James E. Unger MD
4.6 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Rockwood Medical Office
19500 SE Stark St.
Portland, OR 97233

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.6
Overall Score
  • 4.2
    Wait Time
  • 4.6
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.5
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.5
    Explanations
  • 4.4
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 45 Ratings
  • 11 Comments

*Dr. Unger is very knowledgeable & concern for our well being.

May 29, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Unger is such a valuable part of my child's village. I sincerely appreciate having a care provider that I can trust and that my sons feel comfortable speaking candidly to.

May 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was the first time I saw *Dr. Unger, but I could tell within the first minute that he was a knowledgeable and caring physician. I'm very pleased with his care and concern and his teaching - he gave me reassurance in what I was already doing to remedy the condition.

April 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I can't say enough about how happy I am that my kids have such an awesome doctor. Dr. Unger really connects with them and cares.

December 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. James Unger was awesome while treating & caring for my grandson! Explained things in terms he could understand and the time to do so. Great doctor!

November 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Mr. Unger was very respectful, not only treated me like a client, but as a person we had great conversations. Thank you.

July 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

great experience, liked the doctor so much made him my son's primary care physician

May 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Unger is the third pediatrician we have seen at Kaiser, and after seeing him I made him my children's PCP. He was the most friendly, and showed the most concern for my girls. He also gave me information in preparing my own solution at home to treat my girls' when they get swimmers ear. I thought this was very helpful and thoughtful. I would most definitely refer him to others. I TRULY appreciate his care, thoughtfulness, and GENUINE concern when treating my girls. Thank you!

January 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Also I really like how *Dr. Under is gentle & really listen to any questions or concerns I have.

September 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Unger is a great doctor does a great job of answering any questions & concerns & explains thoroughly. I will definitely refer others to him.

September 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We are new to Kaiser and are thrilled to have come across Dr. Unger. Our kids think he is awesome and is parents are very confident in his ability.

April 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

As a teen and young adult growing up in Texas, before choosing a career in medicine, I knew that I wanted to work with kids. I completed my medical training at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center and Children's Medical Center of Dallas, Texas. Previous practice experience includes 13 years with Kaiser Permanente in Texas before moving to private practice in Eugene, Oregon for approximately 16 years. As our children became adults and moved on, my wife and I moved to Portland, Oregon in 2013.

About my practice

Prevention is a big part of what I do as a Pediatrician every day. I feel fortunate to be able to practice with Kaiser Permanente because of our shared views about the value of prevention and using evidence and science to guide decisions in the patients' best interest. The practice of medicine involves a lot of listening before helping a family find the best option for their unique needs. I believe there is often more than one correct way of accomplishing desired health goals and outcomes.

How I thrive

In addition to my wife and two adult boys, the things that help me thrive include: swimming, hiking, ping pong, yoga, good food, biking, scuba, and travel. I have a genuine interest in public health, the relationship between policy/politics and health. I founded a community coalition to prevent childhood obesity in Lane County and, in 2015, I will serve on the Board of Upstream Public Health in Portland, Oregon.

Medical School ?

University of Texas Southwestern Medical School at Dallas
Dallas

Medical Training ?

Pediatrics
University of Texas Southwestern Medical School at Dallas
Dallas TX

Board Certification ?

Pediatrics
American Board of Pediatrics