Jesse Y. Howell MD
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office Central
3600 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.9
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.9
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 245 Ratings
  • 49 Comments

*Dr. Jesse Howell was excellent in his explanations regarding my MOHS surgery. He performed an excellent surgery and suture on the surgery site. Thanks so much for your fine efforts in seeing me through with this surgery!

June 25, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciated *Dr. Howell's follow-up phone call. And the scar from my surgery is barely noticeable.

June 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was extremely pleased and impressed with my visit with *Dr. Howell and his staff. The experience was fantastic!

June 11, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Howell was very good at all explanations and his assistant [name] was very helpful. My experience was great! I was very pleased and the follow up call from *Dr. Howell was great! Thank you, [name]

June 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt that there was genuine concern for my well-being. I appreciated that the care provider telephoned later in the day to see how I was doing.

May 22, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Howell and nurse (didn't get her name) were wonderful. I would recommend both to others. Very professional, kind and caring.

April 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good.

March 28, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Doctor Howell, made me feel at ease and explained everything I asked him about my surgery. I feel anyone that needs the surgery will feel at ease with him.

March 06, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Howell and staff are all excellent. I felt well cared for.

March 06, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had utmost confidence in dr. - he exudes that vibe! *Dr. Howell & each of his staff were incredibly patient with my questions & kind in care in explaining what was to happen, did happen and advising me to go to regular derm ofc. to check that this doesn't happen in future.

February 27, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel I got great care.

February 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Howard and his team took EXCELLENT care of me during my procedure in the MOHS Clinic! The follow up care was wonderful, too, including several questions with the advice nurses!

January 29, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very please in all aspects of the service that was provided to me. Wonderful people and Dr. Howell is second to none....stellar doctor and extremely good a patient care!

January 26, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor is great!

December 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Howell is a jewel!!

November 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Howell is an excellent surgeon!

November 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Howell did a outstanding job of repairing after surgery. I would like to thank him for his outstanding job he did on me. Almost no sign of a surgery. [name]

October 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. and staff (great) personality plus. Great dr.

October 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I highly recommend *Dr. Howell and his staff!

September 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Howell & [name] were nothing short of outstanding. They both did a wonderful job, took care of the problem (cancer) and I am thrilled with their work. Exceeded my expectations!! THANK YOU!

August 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Howell and team are: Professional compassionate thorough - !

August 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Logan expertise and professionalism was comforting throughout my procedure.

August 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent care from *Dr. Howell and staff in MOHS Surgery Dept.

August 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Howell is excellent- staff perfect.

July 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Skin cancer area to be removed turned out to be larger than expected, but doctor and assistant remained positive, upbeat, and confident explaining all options along the way to put me at ease. Doctor effectively removed cancerous area by round 2, so we were able to finish and leave sooner than expected. Follow-up has been a positive experience although I must cross town to get there.

July 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I highly recommend *Dr. Jesse Howell. I found him to be very personable (which I appreciate so much as my doctor) and very knowledgeable and professional. He is an excellent surgeon and as much as I hope I never have skin cancer again, if I did I would definitely want *Dr. Howell as my surgeon.

July 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very professional & comfortable. Thank you *Dr. Howell & staff for a great job.

July 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Howell was excellent in surgically removing my skin cancer on my forehead. Likewise, he was caring about the healing process.

June 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Howell did great work. A+++.

June 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very impressed with *Dr. Howell and his staff.

June 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very impressed with all staff involved and especially *Dr. Howell and his assistants. *Dr. Howell's demeanor was fabulous! He was pleasant, funny, made me feel relaxed and seemed very confident in the circumstances which made me feel confident in him. I felt that he truly cared and was concerned for me and my well being!

June 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Howell is outstanding both in manner and talent.

May 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was impressed by the skill and professionalism of both *Dr. Howell and the nurses that assisted me!

April 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good experience with *Dr.Howell and all staff at Kaiser Permanente.

March 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Felt the warmth & caring of all involved and confident that all wound go well - Would certainly recommend MOHS - Thank you *Dr. Howell and staff. WHAT A TEAM!

March 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very pleased with my surgeon and the nurse!

March 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Howell was fantastic in every day.

March 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor sensitive to my request for no antibiotics unless necessary after surgery because of a previous w/excessive antibiotics. AND - 1st time ever - *Dr. Howell called me after I returned home,late day to see how I was doing. I really appreciated that.

March 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very informative and cautious.

March 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Howell explained in detail - even drew a picture - what & how he was going to operate. Turned out very well too.

February 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Howell explained options and performed delicate surgery with high degree of skill and calm. He and nurses were very reassuring as surgery proceeded, keeping me informed about how well the procedure was going. *Dr. Howell took time to answer all my questions and made me feel confident about recovery. The first day after the surgery is risky - possible [conplication] - and *Dr. Howell phones me at home to check on how I was doing. His call lifted my spirits, kept me calm.

February 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Howell and nursing staff (receptionists too) are so kind, compassionate and professional!

February 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really appreciated the phone call from *Dr. Howell after I arrived home.

January 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Felt very confident in *Dr. Howell - very nice & gentle.

January 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great.

December 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent doctor & staff, professional & friendly.

November 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Professionally, friendly, thorough thoughtful and compassionate.

November 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Howell was very personable.

November 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Howell is a competent, caring provider.

October 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel blessed to be a physician. I look at each day as a new opportunity to help my members and provide them with outstanding dermatologic care.

About my practice

I completed my fellowship in Mohs surgery and dermatologic oncology at Geisinger Health Systems in Pennsylvania. I consider myself lucky to have trained with many outstanding surgeons during my career. While Mohs surgery is my true passion, I enjoy all aspects of surgical dermatology. Establishing trust with my members is vital, and I strive to treat everyone with respect and dignity. Working at Kaiser Permanente allows me to provide members with outstanding care, using the most up-to-date treatment options available.

How I thrive

Outside of work, I enjoy spending time with my wife and our Shiba Inu. I like exploring the Pacific Northwest as a backpacker, fisherman, and runner.

Medical School ?

University of New Mexico School of Medicine
Albuquerque

Medical Training ?

Micrographic Surgery & Dermatologic Oncology
Geisinger Health System
Danville PA

Dermatology
University of New Mexico
Albuquerque NM

Board Certification ?

Dermatology
American Board of Dermatology