James E. Ruf MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Mill Plain One Medical Office
203 SE Park Plaza Dr Suite 140
Vancouver, WA 98684

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 163 Ratings
  • 30 Comments

Dr. Ruf and nurse was great.

June 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Ruf was excellent. Great in explaining this process _____.

June 14, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Ruf & his assistant were great to deal with. Very professional - Very good to deal with. [name]

June 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Ruf and his nurse [name] always make you feel like they care. I feel very lucky to have *Dr. Ruf and [name] take care of me.

April 03, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Ruf was easy to talk with. We discussed whether to continue with PT until the surgery date. He said that I should use my judgment. He took the time to review my xray, showed me how the replacement would be done and the apparatus - metal & polyethylene - that they would use to replace my hip joint.

March 27, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really enjoyed my dr. & nurse, they are wonderful in helping with my concerns.

January 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Besides being a great surgeon, *Dr. Ruf is a really nice guy. I always feel comfortable visiting him.

January 03, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Ruf is clearly a highly competent surgeon.

November 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciate how approachable Dr. Ruf is. He never appears rushed and listens to all my questions and thoughts.

October 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Ruf was excellent.

September 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr Ruf appears to be extremely competent. He is excellent in explaining my condition.

August 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Smooth - sensible - caring - straightforward - just what most people want - and informative.

May 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The attention I received from *Dr. Ruf and staff was excellent. [name]

April 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Ruf was caring, professional , and made everything very clear. Enjoyed the visit.

January 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Ruf was wonderful. So refreshing to have a doctor actually LISTEN to you.

January 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Love Dr Ruf. I feel like I was his only patient. Wonderful bed side manner. Took the time to fully explain everything to me. Awesome Doctor!!

September 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Overall great experience, very well advised and taken care of.

August 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. was very dismissive of my pain, which brought me there.

August 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Ruf's bedside manner is excellent! He is very thorough in his details about what to expect in regards to surgery and during your recovery process. He takes his time during appointments, making certain all my issues are addressed. He rates "tops" in my book!

July 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Ruf was very thorough in answering all my questions & spending 40 minutes to do so, not cutting me off.

May 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Doc Ruf is for sure a expert - I'm the lucky one to have him for my total knee replacement. He is the best!

May 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

All good - *Dr. Rug is awesome!

April 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor was very knowledgeable and made me feel comfortable, gave me time to make a decision, and showed concern. He was also aware of my additional health issues and we were able to discuss how the operation would affect my overall health.

April 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor and staff were great!

March 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Ruf is an exceptional health professional...I am very fortunate to have him as my surgeon and ortho care provider.

February 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my 1st visit with *Dr. Ruf. He made me feel he understood my issues, explained my alternatives, discussed the process and what I should & shouldn't expect. He made me feel comfortable with his knowledge and with my decision on going forward.

January 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The entire staff was very courteous and helpful during, before and after my surgical procedure and care by *Dr. Rut was excellent.

October 01, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Ruf was very good and provided excellent feedback.

September 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first appointment with *Dr. Ruf. He introduced himself in a friendly, warm manner which established a tone for the entire period. It was obvious that he was well prepared for the mtg. having reviewed X rays from 2009 to the present, exam & annual X rays taken from 2009 hop replacement. I was pleased to be informed that he would be the person involved if surgery was necessary in the future. Overall, I was extremely pleased with *Dr. Ruf in every regards. Another example of the fine services I received from Kaiser staff members.

August 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr. Ruff did a good job of answering questions and putting us at ease about the hip surgery.

August 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am from a small town in Wisconsin but have lived in the Northwest since 2004. I went to medical school at Creighton University School of Medicine and completed my orthopedic surgery residency at the University of Michigan in 2002. I practiced in Hillsboro and McMinnville, Oregon before joining Kaiser Permanente in January 2012.

About my practice

I enjoyed practicing general orthopedics for several years beginning in 2002. My practice now involves mostly total joint replacements. I perform total knee, partial knee, and total hip replacement surgery. I also perform knee arthroscopy, carpal tunnel release, and treat fractures. I enjoy working with each patient individually to determine the best treatment option.

How I thrive

I enjoy the Oregon Coast and Central Oregon whenever possible. Growing up in Wisconsin, I am a diehard Green Bay Packer fan. I believe in finding a good balance between work and outside interests.

Medical School ?

Creighton University School of Medicine
Omaha

Medical Training ?

Orthopaedic Surgery
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor MI

Board Certification ?

Orthopaedic Surgery
American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery