always enthusiastic to go on adventures into the unknown. I cannot see myself doing anything else, as being a doctor is what I have always wanted to do, and it is every bit as great as I imagined it would be.

Medical School ?

University of Arizona College of Medicine
Tucson

Medical Training ?

Internal Medicine and Pediatrics
Wright State University
Dayton OH

Board Certification ?

Pediatrics
American Board of Pediatrics

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine