Jaishanker Nautiyal MD
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Radiation Oncology Center
3620 N. Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.9
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.9
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 210 Ratings
  • 71 Comments

Dr. Nautiyal has always been kind, caring and concerned about my well-being. He has done all he can to insure my comfort and peace of mind. He gives me all the time I need, and is a wonderful practitioner!

April 25, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This experience was very good. Dr. explained every step that we are taking. Dr. Nautiyal was MAGIC!

April 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good!

March 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nautiyal was very informative and really evaluated my case carefully based on my specifics. It was a very good visit for me and my wife.

March 12, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent care.

February 28, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm very happy with Kaiser & the dr. They are very good. Thanks for help me with my cancer and all you all do. Thanks [name]

February 22, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We went into the radiation treatment dreading it but to our surprise it ended up being a nice experience. We attribute that to the people who work there. Each one we encountered was warm, patient & caring. *Dr. Nautiyal was a blessing with his obvious expertise & gentle kind demeanor.

February 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent service!!! Made to feel like a special person.

January 31, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nautiyal was awesome! He really took his time with me & made sure I understood everything.

January 18, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nautiyal is a fantastic physician and he has taken great care of me, answered ALL my concerns and been very verbal with explanations to my issue. I quite honestly his diligence has eradicated my cancer and saved my life. I consider this man a FRIEND and would have no issues with his decisions at all.

January 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Jai. is the best doctor I've ever gone to. He is considerate of my serious condition but still treats me w/hope & love. We pray together. He tells me everything honestly & up front. I trust his judgment and professionalism. Wonderful friend too.

December 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Nautiyal is amazing. when stressed it is very difficult to stop my jibbering while giving and receiving information. Dr Nautiyal actually listened to me but asked very good clarifying questions. He was able to direct my answers to information he could use and then explain things to me in a way that made sense to me. I am very happy he is on my team.

November 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*DR. Nautiyal he is wonderful DR he is care about his pt. like his family he great DR.!

November 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nautiyal demonstrates the best of Kaiser.

November 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

OUTSTANDING service - very professional and caring.

October 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. was wonderful, informed, listened to me & educated me well when necessary. He was considerate, helpful and encouraging. I would recommended him to everyone who had a need such as mine. Bless him for his care & concern, & compassion.

September 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nautiyal proved to be compassionate, caring, and concerned. His knowledge in this area I believe is second to none. Not only did do the medical procedure with skill, his positive bedside manner made this terrible affliction go very smooth.

August 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

A very caring staff and doctor. I felt like I was given good information and explanations of illness were clear.

August 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Nautiyal is an excellent doctor.

July 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nautiyal is amazing! He has a very calm demeanor and makes you feel very comfortable! He explained everything well and so my husband & I could understand what he was telling us. He took us on a tour of the radiation area and explained in brief how it all worked. He was very thorough!

July 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nautiyal is a caring and compassionate practitioner.

June 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. N. is the best he explains everything so we can understand and appreciate everything he does an excellent job.

June 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nautiyal has always treated me with kindness and caring. He gives freely of his time and is very thorough. I've always had great confidence in his abilities and expertise.

May 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nautiyal deserves the highest rating given a doctor. He is intelligent, knowledgeable, experienced, highly dedicated to his practice, and also very kind, gentle, and friendly. He is a remarkable doctor and human being! I am extremely grateful for his care.

April 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nautiyal is my favorite Kaiser doctor. He has always shown concern, interest, and inclusion in my treatment process.

April 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very impressed with my doctor with the caring & explaining.

February 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Nautiyal is a fine Doctor. Concerned about my & my family's needs at a tough time.

February 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Nautiyal he's very good.

February 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was so impressed with the doctor and staff. They were efficient, cheerful and compassionate - all the time, it made a difficult treatment series bearable. Thank you to everyone.

January 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel *Dr. Nautiyal is an excellent doctor and I have the utmost confidence in her.

December 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nautiyal is truly exceptional in EVERY way!

December 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Care very good.

December 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nautiyal is very impressive - calm, kind & soft-spoken, easy to understand - a good communicator. A good experience!

December 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The best such a kind man.

October 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I can't say enough good things about Dr. Nautiyal and his staff THEY ARE THE BEST! Dr. Nautiyal is always there for you and reply's to every email or phone call.

October 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent communication skills and knowledge about my condition - demonstrated by *Dr. N. He took time to fully explain to my husband as well! Choices for treatment were clearly communicated, leaving final decision to me. 5 stars!!

October 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Nautiyul is an excellent doctor. He is kind and makes his patients feel that he truly cares. He explains things clearly and thoroughly. He makes sure you understand what he just explained. I would highly recommend him.

October 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nautiyal & his staff are top of their game. With love & compassion shown by all. My experience with this crew (all of them) was outstanding. When dealing with cancer patients I don't believe there is any better. [name]

September 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Natigal is a very involved, kind and gentle and informed person. I like him very much!

September 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nautigal was veyr courteous, knowledgable, kind & caring. Feel I got the VERY BEST care available am thankful.

September 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Worked to make things easy & fast!

September 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have the greatest feeling of trust for the dr. & his staff. Great dr.

September 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nantiyel seems very knowledgeable.

August 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The Doctors and Staff were well organized and courteous and gave me the confidence I needed to overcome my ills.

July 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nautiyal is the most knowledgeable physician I have ever had. He cares for me with the utmost professionalism. I trust this man with my physical well being. *Dr. Nautiyal knows my wife by name and greets her as well. Good person - Great physician. [name]

July 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doc has always been very nice to me he has helped me thru cancer 3 times now. He was always there for me when I needed him!

June 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nautiyal spent a lot of time with my husband and I performing a thourough exam & explaining everyting until all questions had been answered.

June 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nautiyal is a wonderful doctor/man.

May 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Don't know how you could trust anyone better.

May 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel very fortunate to have *Dr. Nautiyal as my doctor. I am so shameful to have smoked for so long & for this to happen yet no one has made me feel less a person, because it was my fault to be so sick. Thank-you all. [name]

April 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good experience - friendly professional and work wise.

April 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nautiyal explained things in dept so I could understand. He was very nice, caring in professional.

April 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Nautiyal is one of the kindest, gentle and knowledgable physicians I have had the pleasure of seeing. He always made me feel comfortable, as well as any family members with me, and he always provided a thorough exam. I had every question answered clearly and fully. He kept in communication with my other several physicians, which increased my confidence and comfort even more. He kept me advised of what to expect during the lengthy radiation treatments, which I appreciated a great deal because it lessened any anxiety as my body reacted to the various "insults" it was trying to recover from. Dr. continued to follow me with the same attention and concern for the year following therapy too. I will miss seeing him!

April 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nautiyal very "user friendly" med assistant was excellent

April 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Nautiyal is a gem.

February 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Nautiyal is one of your best doctor. I hope we will not see him again, but I always enjoyed our visit and help he provided during my hard times.

February 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I walked in very nervous, and my anxiety was at a level 9, but as Dr Nautiyal introduced himself and started talking about my condition, included my wife and I in all he had to teach us, and asked many times if we, or I understand what he was saying, and if not explaining in a different way so we did, I became very relaxed. As for seeking anyone else in Oncology for another opinion I think NOT, recommending Dr Nautiyal, I all ready have. :)

February 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Hard to recommend a Dr for cancer care but I left office with ultimate confidence I was with the right provider. Thank you.

January 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Awesome doctor!

January 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Nautial is great. I appreciate his concern for me and my family, and respect his medical opinion.

December 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nautiyal and the staff @ IRO are the epitome of how all health care should be! *Dr. Nautiyal and the staff there are excellent!

December 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Nautiyal is very caring, gentle, patient, courteous, informative, and has a great sense of humor. I have confidence in him and his expertise in radiation oncology. I look forward to my visits with him.

December 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nautiyal & his team are the BEST!

November 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We were a little rushed, due to doctor being paged for other activities during our scheduled time.

November 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nautiyal & team are the best. Thanks to all.

October 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Nautiyal is first class in all respects. I am a physicist so I had some knowledge about what was going on. It was a pleasure to talk to Dr. Nautiyal about the physics of the therapy. I have complete confidence in him. Moreover, he was interested in me personally. I was pleased to get to know him.

October 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. was very through, knowledgeable, personable, interested and explained options and reassuring that 6 months between MRI's was reasonable.

September 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent! I am very grateful.

September 01, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Extraordinarily wonderful care/visit. Everyone was professional, compassionate, thorough.

August 05, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nautiyal is a kind and caring professional. He did his homework on my case and took all the time we needed to be prepared for radiation and the journey.

August 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was a follow-up visit after completing 43 radiation treatments and a test showing that my cancer is apparently in remission. Over the 8 weeks of treatments the staff, while always professional, created a pleasant environment of optimism.

August 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born in India and came to Chicago, Illinois as a young child. I completed my college and medical school education in Chicago. I decided to practice oncology because I found the very personal nature of the relationship between a patient and their doctor to be very satisfying; it is an opportunity to help people when they are the most vulnerable. I then practiced at the University of Chicago where I did both patient care and basic science research. In 2000, I moved to Portland, Oregon because I wanted to focus exclusively on patient care in a setting which would emphasize high-quality care.

About my practice

I like and care about my patients and view it as a privilege and a sincere responsibility for myself to be involved in their care. My approach to taking care of a patient is to get to know the patient as well as I can. I try to do my "homework" before I see the patient by going over their relevant records. Then, when I meet the patient, I try to get to know them as a unique individual. Specifically, in addition to their illness that I am consulting on, I would like to know what are the other issues that they are dealing with, how are they emotionally, how is their family coping with the situation. In other words, I don't want to identify a person with their illness as the sum total of their existence.

How I thrive

I try to spend a major part of my non-working day in carrying out spiritual practices that give me a true sense of my place in existence. I also enjoy spending time with my family at home and doing the "simple things" together.

Medical School ?

University of Chicago, Pritzker School of Medicine
Chicago

Medical Training ?

Radiation Oncology
University of Chicago
Chicago IL

Board Certification ?

Radiation Oncology
American Board of Radiology