James Y. Kim MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office Central
3600 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 153 Ratings
  • 26 Comments

Excellent during every stage of the process. *Dr. James Y. Kim is wonderful and excellent!

June 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kim performed test on me which he didn't explain fully.

May 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kim did a wonderful job!!

April 26, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

When people are happy & cheerful, it makes the rest of my day go better. Thank you *Dr. Kim - You rock as always! Thank you for really listening to me.

March 28, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kim had the best bed side manner and I felt very comfortable with him. I liked that he showed me what did after my procedure.

February 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would recommend *Dr. Kim to anyone.

January 25, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I always request Dr. Kim when I have an epidural (I've had 4) because I have great confidence in his abilities. He definitely know what he's doing and I trust him to get it right.

January 16, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kim engaged me and was informative. Included me in tx. plan. Showed flexibility in tx. plan as session progressed.

December 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent!!!

December 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kim is thoughtful, extremely knowledgeable of the body - knew exactly where my pain source began & treated w/ injections! so pleased to work w/ a caring doctor! // very possitive experience w/ Dr Kim. He listens to my concerns & addresses my issues w/ possitive attitude! when u r in pain it is important to have a doctor who is able to understand your pain & act upon to help alleviate the pain! Thank you Dr Kim for all you do!

December 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kim is a knowledgeable and caring dr.

December 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent experience! *Dr. James Y. Kim, MD is fantastic. He's helpful, compassionate, empathetic and works hard to help alleviate my low back pain. Thank you!

November 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Has an arrogant attitude.

September 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have developed a long term relationship with Dr Kim, and trust his care and advice.

July 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kim is one of the most caring, concerned Dr i've ever had. he's really trying hard to find out what is bothering me.

June 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kim made an outstanding effort to treat my problem immediately, make plans for possibly future therapy, and integrate it into an overall care plan.

June 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kim is really fantastic. His approach is straight forward and factual; I appreciate that greatly. I fully understood that the procedure I was about to embark on was not a cure but, simply a palliative measure. Success was no guarantee.

May 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really enjoy *Dr. Kim he has a great sense of humor. He knows how to poke where it hurts. And yes that's a good thing. He takes his time with me and I appreciate that. As I told him after all he is my favorite doctor. Thanks, [name]

May 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kim is the best Dr. I have seen since having Kaiser Insurance. He is genial, knowledgable and efficient and his treatment advice is always spot on.

May 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Wish all my doctors were like *Dr. Kim! He's easy to understand, thoughtful, and definitely includes you in treatments/decisions relating to your care.

January 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It is my second time that *Dr. James Y. Kim MD administered spinal injection I think that *Dr. James Y. Kim is not only good in his profession, but also a very good listener, shows concern and speaks clearly that person like me can understand I wish there at Kaiser would be more *Dr. Kim.

December 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kim was very knowledgable

September 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Staff was welcoming, procedure with *Dr.Kim went very smoothly and again - pain relief. Not one thing to complain about - all 5's.

September 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very personable and answered all my questions. Good sense of humor.

December 22, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kim was amazing! Excellent sense of humor.

October 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kim is a very caring, excellent doctor, I really like him.

August 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I grew up in Michigan. My father was a family physician and I would not be honest if I did not admit that heavily influenced my decision since I looked up to him. My wife grew up in the Northwest so we moved here to be closer to family. I have three children that keep me busy in my spare time.

About my practice

As a physiatrist, we specialize in musculoskeletal problems and we work closely with therapists for this. We also do testing of nerves and muscle. I have been trained in doing injections of the lumbar spine. They don't work all of the time, but when they do I find it quite gratifying.

How I thrive

For the past three years, I have played in an adult hockey league at the beginner level. My oldest has started playing and now the ice rinks seem to have become my second home.

Medical School ?

Loma Linda University School of Medicine
Loma Linda

Medical Training ?

Pain Management
Loma Linda University
Loma Linda CA

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Loma Linda University
Loma Linda CA

Family Practice
Florida Hospital
Orlando FL

Board Certification ?

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
American Board of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation