John J. Koo MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office Central
3600 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 326 Ratings
  • 74 Comments

Dr. Koo was very informative and spoke to me concisely and directly. He was easy to talk to and was straight forward in his approach. I was very impressed with him and am so glad he will be performing the surgery on my eye.

August 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would highly recommend *Dr. Koo. I give him an over-all rating of absolutely excellent.

July 31, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I liked *Dr. Koo very much and felt very comfortable with him. I would want to see him again if necessary.

July 27, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Everything for first visit to follow up, Dr. Koo was informed, caring, excellent surgeon! Very thankful

June 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Koo was excellent. He has a wonderful patient repour, very gentle, explained everything and did a great surgery and stitches removal. He was very over booked but still took time to answer my questions and I felt I had his entire attention while he was in the room.

June 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Koo was very compassionate about my issues, & explained all treatments to be done in future with detailed instruction to like his calmness & his sense of humor - he has really been looking out for my health & vision.

June 12, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Koo is excellent!

June 01, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

So glad KP has *Dr. Koo. Please give him a BIG Christmas bonus.

May 14, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would recommend Dr.Koo to anyone. He does his job well and makes you feel relaxed and very comfortable.

May 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really appreciate and trust *Dr. Koo.

May 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Perfect service!!

May 01, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor koo was one of the most courteous and professional doctors I've ever dealt with his bedside manner was excellent. I would recommend him to anybody.

May 01, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koo did a splendid job! I can see so much better!

April 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Koo was very helpful and courteous. He did an excellent job on my eyelid surgery. I am so glad I had it. I had very little swelling and redness. I can see better! A GREAT DOCTOR!

April 04, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Koo is a wonderful dr. in all way so very very good!!

March 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent care and communications. I would gladly recommend Dr. Koo to family and friends and feel confident in his performance.

March 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very well happy with *Dr. Koo and his staff. [name]

March 06, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Koo was very professional and displayed upmost confidence to me in the outcome of my procedure.

February 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent care, teaching, and outcome of office visit. Have already recommended him.

January 24, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koo has been excellent in every way including manner, information he gave me, and results.

December 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Koo and his assistant were very professional.

December 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Koo is excellent! Dr. Koo was very pleasant and thorough and never felt rushed or not listened to. He does his job very well!

December 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koo has had an effect on the way I behave since I have lost the vision in one eye. I have been hesitant and afraid to do things that I have always done -- primarily driving. He has been supportive and encouraging, assuring me that many people are doing the things that I find daunting. I credit him with the fact that I am once again driving at night and that I took two road trips last summer, driving as far as [other states]. He expressed happiness to learn that I had done these things.

November 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koo was kind and calming in my obvious anxiety before surgery, as well as comforting when I experienced pain (very little). He told me each step of the procedure what I could expect to feel, hear, or smell (cauterization), so I wouldn't be surprised. His asking about my career in [job] was a clever diversion, and his sense of humor helped allay my fears.

November 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent care throughout - I have highly recommended *Dr. Koo & his staff to friends & family.

November 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Koo was great. He does good work

October 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good // Thank you Dr Koo

September 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koo was pleasant, friendly and very skillful. He seemed a perfectionist in the treatment he was rendering which I appreciated. If I needed a similar surgery in the future I would hope he was available.

September 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This visit was a good experience. Dr. Koo answered all my questions and was very professional.

September 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr acted aloof and arrogant

August 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would highly recommend Dr. *Koo. He is very personable and he explains everything verythoroughly. He means it when he says he will do the very best for you.

August 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. was very polite and explained everything very well.

July 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent provider...thank you!

June 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good

June 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koo was very professional and informative. I was very pleased with the visit.

May 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This physician is excellent at his craft but I felt a bit uncomfortable with an almost stern, business like approach which was revealed slightly during previous visits. His knowledge & surgical skills help out-weigh a somewhat stern & business like self expression/interaction.

May 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Koo has an amazing chair side manner, I would definitely recommend him to anyone needing care.

April 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

best doctor in town

April 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor Koo is a fine example of Kaiser P at its very best.

April 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koo is not only an accomplished surgeon but also an excellent communicator.

March 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very well pleased with *Dr. Koo very caring -

February 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very proactive with returning skin condition.

January 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Koo leaves no ground unturned. He wants to be certain ALL questions and concerns covered. My AVS was themost thorough and comprehensive document I have ever seen from a doctor at Kaiser. Dr. Koo should teach the other departments on how to write patient post procedural and post op instructions.

January 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koo is both competent and compassionate, and treated me like a person, not just a patient.

January 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koo is an excellent surgeon!

December 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koo is an amazing doctor. I was awake for my surgery, and the experience was unexpectedly pleasant Dr. Koo has a wonderful bedside manner.

November 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Koo & his assistant were fantastic! I feel he is very professional & took the time to reassure me & make the procedure as easy as possible -

November 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would gladly accept Dr Koo as my eye specialist.

October 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am totally satisfied with *Dr. Koo's treatment and attention to my problem.

October 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I arrived early. I was taken right in *Dr. Koo was very professional & explained exact process to me. Dr. Koo was very friendly & helpful telling me what to expect before, during, & after surgery. Kaiser is very fortunate to have *Dr. Koo in their staff. I had the surgery. It went perfectly, was painless & I am very very SATISFIED.

September 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Koo is exceptional Doctor, he not only is "the best" but still takes the time while you are with him to make you feel that you are very important to him

September 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very lucky that I had *Dr. Koo, in the worst days of my life. He is very caring, and help me to be calm, and to trust him. Thank you. [name]

September 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Koo is the BEST! he observed me very closely, asked very pertinent questions of me, and I felt very well taken care of. I very much look forward to my surgery with him. // One of the best doctors I've ever been to. Very professional yet very personable.

August 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. J. Koo is an Excellent surgeon. I was very impressed that the Staff had great respect for him and that I was in excellent hands.

June 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

For the past 3 years I have seen *Dr. John Koo and his assistant, [name]. Consistently the care, professionally and personally, has been a totally positive experience.

June 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Koo is an exceptionally talented ophthalmology surgeon. My "tear duct surgery" healed up amazingly quickly w/minimal scarring, bruising, pain, anxiety, etc. *Dr. Koo is an expert in this specialty area - & proactive in referring to oncology areas of concern.

June 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Koo is excellent, and professional... lucky to have him on your staff... THANK YOU DR KOO

June 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have so much confidence in Dr Koo

May 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The nurses and the doctor were tops.

May 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent provider

April 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Provider was very thorough in explaining surgical procedure being discussed. I appreciated his efforts to determine my expectations for the cosmetic surgery and his statement of realistic expectation - assisted me in making my decision re: this elective procedure.

April 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very friendly! This was a follow up for a cosmetic procedure outside of Kaiser and yet he was very understanding and helpful!

April 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koo is very direct and to the point but, also friendly. Makes a doctors visit easy and comfortable.

April 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koo was caring, communicative, pro-active and very efficient. I had full confidence in his ability to treat me and I felt he genuinely cared about my health.

March 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was extremely impressed with Dr. Koo's demeanor and professionalism.

March 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koo is excellent!

March 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koo - was wonderful at the time of my eyelid surgery - explained, and easing anxiety. This was follow up appointment. Re: visit to check eye - surgery - again he was wonderful & assured me to call anytime with concerns - and to see him - if have any concern - @ the basal cell cancer.

March 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr.Koo was very nice, very professional. I liked the way he explained everything, on my level.

February 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koo is the most attentive and thorough provider I have dealt with in 50 years of being a KP member. // If getting stitches out of your eyelids were a fun thing, and I had the opportunity to do it again, I would definitely have Dr. Koo remove them.

February 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Koo immediately put us at ease. Just from the time we spent with him I have total confidence in him.

January 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was first visit with *Dr. Koo. I feel confident with his upcoming care. He talked with me at length about my fears and helped with this.

December 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Koo's surgery was very important to me. Explaining the process as each step was taken during surgery and after did much to ease the anxiety that attends a surgery of this type - or of any.

October 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koo was professional, courteous, spent sufficient time with me, and was obviously busy.

October 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good Dr. very cool with info .

August 06, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I grew up in Northern California and moved east for my medical training. I completed medical and business schools at Yale, then moved to Boston to for my internship at Harvard. While there, I became a huge Red Sox fan! Then it was on to Baltimore to complete my residency and fellowship at the Wilmer Eye Institute/Johns Hopkins Hospital. During my training, I also worked for Congress on Medicare policy. After 12 years it was finally time to get a real job, and I am lucky Kaiser Permanente was hiring. I am happy to be back on the West Coast and enjoy the many outdoor activities the area has to offer. When I'm not seeing patients, you can find me running or biking around town.

About my practice

I practice a subspecialty of ophthalmology called oculoplastic surgery, which focuses on problems involving the eyelids, eye socket, and tear drain system. I also perform cosmetic procedures around the eyes through the Kaiser Permanente Cosmetic Center. I am board certified by the American Board of Ophthalmology and the American Society of Ophthalmic Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery. My approach to patient care is very collaborative. I like to take time with patients to explain their medical conditions and possible treatment options. I think it is critical to have open conversation and encourage my patients to ask questions to make sure they understand the problem and the treatment plan.

How I thrive

I think it is important to take time outside of work to pursue additional interests. For me that means trying to stay fit and connecting with friends and family.

Medical School ?

Yale University School of Medicine
New Haven

Medical Training ?

Oculoplastic Surgery
Wilmer Eye Institute at Johns Hopkins
Baltimore MD

Ophthalmology
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore MD

Board Certification ?

Ophthalmology
American Board of Ophthalmology