John C. Goddard MD
4.9 / 5
(503)813-2000
Sunnybrook Medical Offices
9900 SE Sunnyside Rd.
Clackamas, OR 97015

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.7
    Wait Time
  • 4.9
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 184 Ratings
  • 42 Comments

*Dr. Goddard is knowledgeable, professional, kind, and through, he listens carefully and tries to accommodate patient wishes. He also has a good sense of humor and does a great job of follow up after surgical procedures - He is the best!

July 03, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Goddard is patient-centered. He is welcoming and caring, and very thorough.

June 07, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was the 1st time I had some relief about my condition. He was so knowledgeable and helpful as opposed to my primary provider. I have been suffering with SEVERE Vertigo since the beginning of [month] and now I finally know how to manage it and have the medication to lessen the horrific episodes. Thank you so much.

May 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Goddard was exceptional in every manner. Extremely confident and knowledgeable. He conversed throughout the entire exam and new exactly what he was doing. I'm thankful to have an ENT doctor I can trust and feel 100% confident in his procedures. Thank you

April 13, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Goddard is an excellent caring physician.

March 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very attentive and professional.

March 10, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Goddard & staff were all professional friendly and put me at ease. I feel I got excellent care.

February 01, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am so impressed with Dr. Goddard. Not only is he extremely hardworking, he also spends as much time as needed. He relates well to the children, including them in conversation. He also addresses the parents with that same degree. He is simply: A GREAT PROVIDER! Our family has so much trust & confidence in him

January 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*John Goddard and his staff are excellent - personable, professional and competent.

January 11, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Goddard is very easy to talk to and he keeps me informed of my progress.

December 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great summary of expectations for surgery coming on [date]. Answered all my questions.

November 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

As I have stated before, *Dr. John Goddard has provided care to me that exceeds expectations - I wish more drs. were like him!!

October 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Goddard is a great guy!! I WOULD RECOMMEND HIM.

September 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Goddard is amazing. He gave me the validation I have been searching for regarding my condition and is on board with a treatment plan.

September 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would highly recommend Dr. Goddard and his staff. I was provided excellent care and as an elderly person it made me feel they cared about me!

August 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very professional.

July 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Goddard is wonderful. Explained all options for treatment and explained each step. He showed genuine care and concern. I found him, and his staff, to be professional, kind, courteous and relatable. I was treated very well and sincerely appreciate their care. Thank you! [name]

June 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great experience, great doctor.

June 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Goddard was excellent. I had/have complete confidence in him and will recommend him and his assistant without hesitation.

May 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Goddard is exceptional - his "bedside manner" is the best!

May 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Goddard sees my eight year old, and is excellent at talking to my child about what he's going to do and what the ideal plan is. My child feels very comfortable with *Dr. Goddard and I trust his advice.

March 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Goddard is one of the best Doctors/staff members I've seen at Kaiser. He takes the time to explain things, is compassionate, smart/knowledgeable, and down to earth. [name]

February 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Goddard is terrific! Very informative & qualified - I trust his recommendations & would recommend him to anyone!

January 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Goddard was compassionate, kind and gave good encouragement and explanation response to my concerns.

January 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Goddard and his assistants are always great to see happy to help and listen to any thing that is brought up. Great team.

January 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Goddard, nurse and staff member conducting the hearing test were very considerate and professional with excellent skills.

January 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Personable, friendly and a doctor that knows exactly what hes doing.

December 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Goddard is an awesome doctor happy with his knowledge and treatment plan. I really feel like he cares about my health and making sure I understood what I am dealing with.

November 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Goddard listened and took care of my problem quickly and professionally

November 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good manners and clear description of my situation. He immediately referred and scheduled an appointment with appropriate doctor. His service is highly recommended.

October 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Goddard is great. He is helpful and explains things very well.

October 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Goddard & his nurse [name] are excellent. Very caring with a good sense of humor. They try to make me feel as comfortable as possible. I see them both every month and I have never had a bad experience. They are both wonderful!

July 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

As noted, I was concerned after the visit that we may not have explored sufficiently the risks involved with the surgery being planned.

May 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Goddard was extremely knowledgeable! Had done his research about [child] and came in the room very prepared.

May 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Goddard & his assistant were very cordial & very helpful.

April 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor Goddard was one of the best ENT doctors I have seen at Kaiser since joining in 1972. He was the best by far.

February 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Goddard is both caring and extremely competent. He treats me like a human. I have total confidence in him.

December 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I been sick since May, when I left his office I have not had no vertigo since. He knows what he's doing & explain why I was sick. I'm very pleased with *Dr. Goddard & his care.

October 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Goddard is wonderful my ear surgery was great! *Dr. Goddard is friendly, caring & thorough.

September 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Exemplary service. All doctors should operate as efficient & caring as *Dr. Goddard.

August 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Pleasant appointment. Dr. Goddard was personable, responsive, helpful.

August 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very good Dr.

August 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Hi, I'm John Goddard. I grew up in Alexandria, Virginia and am a proud graduate of the University of Virginia. My family and I have lived on both the East and West coasts and are extremely happy with our migration to the great Northwest. Joining Kaiser Permanente has been a large part of that happiness and I am honored to be a part of such a great healthcare system.

About my practice

I practice Otology, Neurotology, and Skull Base Surgery, a surgical sub-specialty of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery. I exclusively treat patients with hearing, facial nerve, vestibular, and lateral skull base disorders and take great pride in actively listening to my patients to provide the best outcome possible. Some of the specific procedures I commonly perform include acoustic neuroma removal, cochlear implants, stapedotomy/stapedectomy, tympanoplasty (eardrum reconstruction), and chronic ear infection/cholesteatoma surgery.

How I thrive

I thrive by spending time with my family. They are a source of great joy for my mind and spirit. Exercise is another way that I thrive, providing me with energy that I can use in all other aspects of life. I also enjoy golf immensely and find being on a golf course or practicing my game good for my soul. Academically I thrive by writing journal articles, book chapters, and by participating in national organizations for my specialty. This allows me to continue to improve my knowledge and provides me with an opportunity to give back to others in various ways.

Medical School ?

Virginia Commonwealth University, Medical College of Virginia
Richmond

Medical Training ?

Neurotology
House Ear Clinic
Los Angeles CA

Otolaryngology
Medical University of South Carolina
Charleston SC

Board Certification ?

Neurotology
American Board of Otolaryngology

Otolaryngology
American Board of Otolaryngology