James M. Snell OD
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Salmon Creek Medical Office
14406 NE 20th Ave.
Vancouver, WA 98686

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 346 Ratings
  • 66 Comments

Dr. Snell and his assistant were very friendly and answered all of my questions. Very happy with the care I received

May 09, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Snell was outstanding and he gave me excellent eye care! Thank you!

May 09, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was terrific.

May 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr seemed to be rushing because he was running late.

May 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Snell is a great doctor took the time to get to know us!

April 28, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

0 wait. I really liked this doctor. Very nice & caring. +10.

April 24, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Super nice, capable and professional. Dr gave concise explanation of my vision concerns.

April 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good

March 12, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very productive visit - I was impressed with *Dr. Snell and his support staff.

March 07, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent

February 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Snell is the one eye doctor I want.

February 13, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was a great experience thank you doctor & staff!

February 07, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Snell is the absolute best and after my visit, I've been singing his praises and recommending him to all my co-workers who have Kaiser.

January 10, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Snell explained everything that was being done and why.

December 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I leave his office feeling well cared for. He is very thorough. Explanations very clear and which I can understand as a lay person. He is da best!

October 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was a positive experience and my eyes were taken care of! I was grateful!

October 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My visit was very good with *Dr. Snell and his assistant.

October 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Snell is very caring and explains everything

October 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very professional and I felt very confident in his thoroughness.

October 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

great doctor

October 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Snell is just what I want as my eye care professional. Courteous, professional, personable, knowledgeable and kind.

September 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent service Dr Snell was very approachable and easy to talk to answered my questions with easy to understand language. // Very professional and enjoyed my visit

August 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Snell is very caring and takes the time to make you feel like you are his only patient!

August 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love this man - hope you keep him forever.

July 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Execellent

June 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Snell is amazing. He is very nice answered all my questions and made me feel very comfortable. I definitely recommend him.

May 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr snell is the best doctor ever. he is so professional, knowledgeable, efficient, caring and so much more

May 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Snell is responsive to needs and clear about options.

May 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I always feel confident with Dr. Snells exams and analysis. He explains things so clearly with cutaways of the eyeball. I hope he never leaves!

April 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

James M. Snell, OD is excellent

April 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

everything okay very good

April 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr was very thorough, friendly and calmed my fears. Excellent doctor!

March 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was extremely pleased with the care I received from Dr. Snell.

March 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Snell & [name] in the contact lens dept. are exceptional!

March 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Snell took the time to clearly explain what he was doing. He answered my questions in a clear, concise, and courteous manner. Friendly, courteous, and professional approach.

March 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Snell is always very thorough and caring.

February 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

really liked doctor and assistant

December 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent care by *Doctor Snell.

December 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The Dr was good.

November 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Snell was very professional and explained everything that he was doing. I would recommend to other's to see

November 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very happy with *Dr. Snell.

October 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very helpful

August 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Snell spent considerable time explaining post-cataract correction of my new glasses.

August 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had a wonderful experience and *James Montgomery Snell was very nice and thorough.

August 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Snell and nurse are super.

August 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Snell was concerned and very professional - he diagnosed & treated my problem immediately. He had me come in a few days later to make sure the medication was working. I thank *Dr. Snell & Kaiser for being there when I was in need.

June 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is terrific. He seems like he has cared for me for years!

June 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Snell is outstanding in diagnosing the problem and explaining the course of action. I have 100% confidence in him.

June 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Snell was great

May 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Snell went over my options in a clear an concise manner, made decision making very easy for me!

April 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Snell is very professional and also friendly and an asset to the eye department

April 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good

March 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Snell was the best OD that we've ever had experience with. He was exceptionally informative and answered all our questions with expertise!

February 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Snell is the best. He and his team worked so well together. Best experience ever.

February 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shell is GREAT. He's very down to earth, friendly & professional.

January 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Snell excellent and his assistant too. Very concerned about my health issues. Thank you Dr. Jame M Snell

January 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

No problems and very considerate.

January 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Snell is the best doctor. He has provided excellent service. I trust him with my health.

December 22, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Knowledgable doctor and thorough exam. Answered all questions and concerns. Advised what symptoms to be aware of for immediate follow up. Pleased with the visit.

December 22, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Snell help me get referral to have a cist removed from my left eye lid, please thank him for me, [name]

December 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

First time seeing Dr. Snell, I was very pleased.

December 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Snell is a great care provider. I enjoy his professionalism and knowledge and charisma.

December 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Emergency visit after Urgent care the night before (Shingles). Very clear on what to expect over the next couple of weeks and the assurance of the correct action from the doctor the previous evening on prescription for my eye.

November 05, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent care from provider Snell.

September 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was WONDERFUL. // Dr. Snell greeted me in the waiting area. Timely and efficient. Totally satisfactory service.

August 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Snell was excellent, well-spoken, and friendly.

August 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born in St. Louis, but have lived in every region of the country. Having spent most of my childhood in Alaska, I love the Pacific Northwest, and decided to return here after several years in Savannah, Georgia. I have a degree in Electrical Engineering from Rutgers University, and worked for eight years as an engineer before returning to school to pursue Optometry. My background in engineering allowed me to transition easily to Optometry, which I truly enjoy as a career. My time as an Army optometrist was also a very valuable time in my career, as it allowed me to expand my scope of practice, and bring that training to Kaiser Permanente.

About my practice

I enjoy providing care to all ages and populations, including general eye exams, contact lenses, and ocular disease management. I treat my patients exactly how I wish to be treated: with respect, kindness, and the best service I can provide.

How I thrive

Physical fitness is very important to me. Whether it's training for a triathlon, or watching the kids so my wife can train for a marathon, I certainly believe staying active is the key to thriving physically and mentally. I also love spending time with my family. Biking, hiking, and skiing are just a few of the activities we enjoy.

Medical School ?

Pacific University
Forest Grove

Medical Training ?

Optometry
Pacific University
Forest Grove OR

Board Certification ?