James B Kilway II, MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Cascade Park Medical Office
12607 SE Mill Plain Blvd.
Vancouver, WA 98684

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.9
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 116 Ratings
  • 32 Comments

I think *Dr. Kilway is a very good MD. Very pleasant - Easy to discuss concerns with. Very professional. I would recommend *Dr. Kilway to anyone. I was very happy with my care. Thank you. [name]

January 07, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was nice having a dr. that really listened to what I had to say. And really cared if I had questions. *Dr. Kilway was friendly, helpful and understanding of my concerns. He answered all my questions. He explained things in a way and with words that I understood.

December 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really like *Dr. Kilway's care & honest, & TRUST him. Never rushes me out the door. Always listens to me.

November 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was here for a post op appt. Staff and *Dr. Kilway was very friendly and concerned. I felt very well taken care of.

August 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kilway was great - very friendly & warm.

August 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Professional and friendly.

March 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kilway is always very caring, always explains everything he is going to do. Is very compassionate.

March 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kilway is so very special and professional. I felt very blessed to have him as my surgeon. I was so scared and he made me feel safe & secure that all will be OK. I wish there were 2,000 of him. If I would have had a dr. like him, I could have maybe not have my concern. He truly cares and you know it.

February 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kilway is always good natured and shows a lot of concern for me and my situation.

February 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciate *Dr. Kilway's attention and detail without being rushed. I truly felt that as a patient that I am well taking care of.

February 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kilway is an excellent doctor, friendly, and professional.

January 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor and staff were excellent in care & concern for my health issues.

January 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kilway and his assistant are both kind, thoughtful, considerate and knowledgeable. I would highly recommend *Dr. Kilway to family and friends.

December 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He's a wonderful doctor!

December 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kilway and his staff made certain that the wound on my leg was healing as it should be. They expressed pleasure. This made me feel that I am part of a team.

December 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kilway is absolutely GREAT.

December 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have seen *Dr. Kilway several times in the last nine months. He always upbeat, has good bedside manners. He's a very good surgeon.

October 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

VERY GOOD!

October 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great doctor - very helpful, didn't rush me through the appt. to get to next patient.

October 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kilway was very kind, very good bedside manner.

October 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kilway is what every doctor should be - Knowledgeable, friendly, funny, explains procedures, explains why my medication works the way it does, explains the long term goals etc.

October 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Recent diagnosis of breast cancer initial mammogram through surgeon visit was swift *Dr. Kilway spent 1 hr. visit non rush approach was appreciated.

July 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kilway did everything he could to make this surgery a good thing.

July 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was the first time I met *Dr. Kilway. I was greeted warmly & professionally. He immediately put me at ease and explained the procedure. *Dr. Kilway made sure I was positioned comfortably and kept me informed throughout the procedure. He explained my after care in specific terms I could understand. I will recommend and request *Dr. Kilway if I should need another procedure in the future.

July 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always a pleasure to talk to him.

May 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Our care provider *Dr. Kilway was excellent & VERY VERY caring person. My husband and I were very impressed with him as our surgeon. Completely comfortable & at ease. [name]

May 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kilway very friendly. My final visit with him & I liked him. Put me at ease.

May 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kilway spent a lot of time explaining issues, in exam, & procedure to be done. He did not appear rushed or rush me. He listened to what I had to say & answered any & all questions.

March 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kilway was great!!!

January 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

A very comfortable experience very kind doctor & nurse. I felt they really cared about me.

January 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Best surgery experience ever!!

November 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kilway is the best. He is my favorite doctor at Kaiser. If he could be my primary care doctor I would change right away. He is always professional, kind, and addressed your concerns right away.

October 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My wife and I moved to the Pacific Northwest in 2001 to start our careers and life together. It was a hectic time! We married, bought a house, started a new job, and made a major move — from Michigan to this beautiful part of the country. My family includes my wife and two boys; we thoroughly enjoy the Pacific Northwest and have no plans to leave. I was exposed to the medical field at an early age. My father was a general surgeon, and I remember going to the hospital with him when I was young. My uncle and grandfather were also physicians. It is no wonder that my sister and I both chose to enter the medical field.

About my practice

As a general surgeon, I take care of members with many conditions, including different types of cancers, hernias, intestinal conditions requiring surgery, and thyroid and parathyroid conditions. I have a specific interest in thyroid and parathyroid surgeries and have performed many of them locally and abroad during medical missions. When I meet patients for the first time, I try to get to know the person — not just their conditions. I feel that connection is extremely important in my practice. Additionally, I have outstanding teams in both the office and the operating room, which allows me to offer excellent care. I really enjoy patients who take an active role in their health and find that they have the best outcomes.

How I thrive

I enjoy a variety of activities to “keep moving." I like to spend time with my family, as well as play tennis and hockey, and water- and snow ski. I enjoy yard work, as it allows me to unwind from my workday. On a professional level, medical missions rejuvenate me and allow me to help and treat others who don't have access to medical care. This is one of the reasons I went to medical school.

Medical School ?

Hahnemann University School of Medicine
Philadelphia

Medical Training ?

General Surgery
Kalamazoo Center for Medical Studies/Michigan State University
Kalamazoo MI

Board Certification ?

Surgery
American Board of Surgery