James R. O’Brien MD
4.8 / 5
  • Spanish
(503) 813-2000
Mt. Scott Medical Office
9800 SE Sunnyside Road
Clackamas, OR 97015

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.3
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 144 Ratings
  • 42 Comments

all good. I like my doctor!

July 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. James R. O'Brian was great to work with. He was friendly and real with me. I strained my back and he gave me some great exercises to work on.

June 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. O'Brien is very easy to talk to, courteous, competent. warm and straight forward. I trust him and respect his advice. I am very happy with my experience with him.

June 07, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good

June 07, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love our current pediatrician, but if for any reason we need a new one, I would definitely pick Dr. O'Brien! He was fantastic!

May 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

DR.LISTENS

March 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. O'Brian is great!

February 14, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

No one likes going to the doctor, I'm glad Dr. O'Brien works at Kaiser

February 07, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would recommend him to anyone.

February 07, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. O'Brien has never seemed rushed with me, even if he's behind schedule.

December 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great Experience

July 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. O'Brien is great.

July 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really enjoy Dr. O'Brien and am delighted with his service, his knowledge and his attentiveness to my issues. I couldn't ask for better service.

June 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor *O'Brien is terrific!

June 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The care provider was excellent. Took time to explain every thing.

April 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

great dr. very thorough. I'd go back to him without hesitation.

April 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Obrien is outstanding!

February 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. O'Brien was excellent and personable. Addressed my concerns and a few weeks later, the issue has resolved. I would love to switch providers so that he could be my PCP but the office location is not convenient. Thank you for your help *Dr. O'Brien!!

February 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. O'Brien has the best "bedside" manner. He was friendly, concerned, sympathetic to my pain and encouraging about my recovery. It was such a pleasure to be treated by him.

January 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. O'Brien is great. I always feel respected and he demonstrates genuine concern for my issues.

December 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

O'Brien an excellent provider

December 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Obrien, is very attentive, never makes me feel rushed and shows true concern for my health.

December 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr James O'Brien is an amazing Doctor . Friendly, knowledgable and professional . If Dr O'brien doesn't have the answers he has no problem finding the answers . I feel truly blessed to have Dr James O'Brien as my primary care physician . He is truly outstanding . I gave Dr O'Brien 5 stars across the board because its the highest rating Kaiser allows . If allowed I would rate him 10 stars because "YES" he is that good . Thanks Doc for the awesome job you do with me and all your patients.

October 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very impressed with *Dr. O'Brien. Last appointment of the day and I was not felt rushed by any means. He took his time & answered all my QUESTIONS.

October 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The dr. & his nurse [name] really care about ME!!

September 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Obrien and nurse [name] are great. very easy to talk too.

August 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr, O'brian was great, He really took the time to listen to my concerns and discuss different healthcare options with me, I appreciate when doctors give information and choices in care and help work with you in your health as a partnership,

August 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr O'Brien and his medical assitstant [name] are always willing to take time to understand my reasons for advice/treatment on my issues. he is very good on follow up

July 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Love Dr. O'Brien and his nurse. They make my husband and I feel like part of the "family"! We recommend him and Kaiser to all. Love Dr. O'Brien's humor. // We feel like we are going to (olden days) family doctor, who knows us and cares for us!

May 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We love Dr. O'Brien. He and his nurse/assistant make us feel like part of the family. I would recommend him to all my friends!

April 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

...I like this Dr. I trust him, confide in him, and he has a sense of humor

March 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doc was helpful and answered my questions and took care of items I needed.

March 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. O'Brien understands my needs and is an excellent listener.

March 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The nurse and Doctor were both very caring and I felt that my well being was important to them.

February 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Provider was very responsive and result was an immediate improvement.

February 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

First time I had ever met the doctor...he was kind, funny, and professional!

January 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr O'Brien listens and explains things very well and answers all questions. He recommend the use of an OTC medication to help with my problem which I was not familiar with. I was also able to get a vaccination in the exam room which was most convenient so I didn't have to go to the injection room. // MA [name] and Dr Obrian were very prompt.

January 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

(Good.) *Dr. James R O'Brien is very attentive, concerned about his client, kind in explaining clearly the conditions of the client. Thanks.

December 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very nice guy.

December 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very compasssionate and caring

December 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

WOW! He was the perfect provider for the visit!

October 01, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I switched to Dr. O'Brien after my previous PCP did not help me with an ongoing concern. Dr O'Brien came recommended to me and was very compassionate and knowledgeable.

September 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I grew up near Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and attended the University of Wisconsin, Madison. After finishing medical school and residency training through the Medical College of Wisconsin, my family and I moved to Bakersfield, California where we lived for six and a half years. I worked for Kaiser Permanente in Bakersfield for nearly two years, before we decided to move to the Portland area. I am a long distance runner, and have run four marathons so far. I am also a soccer fan, and enjoy watching the Timbers on TV. I enjoy hiking and camping, and am looking forward to enjoying the great Northwest.

About my practice

As a family physician, I take care of all ages, "from cradle to grave." I prefer to help people stay as healthy as possible, so that they can enjoy their lives as much as possible. I believe that the old adage "an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure" is often true, and that proper preventive measures can help people thrive and stay out of the hospital. I especially have faith in the power of proper nutrition and exercise! When medical conditions do arise, they should be treated appropriately so as to avoid long term consequences that can impact a person's quality of life.

How I thrive

I thrive by exercising most days of the week (running up to 45 miles per week during marathon training), by having a fruit and yogurt smoothie for breakfast every day, by eating plenty of fresh fruits and veggies (usually organically grown), by having a daily dose of Vitamin Chocolate, and by generally avoiding fast food. Throw in a Guinness or locally made microbrew a few times per week, and that is my recipe for "Thriving Success."

Medical School ?

Medical College of Wisconsin
Milwaukee

Medical Training ?

Family Practice
Medical College of Wisconsin (Waukesha)
Waukesha WI

Board Certification ?