John Alferes MD
4.6 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office East
3550 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.6
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.6
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.6
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.6
    Explanations
  • 4.6
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 221 Ratings
  • 22 Comments

Dr.. Alferes has always been thorough, caring and positive.

June 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have a good working relationship with my primary care provider

June 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have always felt Dr. Alferes has been outstanding for the 17 years I have been going to him.

May 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I see him infrequently, yet he has a warm demeanor and explains issues well and with pragmatic understanding.

March 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Doctor Alferes is extremely thorough and explains his diagnosis. I recommend him highly.

January 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Alferes and his nurse, (1.) Both are very good an excellent very friendly.

November 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

DR. Alferes is a wonderful excellent doctor.

November 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Extremely personable; he loves his job and very informative. Amazing clarity and knowledge of my circumstance and is very friendly. We need more of such care givers.

August 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

it was nice of him to see me but I felt like he was not that concerned and my instructions of what to do after I went home and about the pain. instructions not clear.

July 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always a good experience with *Dr Alferes and his staff.

June 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

my husband and I both use Dr. A and both are cray about him as our primary

June 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great experience. Treated me as partner in my own care.

April 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent visit with Doctor and all staff seen.

January 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My experiences are always satisfactory and I do appreciate that.

December 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Alferes is best doctor. He is kind and professional, understanding. Keep up the excellent care. Would recommend anyone (friends, family to have him as doctor.

November 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Imo - *Dr. Alferes does not seem to care, one way or another, about my symptoms or complaints. I feel he is just biding his time. Not impressed. We moved on to an in-system naturopath.

October 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel lucky to have Dr. Alferes as my PCP.

October 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Alferes is an excellent physician.

September 20, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

he was very kind and tried his best. // the doctor was very emphatic, professional and kind

August 20, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Alferes was good.

August 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. seems experienced, knowledgeable, and thorough.

August 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Alferes and his staff did a very find job of taking care of me during my visit.

August 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I graduated from Oregon Health and Science University in 1982, practicing in Minnesota, California and finally returning home to Oregon in 2001.

About my practice

I am a clinic based internal medicine physician providing primary care to my panel of patients. I was a hospital based internist during my years in California, now shifting my focus to help keep my patients healthy and out of the hospital.

How I thrive

I believe the foundation for health is an active lifestyle with regular exercise, a healthy diet, and an involved and rich social and family life.

Medical School ?

Oregon Health Sciences University School of Medicine
Portland

Medical Training ?

Internal Medicine
Providence Medical Center
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine