James Y. Kim MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office Central
3600 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.7
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 142 Ratings
  • 11 Comments

Dr. Kim is really fantastic. His approach is straight forward and factual; I appreciate that greatly. I fully understood that the procedure I was about to embark on was not a cure but, simply a palliative measure. Success was no guarantee.

May 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kim is the best Dr. I have seen since having Kaiser Insurance. He is genial, knowledgable and efficient and his treatment advice is always spot on.

May 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very very pleased with my care!

March 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Wish all my doctors were like *Dr. Kim! He's easy to understand, thoughtful, and definitely includes you in treatments/decisions relating to your care.

January 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It is my second time that *Dr. James Y. Kim MD administered spinal injection I think that *Dr. James Y. Kim is not only good in his profession, but also a very good listener, shows concern and speaks clearly that person like me can understand I wish there at Kaiser would be more *Dr. Kim.

December 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kim was very knowledgable

September 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Staff was welcoming, procedure with *Dr.Kim went very smoothly and again - pain relief. Not one thing to complain about - all 5's.

September 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was so relieved to meet *Dr. Kim. *Dr. Kim was exceptionally observant, displayed intense listening skills, taking all the time necessary to explore options regarding my immediate and past symptoms. I was thoroughly convinced *Dr. Kim will be my first choice for continued care for my chronic and critical care. I felt he knew spine issues thoroughly and had true compassion for sufferers.

May 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very personable and answered all my questions. Good sense of humor.

December 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kim was amazing! Excellent sense of humor.

October 20, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kim is a very caring, excellent doctor, I really like him.

August 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I grew up in Michigan. My father was a family physician and I would not be honest if I did not admit that heavily influenced my decision since I looked up to him. My wife grew up in the Northwest so we moved here to be closer to family. I have three children that keep me busy in my spare time.

About my practice

As a physiatrist, we specialize in musculoskeletal problems and we work closely with therapists for this. We also do testing of nerves and muscle. I have been trained in doing injections of the lumbar spine. They don't work all of the time, but when they do I find it quite gratifying.

How I thrive

For the past three years, I have played in an adult hockey league at the beginner level. My oldest has started playing and now the ice rinks seem to have become my second home.

Medical School ?

Loma Linda University School of Medicine
Loma Linda

Medical Training ?

Pain Management
Loma Linda University
Loma Linda CA

Physical Medicine and Rehabil
Loma Linda University
Loma Linda CA

Family Practice
Florida Hospital
Orlando FL

Board Certification ?

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
American Board of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitat