John J. Koo MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office Central
3600 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 357 Ratings
  • 43 Comments

This physician is excellent at his craft but I felt a bit uncomfortable with an almost stern, business like approach which was revealed slightly during previous visits. His knowledge & surgical skills help out-weigh a somewhat stern & business like self expression/interaction.

May 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Koo has an amazing chair side manner, I would definitely recommend him to anyone needing care.

April 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Took very good 'wonderful' care of me! Thank-you!

April 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

best doctor in town

April 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor Koo is a fine example of Kaiser P at its very best.

April 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Koo was fantastic.

April 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koo is not only an accomplished surgeon but also an excellent communicator.

March 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very well pleased with *Dr. Koo very caring -

February 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very proactive with returning skin condition.

January 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Koo leaves no ground unturned. He wants to be certain ALL questions and concerns covered. My AVS was themost thorough and comprehensive document I have ever seen from a doctor at Kaiser. Dr. Koo should teach the other departments on how to write patient post procedural and post op instructions.

January 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koo is both competent and compassionate, and treated me like a person, not just a patient.

January 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koo is an excellent surgeon!

December 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koo is an amazing doctor. I was awake for my surgery, and the experience was unexpectedly pleasant Dr. Koo has a wonderful bedside manner.

November 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Koo & his assistant were fantastic! I feel he is very professional & took the time to reassure me & make the procedure as easy as possible -

November 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would gladly accept Dr Koo as my eye specialist.

October 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am totally satisfied with *Dr. Koo's treatment and attention to my problem.

October 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Koo is always concerned, to hear of any change. Very easy to understand, and very friendly.

October 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I arrived early. I was taken right in *Dr. Koo was very professional & explained exact process to me. Dr. Koo was very friendly & helpful telling me what to expect before, during, & after surgery. Kaiser is very fortunate to have *Dr. Koo in their staff. I had the surgery. It went perfectly, was painless & I am very very SATISFIED.

September 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Koo is exceptional Doctor, he not only is "the best" but still takes the time while you are with him to make you feel that you are very important to him

September 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very lucky that I had *Dr. Koo, in the worst days of my life. He is very caring, and help me to be calm, and to trust him. Thank you. [name]

September 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Koo is the BEST! he observed me very closely, asked very pertinent questions of me, and I felt very well taken care of. I very much look forward to my surgery with him. // One of the best doctors I've ever been to. Very professional yet very personable.

August 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. J. Koo is an Excellent surgeon. I was very impressed that the Staff had great respect for him and that I was in excellent hands.

June 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

For the past 3 years I have seen *Dr. John Koo and his assistant, [name]. Consistently the care, professionally and personally, has been a totally positive experience.

June 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Koo is an exceptionally talented ophthalmology surgeon. My "tear duct surgery" healed up amazingly quickly w/minimal scarring, bruising, pain, anxiety, etc. *Dr. Koo is an expert in this specialty area - & proactive in referring to oncology areas of concern.

June 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Koo is excellent, and professional... lucky to have him on your staff... THANK YOU DR KOO

June 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have so much confidence in Dr Koo

May 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The nurses and the doctor were tops.

May 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent provider

April 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Provider was very thorough in explaining surgical procedure being discussed. I appreciated his efforts to determine my expectations for the cosmetic surgery and his statement of realistic expectation - assisted me in making my decision re: this elective procedure.

April 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very friendly! This was a follow up for a cosmetic procedure outside of Kaiser and yet he was very understanding and helpful!

April 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koo is very direct and to the point but, also friendly. Makes a doctors visit easy and comfortable.

April 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good.

March 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koo was caring, communicative, pro-active and very efficient. I had full confidence in his ability to treat me and I felt he genuinely cared about my health.

March 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was extremely impressed with Dr. Koo's demeanor and professionalism.

March 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koo is excellent!

March 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koo - was wonderful at the time of my eyelid surgery - explained, and easing anxiety. This was follow up appointment. Re: visit to check eye - surgery - again he was wonderful & assured me to call anytime with concerns - and to see him - if have any concern - @ the basal cell cancer.

February 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr.Koo was very nice, very professional. I liked the way he explained everything, on my level.

February 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koo is the most attentive and thorough provider I have dealt with in 50 years of being a KP member. // If getting stitches out of your eyelids were a fun thing, and I had the opportunity to do it again, I would definitely have Dr. Koo remove them.

February 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Koo immediately put us at ease. Just from the time we spent with him I have total confidence in him.

January 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was first visit with *Dr. Koo. I feel confident with his upcoming care. He talked with me at length about my fears and helped with this.

December 01, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Koo's surgery was very important to me. Explaining the process as each step was taken during surgery and after did much to ease the anxiety that attends a surgery of this type - or of any.

October 26, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koo was professional, courteous, spent sufficient time with me, and was obviously busy.

October 20, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good Dr. very cool with info .

August 05, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I grew up in Northern California and moved east for my medical training. I completed medical and business schools at Yale, then moved to Boston to for my internship at Harvard. While there, I became a huge Red Sox fan! Then it was on to Baltimore to complete my residency and fellowship at the Wilmer Eye Institute/Johns Hopkins Hospital. During my training, I also worked for Congress on Medicare policy. After 12 years it was finally time to get a real job, and I am lucky Kaiser Permanente was hiring. I am happy to be back on the West Coast and enjoy the many outdoor activities the area has to offer. When I'm not seeing patients, you can find me running or biking around town.

About my practice

I practice a subspecialty of ophthalmology called oculoplastic surgery, which focuses on problems involving the eyelids, eye socket, and tear drain system. I also perform cosmetic procedures around the eyes through the Kaiser Permanente Cosmetic Center. I am board certified by the American Board of Ophthalmology and the American Society of Ophthalmic Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery. My approach to patient care is very collaborative. I like to take time with patients to explain their medical conditions and possible treatment options. I think it is critical to have open conversation and encourage my patients to ask questions to make sure they understand the problem and the treatment plan.

How I thrive

I think it is important to take time outside of work to pursue additional interests. For me that means trying to stay fit and connecting with friends and family.

Medical School ?

Yale University School of Medicine
New Haven

Medical Training ?

Oculoplastic Surgery
Wilmer Eye Institute at Johns Hopkins
Baltimore MD

Ophthalmology
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore MD

Board Certification ?

Ophthalmology
American Board of Ophthalmology