Jon W. Hughes MD
4.6 / 5
(503) 813-2000
North Lancaster Medical Office
2400 Lancaster Drive NE
Salem, OR 97305

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.6
Overall Score
  • 4.4
    Wait Time
  • 4.6
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.6
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.6
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 252 Ratings
  • 41 Comments

A good relationship with *Dr. Hughes MD.

August 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I got a shot in my knee and I hardly felt it. The dr. knew what he was doing and did it very well.

August 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hughes is a very dedicated provider as far as I'm concerned. He took the trouble to understand my questions, and answer them to me and my wife's satisfaction. We would recommend him to whoever is looking for a highly professional physician with understanding and a superb "bedside manner".

July 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always satisfied.

June 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great care and concern! *Dr. Hughes is one of the best!

June 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hughes was very dismissive about an ongoing health issue. He didn't bother to ask me any questions about it or address my concerns before moving on and dismissing my issue. He also didn't respect my preferences when it comes to my healthcare choices and actively tried to talk me into making choices that I clearly stated I wasn't comfortable with.

April 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr not explained good enough

March 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hughes was wonderful.

February 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hughes is a great doctor and easy to talk to.

February 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

he is the best doctor

January 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really like Dr. Hughes, he listens, explains, and does not dismiss my concerns. He also works very well with me to help limit the amount of medication needed to handle my medical issues.

January 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor always does a great job

November 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very confident in his knowledge and he explains things well and asks for my opinion

November 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Like my new doc a lot.

November 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very good

October 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have great confidence for Dr. Hughes. He has my admiration and I appreciate my time spent his giving analysis of my aging body.

October 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very good

October 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Really like Dr Hughes.

October 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have the highest confidence in *Dr. Hughes. He maintains concern for my treatment.

September 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have had nothing but the best treatment from Dr. Hughes.

August 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

straight talk, lots of eye contact, good body posture as he sat 'next' to me ....sort of shoulder to shoulder, rather than sitting opposite me. It felt like he was being an active listener. I had brought a list of things I wanted to discuss and he made sure that everything on the list was covered. My first time with him.

August 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The best MD I have every had 73 years!

July 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hughes is the very best.

July 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I believe *Dr. Hughes is a fine doctor. I feel that he cares for my health. He listen to my question that I have for him when I go in for my visit. Then he wants me to come back to see how I am doing. Thank you *Dr. Hughes.

July 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like Dr. Hughes very much. He answered every question and gave me all of my options in language I could understand.

June 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciate *Dr. Hughes expertise in regards to my particular health problems.

June 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr, Hughes and staff are wonderful.

March 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hughes is very nice, very competent and very easy to talk to.

January 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hughes was wonderful! He spent a good deal of time with me and talked to me very honestly without being rude or condescending. He went way beyond my expectations. I couldn't be more happy with my first visit with him. He was very kind, very honest, and put me at ease. I've already recommended him to several of my friends who are looking for different Kaiser providers. Two thumbs up for Dr. Hughes!

January 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always feel doctor is interested in my concerns & not rushing me in appointment. I appreciate the relaxed, professional demeanor of *Dr. Hughes.

December 29, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hughes is a very fine physician. Listens carefully, explains and answers questions in a manner that is easily understood. Answers all questions - and gives you the right to ask as many questions as you need to. We have recommended him to others // Great care was taken to make sure that I had all my questions answered. Everything was explained - and Dr. Hughes even called me at exactly the time that he had set up with me. Thanks for the great care - I'm feeling much better and look forward to a full recovery.

December 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I expected a clear explanation as to why I had a change in my condition. I received a clear explanation for changes in mammogram screening.

December 06, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great visit; I have high confidence in Dr. Hughes. His assistant was friendly and professional. No complaints about my health care at Kaiser.

December 06, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hughes is the best & his staff!

November 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I do not believe half of what the doctor tells me. I still have the same problems when I leave

November 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very happy with *Dr. Hughes and all Kaiser perm. staff.

October 06, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like Dr Hughes as a doctor and I think he is trying to do his best.

October 06, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Everyone at the NL medical office was wonderful. The nursing staff could not have been nicer and my Dr was very helpful and answered all my questions.

September 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hughes is just a jewel. He is my new doctor and you would think I have been with him for years. He takes such concern of me..

September 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. [name] is gone but Dr. Hughes seems like a good and caring Dr.

August 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have had issues with my knee and the Dr. did not comment/ask about how my knee was doing. I expected that he would have asked and looked at it. Also, he did not look in my ears, nose, or check my throat. Other than that, excellent care!

August 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been practicing general internal medicine for the past 23 years. After three years in the Air Force, I moved with my family to rural Utah, where I was a busy clinician for many years involved routinely in both hospital and outpatient care. My wife and I have recently relocated to the Salem, Oregon area and find the quality of life here to be fantastic! I hope to be with Northwest Permanente for many years to come and to continue to improve my professional knowledge and skills.

About my practice

My background has given me the experience and perspective to help patients and families dealing with the challenges of chronic illness and aging. I am a strong advocate for an active lifestyle. Aging and illness cannot be prevented, but the associated disabilities can often be delayed. I believe that the extensive support provided by an organization like Northwest Permanente will help me encourage patients to take an active role in maintaining their wellness.

How I thrive

I spend a large portion of my free time exercising or in quiet reflection. I very much enjoy reading to help me quiet my mind and see the world in different ways.

Medical School ?

Tufts University School of Medicine
Boston

Medical Training ?

Internal Medicine
Santa Clara Valley Medical Center
San Jose CA

Board Certification ?

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine

Hospice and Palliative Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine