Jencina M. Butler DO
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Rockwood Medical Office
19500 SE Stark St.
Portland, OR 97233

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.1
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.9
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 157 Ratings
  • 51 Comments

I had a good experience *Dr. Butler is a good kind person. She is great to deal with. I really like her & am glad I chose her!

May 30, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I absolutely love *Dr. Butler. I have never had a dr. so thorough and I felt as confident in her. Best ever! 5 stars.

May 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Butler is GREAT! Accessible, knowledgeable, caring, intelligent LISTENS. Affiliates with patient in a way that is caring & guiding. Honors my input & guides by providing options & potential outcomes that are "doable" & reasonable. Did not simply suggest pills for every concern. [name]

May 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Butler was very friendly and personable. I appreciate the time she spent with me and getting to know me, since this was my first appointment with her. I have already recommended her to other family members.

April 16, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Doctor Butler & her assistant were both great, very attentive to my needs.

April 12, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Bulter is a totally wonderful provider. I feel that my needs and concerns are always being met whenever we visit! #1

March 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I always appreciate the length of time my care provider gives me, and I think she does a thorough examination/job.

February 12, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Butler was great. She was so kind and caring and took the time to completely go over everything with me. She was easy to talk to and put me at ease.

January 31, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

LOVE *DR. BUTLER.

January 04, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Jencina Butler! THE ABSOLUTE BEST!!!

January 01, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I always find going to the doctor very frustrating and this time was no different. Doctor decides she knows about my issue and orders several tests. Results came back and I'm told that all results look great. So that is the end. My issue is still an issue, but as far as doctor is concerned it's done. I feel I should not have to advocate so hard, doctor could have followed up and offered another solution to my issue.

December 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Best Provider experience I've ever had

November 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really was happy to have been able to see *Dr. Butler she was very caring and explained everything to me. I have recommended her to other people already and they may be switching to her. She was very thorough and caring. Great doctor.

October 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The attending physician (*Butler) was thorough, a good listener, and left no stone unturned.

September 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

If need be I will use *Jencina M Butler DO again.

September 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really love my doctor - she is caring - clear on suggestions - helpful in EVERY way!

September 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Staff & doctor were friendly, kind & compassionate! *Dr. Butler was generously concerned & thorough during my visit.

September 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*DR. Butler took time with me to carefully explain my conditions and to educate me as to how I could improve my future health. She really set my mind at ease and showed great empathy.

July 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We love *Dr. Butler. She takes all the time she needs to answer all our questions. So if it takes a little longer to wait for her, we understand and it's not a problem for me as well as my [age] old mother. Wish all the doctors were as thorough as her.

July 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I make the appointment 3 months away my husband an I so we can work together with *Dr. Butler. We both LOVE her! She goes over test results.

July 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Butter is fantastic... caring, sensitive & down-to=earth.

June 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Butler was great! Starting all over with a new PCP was concerning to me but *Dr. Butler was just the right fit for me.

June 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She's a wonderful doc!! Thank you!

June 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm new to Kaiser. I enjoyed Dr.Butler. she's very personable. // Dr.Butler is a very caring Dr. She spent plenty of time with me

May 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

we didn't feel rushed at all

May 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Butler is a very caring and compassionate doctor. Even though I am facing a very challenging medical health issue I feel very confident under Dr Butler care to face any future issues I might encounter. Dr. Butler is awesome.

April 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm excited to have her as my new doctor! she was very thorough and listened to my concerns! // Dr. Butler took her time with me, & was fantastic!

April 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Butler was very easy to talk to and spent the time to make sure all my concerns were addressed and that I understood all issues I had. Very caring attitude.

March 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I don't feel this space gives me enough room to describe how wonderful *Dr. Butler is & was The concerns that came after a MRI with our 5 yr. old, turned our worlds upside down. *Dr. Butler did such a great job of explaining the next step for care and did amazing at making sure we looked at the big picture and future once she (my daughter) gets the care needed. She has checked in w/me periodically to try and answer as many questions as possible - again - *Dr. Butler is amazing. My daughter loves her and we love her!

February 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Butler is by far the best we've seen at Kaiser!

February 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Butler has been very attentive and always open to my questions. I feel very fortunate to have her has my PCP

February 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My visit this time was great with *Dr. Butler!

January 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Really liked *Dr. Butler!

December 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Butler immediately put me at ease. This was my first visit with her. She was very thorough and demonstrated genuine care and interest in determining the cause of my abdominal pain. She was wonderful.

October 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Butler is thorough and thoughtful, she takes time to listen, ask questions, and seek resolutions to my health care needs. She is kind and shows genuine concern, is also very responsive via email. I really appreciate *Dr. Butler.

October 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was my first visit with *Doctor Jencina M. Butler. I real like. Nice doctor.

October 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I truly love Jen Butler. very personable and willing to take the time to get all my information for my needs. I got very lucky to have such a great doctor!

October 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We were happy with the concern shown by *Dr. Butler. She seemed very knowledgeable & eager to find a solution to the problem.

July 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Butler is my new Dr. I was nervous but she was so friendly & caring made me feel very comfortable. I am very happy she is my new Dr.

June 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My doctor is a rock star! She makes me feel like family. her!!

June 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very much liked Dr. Butler and the other staff members I had contact with.

April 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Butler is smart and compassionate. Very good dr. in my opinion & easy to talk to non judgmental.

April 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Butler is the MOST caring dr. I have ever had!

April 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

JENCINA BUTLER IS A VERY CARING PROVIDER. I HAVE SEEN HER ONCE BEFORE, AND I REALLY LIKED HER. SHE EXPLAINED EVERYTHING SO I COULD UNDERSTAND, DIDN'T RUSH THROUGH MY VIST, LISTENED TO ALL MY CONCERNS AND MADE ME FEEL VERY COMFORTABLE. I'VE HAD [name] FOR MY PRIMARY CARE PROVIDER FOR OVER 30 YEARS AND I LOVE HER. IF I HAD TO CHANGE, I WOULD GO TO JENCINA BUTLER. :) [name]

March 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Wonderful thank you.

February 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Butler and [name] were both sweethearts! // She is so fantastic, I guess we want to keep her for ourselves!

February 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good it was good day.

January 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I recently had an exit physical my doctor listened to my concerns and addressed each one, very good bedside manner, I feel lucky to have her

January 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Over all I find *Dr. Butler, Jencina a very good Dr. easy to talk to, you don't feel like you have to rush through without taking a breath.

December 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first visit with *Dr. Butler. I had a wonderful time with her - she's very warm and caring. Will look forward to seeing her again as a need arises.

November 29, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Have recommended *Dr. Jencina M. Butler to other family members.

October 29, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Born in Ontario, Oregon, I grew up in the Army. I returned to college at University of Oregon at age 28, began medical school in Des Moines, Iowa, at 32, and completed Oregon Health & Science University's rural family medicine residency at age 41.

About my practice

I believe in treating each person as a thinking individual, and helping them to identify the best pathways to good health. A 1939 book, The Modern Home Physician, best describes my medical philosophy: "[A]s a rule, health does not come out of a bottle, no matter how well-advertised its contents may be ... [A]n elegant pharmaceutical wrapped in cellophane is not a substitute for the correction of improper habits and diet, nor for the lack of proper exercise and rest."

How I thrive

In my off time, I enjoy hanging out with my family and our two cats. I enjoy sewing, reading, and sculpting. Bicycling, yoga, and camping are all pursuits that help me to recharge my energy.

Medical School ?

Des Moines University - Osteopathic Medical Center
Des Moines

Medical Training ?

Family Medicine
Oregon Health & Science University (Cascades East)
Klamath Falls OR

Board Certification ?

Family Medicine
American Board of Family Medicine