John R. Hayes MD
4.5 / 5
  • Spanish
(503) 813-2000
North Lancaster Medical Office
2400 Lancaster Drive NE
Salem, OR 97305

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.5
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.4
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.5
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.4
    Explanations
  • 4.5
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 175 Ratings
  • 27 Comments

Dr Hay was excellent. first time a provider asked me questions and listened

April 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Hayes is absolutely wonderful and is always such a delight. KP is lucky to have him.

April 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

As usual *Dr. Hayes was very competent and made me feel at ease.

March 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Doc. Hayes was a new provider for me. I'm quite satisfied w/his care.

March 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like and admire my PCP. He listens carefully, asks relevant questions, makes sure he is hearing what I am saying, and has a quiet competent manner.

March 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

These people and *Dr. Hayes did a 120% job.

December 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very satisfied with all areas I have only been with Kaiser a short period and was concerned on changing from my past dr. but am very comfortable and pleased with *Dr. Hayes, he seems to focus on my need and is very caring.

December 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This doctor is a very interesting man who has lived in several countries abroad, is bilingual, very congenial and unpretentious. He has a very keen eye and notices details that escape many. I am very pleased to have met him as a person, and I consider myself lucky that he is my primary care physician. I know he will not let me down.

December 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Couldn't have been better.

November 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor was very efficient and thorough in his examination and treatment. I was extremely satisfied with the care provided.

November 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good

October 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love that he actually listens to what I have to say, and discusses with me different options and ideas.

September 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

First time with *Dr. Hayes... I was very impressed!

August 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Hayes has been a perfect doctor for me he is efficient and intelligent I made the right choice changing to Dr Hayes I will be staying with Kaiser now.

July 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hayes is a new provider to me. I had wanted a woman Dr. again, but agreed to see Dr. Hayes until I was able to switch. I have no plans to make a change. Dr. Hayes was everything I would want from a provider and he made me feel very comfortable and at ease.

July 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

All good. The Doctor and his staff provided me with good and professional service.

July 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Hayes was very kind and concerned for my needs.

June 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good DR. HAYES, has a kind , way of asking questions.

June 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The care provider was very kind and made me feel he genuinely cared about me.

June 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr hayes was very helpful

March 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hayes is a very good physician.

February 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Seemed generally disinterested in my concerns. "Dry" bedside manner. I am likely to request another provider.

January 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Best doctor ever

December 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hayes was very kind but was not willing to let give input on certain subjects and when examining a lump in my armpit he showed no concern with the issue and said that it is fine and nothing seems to be wrong and that whatever was there had healed normally, then he asked about my flu shot I declined saying that I did not want it, he then started to purposely make me feel responsible if anyone got sick around me that it would be my fault and telling me if someone gets the flu if they are an infant or an elderly person that they could die from it

October 06, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hayes is a caring competent man and I hope he stays with Kaiser. Best doctor I have seen in many years.

September 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My first time seeing *Dr. Hayes. I really like him.

August 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

that was good experience, and surprise because now they have people like doctor and assisted they both speak in Spanish , that was so nice very happy for that thank you

August 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My wife and I consider ourselves Oregonians but have ties to Venezuela, Idaho, and Utah. We are a busy couple with five children who are all still at home. She doesn't have additional work outside our home, but usually puts in more hours than I do. We enjoy spending our extra time watching the kids perform in sports and music events. The beach is another favorite activity and we go as often as time permits. As with most families, we take our vacation time seriously and love to travel as a family.

About my practice

I trained to be a family physician in rural Idaho. This involved everything from running a small emergency room on the weekends to doing high-risk and surgical obstetrics during the week. Part of my desire to become a family physician was the variety of services that I was able to perform. Knowing about the mother's health helps me take care of her infant child. Understanding the parents' medical problems is vital to being able to provide for the children's future needs. I'm also fluent in Spanish, as are my children and my wife. I've loved being part of the Latino culture and taking care of this population will continue to be a priority in my practice.

How I thrive

I believe that life is much more than work followed by short interval vacations. My wife and I are deeply involved in our community church and volunteer our time weekly. We both believe that it is not enough to have a physically healthy body, but your spirit should be just as whole. We accomplish this by balancing secular activities with a healthy dose of spiritual study and religious observance. Music is an important part of our lives as well and all the kids play some musical instruments proficiently; mine are the guitar and cello. All of the kids have inherited their mother's beautiful singing voice too. Our family's philosophy is summed up in one of my favorite quotes, "no other success can compensate for failure in the home.' -David McKay.

Medical School ?

Creighton University School of Medicine
Omaha

Medical Training ?

Family Practice
Idaho State University
Pocatello ID

Board Certification ?

Family Medicine
American Board of Family Medicine