Jodi Dew Southam MD
4.8 / 5
(503)813-2000
Sunnybrook Medical Offices
9900 SE Sunnyside Rd.
Clackamas, OR 97015

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.7
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 77 Ratings
  • 20 Comments

Very good doctor - The staff was nice too.

December 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Southam rocks!

September 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She's great!

June 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Jodi southam is well beyond my expectations,very intelligent yet down-to-earth and easy to talk with.

June 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Southam is excellent.

March 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor Southam was very easy to talk to and very detailed answering questions. It was my good fortune to have her for a surgeon.

February 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Southam is a special Dr. She is the most approachable surgeon that I have ever met. AND she does a GREAT job! Love her.

January 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Jodi Southham is an exceptional match for me. I can tell how sincere she is in listening to my needs and fears. She is careful & concerned with helping me get stronger & heal. COmpletely following my total knee replacement. I deeply thank you for having her available, [name]

November 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Southam may seem very direct or cold AT FIRST, but she is doing her job and does it very well. She really is a very good people person after all, and had a good bedside manner in the end. Through this surgery and visits, all staff have been very professional & courteous.

September 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been working with *Dr. Southam for a couple of years to address a shoulder issue/s. She really is an excellent physician/surgeon. She is always professional, competent, confident in her abilities and has a personable bedside manner. I have total confidence in her decision making and in her approach to my specific care. I would absolutely recommend her and am glad she is the person that has performed surgery on me.

August 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Southam is the best! Very good personal care.

May 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Southam could be a little more approachable. On my first visit last fall I postponed my surgery because she was abrupt in her mannerisms and I wanted to inquire about other methods of treatment. However, the next time I met with her she was more approachable.

May 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really respect Dr Southam.

May 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very professional! *Dr. Sotham took the time to thoroughly explain options to my wife and me; answered all questions; invited email, if needed.

March 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I WAS LISTENED TO - tx was discussed good/bad & possible issues in an understandable way & was asked what I preferred - not TOLD! It had to be this or that - my choice was valued *Dr. Jodi is a keeper!

January 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Southam's proficiency and compassion should be commended! I appreciated the fact that *Dr. Southam listened to my goals and considered my lifestyle and then recommended the best course of action to meet my goals.

January 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

At 52 years old I have to have a total knee replacement. I had seen another surgeon (outside of Kaiser) and was not at all comfortable with him. After meeting with *Jodi I have 100% confidence with her and took forward to her performing my surgery.

November 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The dr. and nurse were excellent.

November 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Southam is fantastic! She took the time to explain things to me and address my concerns. She replied to my email of follow-up questions quickly and thoroughly. I feel good that I can trust her with my surgery.

October 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great experience from the time i walked in to time I left. *Dr. Southam very informative about my condition, great confidence in her.

August 20, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Growing up with asthma gave me a lot of exposure to doctors' offices at an early age. It was those interactions, with wonderful physicians, that initially sparked my interest in medicine. It wasn't until medical school that I discovered orthopedics, which is my passion. With my family a short distance away, in Northern California, I couldn't be happier to have landed in the Portland/Vancouver area. Being outdoors keeps me grounded and I've found that this area fits my personality and interests perfectly.

About my practice

I have received specialty training in Orthopedic Sports Medicine. I love all aspects of my specialty from the challenge arthroscopic procedures to getting people back to the activities that they love. I also perform general orthopedic procedures, such as joint replacement, which keeps my practice well-rounded.

How I thrive

I mentally thrive by staying passionate about my work and by keeping up to date with the literature and new procedures in my field. Outside of work I physically thrive by running, hiking, snowboarding, wakeboarding, and biking. My newest interest is yoga, which has been a great stress manager both at work and home. Although I haven't had the opportunity to participate in overseas work recently, I have found operating in Honduras and Haiti to be two of the most rewarding experiences of my life. I hope to continue this type of volunteer work in the future.

Medical School ?

Georgetown University School of Medicine
Washington

Medical Training ?

Sports Medicine
University of Utah
Salt Lake City UT

Orthopaedic Surgery
Penn State University/Milton S. Hershey Medical Center
Hershey PA

Board Certification ?

Orthopaedic Surgery
American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery