John T. Chen MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office East
3550 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 181 Ratings
  • 34 Comments

I've always been confident with *Dr. Chen.

May 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Chen is terrific. He always asks is there anything else until he has covered all my concerns.

April 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have high confidence in *Dr. Chen!

April 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Chen is the "Best."

April 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Chen is the best doctor I've ever had. He is very knowledgeable, but still open to ideas from his patients. He is also very warm, even lovable. I trust him to the nth degree.

April 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

John is not just a doctor, he becomes your friend who wants to help you and give you the best of treatments for your issues. He is an example for all doctors and is a super positive for Kaiser. He makes you happy he is your doctor. Can't say enough nice things about his professional attitude and care.

March 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. John Chen has been my doctor for many years. He is great. Never a bad experience and he always is correct. Fine DOCTOR!

March 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Chen is a VERY nice person and smiles so much - friends of ours who also see him call him "Dr. Smiley". He is wonderful.

March 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Chen follows up quickly.

March 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr Chen is terrific. he has been our physician for many years. I have recommended himto 3 or 4 of my friends over the years.

February 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My doctor is concern about my health and he provides good care.

February 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Chen is a dedicated, warm, positive, professional who truly cares about each one of his patients. I am very fortunate to be one of them.

December 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I think Dr. Chen is the best physician I have ever had. I am grateful to be in his care.

December 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciate *Dr. Chen so much. He is the best doctor I ever had. He is very kind of everything. He explain things very kind manner. He is the best doctor.

October 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Chen is excellent; he really feels like he cares and thinks about your situation. I deal with lots of pain & he has advised & helped me.

October 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Chen is very concerned that he hears what your concerns are and that he work with the patient as a peer. He will give as much information as you want/need.

September 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Chen provides excellent heath care for my issues.

August 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

have been going to dr Chen for years and have recommended him to friends.

August 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Chen is thorough, a good communicator, and always a pleasure to see.

August 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

First visit with Dr, Chen. Every thing went well and didn't rush the appointment. Was very impressed.

August 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My care provider is very caring and concern about my health.

July 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have no complaints. *Dr. Chen is everything a dr. be.

May 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Received a EKG in the office as *Doctor Heard heart palpitations which turned out a normal occurrence with me. The doctor explained to me about the EKG after he viewed the results.

April 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Chen has excellent "bedside manner".

March 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been seeing Dr. Chen for several years, and I absolutely adore him.

March 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had a very positive experience with my visit to *Dr. Chen's office. I am very satisfied with the care I receive from *Dr. Chen.

March 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have had Dr. Chen for my Primary Dr. for 20 years or more & would & have recommended him to others. Also in [year] he saved my life after a major knee replacement! So he's my hero too!!

February 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Chen has been my primary care physician for many years, and he is one of the many reasons I have maintained a relationship with Kaiser.

February 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*John Chen ALWAYS takes the time to be a TRUE provider of outstanding medical support. He is REALLY a super doctor.

January 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I worked in hospitals for 30 years I know when I am getting good treatment or not. I have complete trust in my primary care privider.

January 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good is not high enough how about very excellent

December 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor was pleasant and informative. I enjoyed my visit.

November 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This is by far one of your very best Doctor's in your system.

October 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good as always

September 01, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born in Taiwan and grew up in Libya before moving to the United States at age twelve. I feel privileged to be a doctor and to practice medicine at Kaiser Permanente. We work together to address an individual's concerns during personal visits but also to address the health needs of larger populations and communities. Being a primary care provider is hard work but it is also thoroughly rewarding; I have patients for whom I have cared for over twenty years, being there for them in good times and hard times.

About my practice

I believe the doctor-patient relationship is a partnership based in trust and empathy. Decisions about healthcare are not always black or white. Having a partnership allows for better decision making in these situations.

How I thrive

I am married and have four daughters. My family is a source of strength and vitality. I enjoy gardening and "puttering" around our property; there's nothing like splitting wood on a brisk fall day or cleaning out a vegetable bed and planting seeds in the spring.

Medical School ?

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine
Chapel Hill

Medical Training ?

Internal Medicine
Boston University
Boston MA

Board Certification ?

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine