Janet M.S. Howard MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Rockwood Medical Office
19500 SE Stark St.
Portland, OR 97233

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 61 Ratings
  • 10 Comments

The nurse was very attentive to my concerns and she did listen and answer all my doubts and regarding *Janet Howard; excellent doctor, she always answers my questions and she's really concerned about my son's health.

July 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Howard is a wonderful pediatrician. She provides outstanding care to my son. She is patient and compassionate to my son's needs and my concerns as a parent.

April 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We like our Dr. She cares about us! She's professional and friendly!

February 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Janet was excellent! She is super knowledgeable and was very warm as well.

December 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Janet is a professional dr.! I and my kids, enjoy the visits, I feel confident on what she's doing.

October 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm so happy with my care provided by *Dr. J. Howard and her new MA is awesome [name]

October 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Howard is Outstanding!!!

October 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Howard is fantastic. She is always attentive to our needs. She is informative and relatively quick to follow up.

February 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I adore Kaiser, the Dr. on the other hand made me feel like I and my daughter were a waste of her time. // I found the Dr. to be stuck up and rude.

February 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was a well child visit. The provider prescribed melatonin to help my daughter sleep. She didn't ask my opinion about it. The same is true of the fluoride she prescribed. I have four children and I know better than anyone else what is best for them. She also told me that my daughter's bed time should be 7pm. I will be switching providers.

September 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born and raised in the Portland area and went to college here also. After college I lived in many places before, during, and after medical school and residency, including Alaska, Ireland, Dominica, Zimbabwe, Connecticut, and Japan. In 1997 I settled back in Portland to be near family and have worked for Kaiser Permanente ever since. I have been at my current position at our Rockwood Medical Office since 2005. My international and United States experiences have included remote medicine, international medicine, and teaching conversational English and student health in a university setting. I have also coached distance running at both high school and collegiate levels. I even had a three year stint as a professional athlete. All of this plus three children, a husband and a dog, have given me experiences that help me relate to the wide variety of families that I meet every day.

About my practice

I am a Pediatrician at the Rockwood Clinic where I see patients from birth through high school. I have a special interest in sports medicine. My background as an athlete and coach, in addition to attending sports medicine conferences, have given me the ability to care for a broad range of active children, from those just starting out, to those that might go on to college sports. I am also the physician leader for my group of Pediatricians. This role has allowed me to be instrumental in the development of our Medical Home for children here at the Rockwood Medical Office. I enjoy the broad variety of ages, cultures, and experiences that the families I see bring to my life.

How I thrive

In my personal time, I enjoy doing a variety of things that keep my body healthy and my mind stimulated. I exercise regularly, competing in triathlons and running and cycling races. In 2009 I was fortunate to qualify for and compete in Ironman Hawaii. I enjoy doing these activities with my family. I also enjoy remodeling and teaching these skills to my children. When I get a chance to slow down, you will almost always find a book in my hand.

Medical School ?

Ross University School of Medicine
Roseau
Dominica

Medical Training ?

Pediatrics
University of Connecticut
Farmington CT

Board Certification ?

Pediatrics
American Board of Pediatrics

Sports Medicine
American Board of Pediatrics