James B. Wentzien MD
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office Central
3600 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.9
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 453 Ratings
  • 129 Comments

Amazing DrI feel so much better now that I know he'll perform my cataract surgery on both eyes. // I have a lot of faith and confidence in my Dr

May 31, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have great confidence In Dr. Wenstein.

May 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wintzien is an outstanding physician. Courteous, friendly and always willing to answer questions. He makes the "shot in the eye" effortless for me.

May 18, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wentzien is a wonderful doctor. I have been his patient for 20 years and I have complete trust in his advice. He is very professional but also is very kind and personable. Very thankful for him.

April 26, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Wentzien is terrific! I give him the highest marks for being kind, caring, thorough & a great listener. [name]

April 26, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Wentzien is an excellent physician and really shows he cares by listening intently and answering all of my questions.

April 25, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Receiving shots in the eye is not a particularly simple procedure. This doctor makes it as relaxing as practical

April 06, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Wentzien is a precious jewel and the main reason I have usable vision this far along in my glaucoma experience.

March 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Total confidence in Dr. Wentzien. Excellent physician. Pretty cool guy, too.

March 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

great

March 16, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Wentzien is pretty amazing - deep expertise, great demeanor. Feel very confident about care from him.

February 27, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had a very good appointment. Dr. Wentzien is fantastic

February 22, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Have complete trust in Dr. Wietzen! // Have already made recommendations to others.

February 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very happy with the service and my care!!

February 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor and staff were professional, detailed, and very user-friendly.

February 01, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Wentzien did an excellent job of explaining my condition and the procedure he was performing.

January 26, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wentzien is a terrific physician & the coordination of eye care is intelligently organized & top notch.

January 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really enjoyed his sense of humor and the way in which he shared test results with me.

January 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like *Dr. Wentzien.

January 04, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Weintzen is the best!

January 04, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He explained well and answered all questions so I could understand.

January 04, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Wentzien was personable & approachable. His calmness helped me relax. I felt free to ask questions and his answers exceeded my expectations in their depth & detail (I like details!).

December 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have seen several opthamologists at Kaiser and this doctor (Wentzien) is the absolute best. Great demeanor, thorough and caring. I trust him.

December 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wentzien is a wonderful doctor who always manages to answer all of my questions even before I have an opportunity to ask. He is also a kind and considerate person who makes me feel like he truly cares about my eye health.

November 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wentzien,and his staff are the best professional, courteous,and really care about the patient. The highest praise for Dr. Wentzien and his staff!

November 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Wentzien was very professional and also very friendly. He listened to my concern/problem and then offered a satisfactory solution. His exam was thorough and ordered another exam/test that confirmed his suspicions. I felt quite at ease and have extreme confidence in him and his ability to correct my usual problems.

November 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Wentzien is a very skilled surgeon with great people skills. All aspects of my surgery were very carefully explained to me as well as what to expect post surgery. I was very fortunate to have practiced with Dr Wentzien at the Clackamas Eye Clinic and was extremely grateful he was able to be my surgeon. I cannot thank Dr Wentzien and his staff enough for restoring my sight

October 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

couldn't ask for better

October 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have the utmost confidence in Dr. Wenstein.

October 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

superb!

October 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

first time with this Dr, he was awesome

October 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My experience with the subject appointment with Dr. Wentzien was great.

September 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wentzien is a terrific physician--professional, knowledgeable, responsive--able to engage with his patient, hear him, respond thoughtfully.

September 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Wentzien is so outstanding a physician that one can only wish he were immortal.

September 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr very knowledgeable and professional. I knew I was in good hands and I received excellent care. // Have recommended Dr to several friends.

August 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Wentzien are excellent.

August 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very comfortable with my doctor and the staff. they did everything possible to help me feel more relaxed and confident about the my surgery.

August 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Wentzein is excellent!

August 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Overall this was one of the BEST visits with a physician I've ever had.

August 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good.

July 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Wentzien is a great doctor. He thoroughly explains the issue and options for treatment. He's very caring and patient with questions etc. [name]

July 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent care and total confidence in *Dr. Wentzien.

June 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wenzien was fantastic.

June 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

complete confidence in Dr. Weinstein! he's a real pro with a great bedside manner!!

June 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Wentzien gets an A+ from me.

June 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wentzein does outstanding work. I feel fortunate to have him as my opthamologist.

May 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wentzien is very courteous and took time to explain my options and what would take place during the procedure. I felt confident in his knowledge and abilities to perform the eye surgery.

May 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Hello The people and Dr James Wentzien MD, They are the best. Very caring and Dr James Wentzien has kept my eyes healthy and a very smart man. Very happy. [name]

May 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

awesome doctor

May 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Wentzien has always been very professional and outstanding at explaining what is going on and may be expected.

May 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was very good about taking care of my eyes and he was very thorough and did an excellent job considering I was concerned about having surgery. He was very friendly and trustworthy. I liked him a lot.

April 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wentzien is fabulous! I now have 20/20 vision!! 1st time in over 6 decades!! Love.

April 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was favorably impressed with the Dr. Wentzien. He put me at ease with his personable style and imparting information about what to expect with the surgery as well as answering any questions I had.

March 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have great confidence in D. Wenstein.

March 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

A very skilled MD and surgeon. I'm grateful for his excellent care.

February 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The best of the best - thank you.

February 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wentzien was very professional and friendly. He has a good sense of humor, which put me at ease prior to my procedure. He explained my options and gave me the rational for each. During the procedure, he explained what and how things were going. He gave me clear instructions for follow up. I'm very happy with my outcome and would definitely recommend Dr. Wentzien.

February 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very nice experience. Doctor explained everything in a clear manner....staff very kind.

February 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I trust him. That's what is most important to me.

February 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

When I had my eyes operation on last [name] the Doc *James B. Wentzien and nurses were very good.

January 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Once I got inside, it went like clockwork. Dr. Wentzien was especially helpful in scheduling a procedure that same day so I could avoid another trip.

January 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Wentzien is a very kind and skilled doctor. He answered all my questions explained all options, and helped me choose the best option for me. I feel very comfortable in his care.

January 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Overall, Dr. Wentzien is an excellent ophthalmologist. Great chairside manner. // He is very thorough in his explanations and answered all of my questions.

January 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wentzien has provided excellent care each time I've seen him. He explains things and answers questions thoroughly.

December 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Appreciate the doctor and staff

November 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wentzien is a terrific physician.

November 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

All went smoothly. Dr. Wentzien was extremely helpful in explaining all procedures, and especially helpful in answering my concerns & questions.

October 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wentzien has a very nice manner and always acts like he remembers me from previous visits, which only occur every 4 or 5 months. I find him very clear in his discussion of my condition and would choose him even if he was not with Kaiser.

September 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciated that Dr showed me the computer screen as he evaluated the problem. A picture once again is worth 1,000 words.

September 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wentzien made me feel comfortable and confident in his diagnosis and recommended treatment of an eye condition. I would certainly recommend him to anyone seeking an eye surgeon.

September 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor's concern for my eyesight and his explanation for frequent appointments made me very relaxed and soothed any concerns I may have had. //I have had this care provider ever since I started with him in 2000 and have full confidence in him to protect my eyesight.

September 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The explanation was in layman's term and clearly understood. I was very impressed with how patient and caring the doctor was.

September 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first appointment with Dr. Wentzien. I'm most pleased with his care.

September 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Wentzien is an excellent surgeon. This was my post-op visit/appt. Dr was very reassuring and completely explained my recovery process.

August 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. James Bond was very knowledgeable and professional. He put me at ease with my eye condition.

August 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

James Bond Wentzien was fantastic. Surgery on my eye had great results. I am very pleased.

August 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very professional

August 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great comfortable experience. Options given, time for discussion and informative appointment.

August 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wentzien is so AWESOME! I believe, he saved my sons eye. We are blessed to have been seen by him and this was a follow up visit. He is very professional and excellent at his job! We Love Dr. W

August 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was related to cataract surgery. Overall, the Doctor and his staff were great. Approachable, confident, explained steps along the way (it's not like one does this often),. Dr showed me the process using a model of an eye; his manner relieved and uneasiness I had.

August 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Wentzien and his staff do a great job.

August 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent doctor & nurse.

August 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Weinstein is outstanding!

July 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first visit to this provider, will definitely be going back for future visits.

July 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wentzien was excellent. Made me feel at ease and confident that cataract surgery would go well!

July 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent Doctor

July 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Not enough room here to explain just how supportive and helpful the pre-op visits, the actual cataract surgery and the post-op visits with *Dr. Wentzien were. Every aspect of the experience and outcome far exceeded my most optimistic hope.

June 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

the doctor and staff are wonderful

June 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Wentzien a very competent surgeon and a good man.

June 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I finally got a solution to my watery eye that 3 other eye doctors did not solve. It was a simple solution as my tear duct was closed up. I was very impressed with Dr. Wentzein.

May 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor was very good!

May 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was greatly impressed with his attitude, knowledge and the amount of time he spent with me answering and explaining every question I had. I was also highly appreciative of his explanation of cataact surgery, using a cutaway model of the eye.

May 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good visit. great doctor!!

May 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wentzien was very personable and gave me lots of information. I loved getting the explanation of what would happen during the operation using the eye 'model'. I like lots of info and he gave me all I needed to feel confident about the procedure.

May 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Wentzien is totally competent. Included me in all details very thoughtfully, took time to answer questions about taking supplements.

April 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wentzien went the extra mile to make sure that I did not have a more acute problem with my eye. I apprecated his professionalism and care.

April 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Weitzien took the time to explain all of my options including their risks, and was very personable throughout the entire process.

April 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Wentzien is an outstanding specialist's specialist in retinal health. I have glaucoma and it is to his credit that I have as much usable vision remaining as I do.

April 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wentzien consistently involves me in all care discussions/decisions. I feel he truly cares about me as a person.

April 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was amazing very impressed with him

April 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel very lucky to have *Dr. Wentzein as my doctor. I know he will do the best to care for me, so I will not lose my vision. I could not be more pleased in the quality of care I have received from him. Kaiser is lucky to have *Dr. Weintzein too!

March 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor really related personally to the concerns I expressed about wearing my contact lenses.

March 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Marvelous doctor, nurses, and ancillary staff. Truly felt transported to another world.

March 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Really liked my doctor. She Explained things clearly and I didn't feel rushed.

March 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This almost seems too good to be true, but all my questions were answered.

February 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wentzien is an excellent eye doctor, great bedside manners, and a fantastic surgeon, who accepted to work on both of my eyes at once, and work out a schedule with another surgeon (Dr. [name]) to complete work on my eyes during the same surgery, which made me feel incredibly better not to have to go through multiple surgeries. Thank you!

February 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was a Pre-Op appointment for Cataract surgery for my left eye. Dr. Wentzien previously performed Cataract surgery on my right eye. He is an excellent Ophthalmologist who has been my doctor for many years.

January 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like Dr Wentzien's ability to explain what he was going to do and his confidence in doing it. It gave me assurance that he knew what he was doing...kind of important don't you think. :)

January 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. J. Wentzien is an excellent practitioner. He conveys an air of professional expertise and yet at the same time is very down-to-earth. I am glad that he will be one of the Kaiser medical team that will be monitoring my overall eye condition and care.

December 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Wentzien is such an outstanding ophthalmologist/retinal specialist/ophthalmic surgeon, he should be immortal.

December 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My appointment was on time. I didn't have to wait long. The doctor and his staff were all very helpful and courteous.

December 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

no issues

December 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

GOOD.

November 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Wonderful! Everyone was very efficient and professional yet personable. I love *Dr. Wentzien - he's a savior of my sight! I wouldn't go to anyone else.

October 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very friendly, engaging doctor. Made me feel comfortable and have confidence in his doctoring abilities.

October 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Of all my Doctors at Kaiser Dr. Wentzien does the very best at following up with my email questions. He also makes every effort to address any concerns in regard to my vision. I appreciate this very much. I know he is a very busy man. However, he seems to cover all the bases with his patients.

October 12, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very pleased with Dr. Wentzien.

October 05, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Weinzen is the best! He is a good listener and provides reassurance to lessen my fears regarding vision issues

October 05, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Opthalmology dept. from *Dr. Wentzien, the staff, the receptionist top notch.

October 01, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have full confidence in Dr. Wentzein, look forward to better vision after this operation.

September 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Total confidence in surgeon and team. I am an artist - eye surgery is scary. 100% success = thank you, everyone.

September 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. is outstanding. I'm glad I'm his patient.

September 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The dr. is top notch!

August 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor was very friendly and respectful. I really felt at ease even when he injected a local anesthetic in my eye lid.

August 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wentzien is special. He's definitely a keeper!!!! Must have been at or near the top of his class because the bottom half of medical school classes can't even spell ophthalmology. // Care from Dr. Wentzien was top notch all the way around.

August 12, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have the highest regard Dr. Wentzien's care. I have already recommended him to a friend who is considering having cataract surgery.

August 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wentzien is a fantastic physician.

August 06, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor had emergencies and that excuses the wait time for me.

August 05, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

my opinion of Dr W improved with time. In my first visit I felt he was over confident and lacked good listening skills. after a complication, his demeanor and attitude toward me improved and has continued until today where I now feel he is not only listening but also acting as a refined professional. the Dr's operating protocols are excellent. Very good!

August 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born and raised in Iowa, went to Medical School at the University of Iowa, but moved to Portland in 1991 to complete my Ophthalmology Residency at Oregon Health & Science University/Casey Eye Institute. I chose to stay in the area due to the excellent lifestyle. I enjoy outdoor sports of all types with my wife and son. I have served as Ophthalmology Department Chief for six years, and continue to push to improve our quality and service standards.

About my practice

After a few years in private practice, I joined Northwest Permanente in order to practice in what I feel is a more ethical, patient-oriented, and evidence-based manner. My professional focus includes medical and surgical treatment of all types of diseases of the eye, especially cataracts. Vision is an especially important aspect of overall health, and I take my responsibility in optimizing and preserving vision for my patients very seriously.

How I thrive

I like to run, cycle, swim, and enjoy a good meal with friends and family.

Medical School ?

University of Iowa College of Medicine
Iowa City

Medical Training ?

Ophthalmology
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Ophthalmology
American Board of Ophthalmology