Jonathan A. Russell OD
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Clackamas Eye Care
12100 SE Stevens Court Suite 106
Clackamas, OR 97086

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.9
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.9
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 340 Ratings
  • 105 Comments

He was great. I will try to schedule all future appointments with this provider, he was professional, informative and made me feel comfortable.

July 13, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Russell is SUPER in all aspects!

June 26, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

appreciate Dr Russell's thoroughness

June 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Russell is more thorough than any OD I have had in the past, and all have been very good.

June 18, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt completely at ease and relaxed with Dr. Jonathan Russell, so kind, and he could make me smile in an atmosphere where I usually feel quite nervous. Thank you.

June 04, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Russell is awesome!

June 01, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Russell and his assistant [name] were wonderful. Great expierence!

April 04, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor Russell is simply the best!

February 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really enjoyed my interaction with Dr. Russell. He both listened to and validated my concerns, and was successful in establishing rapport. I have full confidence in his abilities and would highly recommend him to anyone seeking an optometrist.

February 12, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great job! Professional manner, friendly. Thank you!

February 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

even though Dr. Russell told me I "could go with a pair of bifocals if I was ready", basically crushing the last of my youth out of me it was an enjoyable visit and he was very thorough.

January 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My doctor was awesome. Definitely one of the best medical experiences I've ever had. He's a gem and an asset to Kaiser.

December 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Russell demonstrated his concern for me as a patient in a most professional manner. In retrospect of past OD experiences, he was the best I ever experienced. And he explained his diagnosis in terms that I could understand.

December 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Russell was very informative. Much explanations. Very satisfied with my whole visit! Will request his services if needed in the future!

December 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The care provider was very friendly and even funny. He explained everything that was happening during the appointment.

November 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was friendly, timely and knowledgeable. He listened to my needs and concerns giving me good options to choose from and spending the time with me to provide feedback. It was a very positive interactions and good plan in place for my needs.

November 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jon Russell was helpful, friendly, and competent. He answered all my questions, performed an exam, and produced the prescriptions for new glasses. I like his approach to patient care.

November 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'd like to express my appreciation to *Dr. Russel for the knowledgeable, clever and useful suggestions and the care he gave me during my visit. He is my doctor, he will be our family doctor in the future & I would recommend him to my friends and co-workers. Thank you.

October 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Doctor Russell was very personable made me feel as if I were a good friend rather than a patient. He answered all of my questions concerning my vision and I will ask for him at my next visit.

October 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was the most relaxed and confident in my Dr. I've ever felt during an eye exam. Dr. Russel was competent, kind, easy and appropriate sense of humor and expressed his understandings of my condition clearly. I have already recommended him to others.

October 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great provider, excellent visit.

September 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jonathan Russell was excellent. Good customer skills. Thanks [name]

September 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Russell is professional, knowledgeable and kind.

September 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Russell was very informative and kind.

September 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent experience.

September 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good experience. Thank you.

August 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

he was very knowledgeable, took time to answer my questions and was overall an outstanding clinician

August 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very happy with my doctor and the staff.

June 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

One of the best I've seen in almost 40 years as a Kaiser patient.

June 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very honest, straightforward and kind doctor.

June 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Straight-forward, explaining each piece of machinery and its use. Good use of humor when I was a bit anxious.

June 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

One of the few times I have been for an eye exam and felt at ease. Was not afraid to express my concerns to the Dr. He listened and did not make me feel my questions and concerns were foolish.

May 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr.Russell is one of the best eye Dr. I have had in my life.

May 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have highly recommended *Dr. Russell to several friends & co-workers. He the best eye doctor I have ever been to.

April 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

exceptionally thorough and responsive to concerns!

April 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Russell is always patient with me and the difficulty in getting the proper prescription for my lens correction.

March 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The best experience.

February 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Russell best doc ever! Explains things so you can understand! Great people skills! Great communication!

February 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Actually I would like to give Dr Russell an excellent rating. He went beyond his call of profession. He helped with a problem that I was having and also comforted me and calmed me down to recover. He was so sweet to me. He deserves a gold star in my opinion.

February 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor did a great job.

February 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Russell was bet helpful and explained everything he was doing. he even made sure I understood and allowed time for questions.

January 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Russell is very friendly and kind and makes me always feel very comfortable. I enjoy my visits very much, and always request his services.

January 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Russell & his assistants are always "top notch." I have a high respect for *Dr. Russell & am confident with his abilities. I have suggested him to others needing eye care.

January 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Russell is a natural at his profession. I am confident in his abilities and have enjoyed both of my visits.

January 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent experience.

December 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Russell was very thorough both in his examination of my eyes and in his responses to my questions.

November 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Russell was very professional and answered questions completely.

November 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was great. Explained everything very well.

November 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is a seasoned professional. I used him the last time I had my eyes checked over two years ago and requested him for this visit.

November 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Russell was very friendly, kind and answered all my questions and concerns in easy to understand language.

November 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

both me and my son really liked this provider a lot! We will do everything to always try and schedule our visits with him! Thanks for your great care for my son!

November 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Russell obviously enjoys his job ~ very evident in his interactions.

November 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

competent. courteous. sense of humor helped.

October 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was kind, explained everything very well and answered all my questions.

October 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Russell was very knowledgeable, friendly and easy to talk to you. He explained eye health to my kids at a level they would understand and not be nervous. Very satisfied with his care.

October 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. seemed to be knowledgeable and went to considerable effort to get a correct diagnosis.

October 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was congenial and forth with. He did an excellent job!

October 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

if you had a higher rating for Dr. I would give it. he is so good, and treats me with respect, kindness and matches my dopey humor. Honestly I was quite worried as I only have vision in one eye and he relieved my concerns.

September 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very happy with. I will want to see him every year.

September 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Russell was excellent! Personable, clear, knowledgeable, helpful, etc., etc. Great care.

August 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Russel explained options for contacts specifically for my prescription that I had not thought of and I appreciated that.

August 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr was great! he's nice, friendly and personable.

July 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Russell was really helpful and personable. Fantastic visit and experience.

July 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

[name] and Dr. Russell were very personable and made getting an updated prescription an enjoyable experience. Much appreciated after a long day at work!

July 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Russell continues to provide the best eye care services I have ever received within the Kaiser system or through non-Kaiser eye care providers.

June 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very pleased with this provider. Would return and recommend him.

June 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My doctor was great - very personable, listened to my concerns and explained everything that was going on.

June 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was the best experience I have ever had at the eye clinic and will request to see Dr. Russell from now on due to his kindness, patients and taking the time to explain things so that I could understand without being made to feel stupid .

May 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. & technician were both excellent!! Very happy with service.

May 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very nice doctor.

April 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*John was very polite, knowledgeable and helpful - I have found a new eye doctor!

April 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Friendly, capable and efficient. Really appreciate his willingness to field my questions and left feeling very positive about my experience.

April 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

First time appointment with Dr. Russell. I was impressed and would reschedule with him in the future.

April 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Russell is awesome.

April 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Russell was very through, friendly, showed concern, gentle, light - hearted & positive, expressed genuine interest in my welfare.

March 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I hope all future visits are of the same high quality and am confident they will be. // Dr. Russell is an excellent eye care provider. I am most comfortable to receive eye care treatment from him. My only regret is that I did not request him as my eye care provider sooner. I look forward to my next appt.

March 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Russell was excellent and I will ask to see him again in 2 years. // Dr. addressed my concern and talked with me about my glasses and who to see as an Optician. I was extremely about both the Dr. and Optician met my concern and helped me.

March 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Exceeded expectations.

March 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

But the doctor and the eye exam tech was good, they are very professional and know what they are doing.

February 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Russell was excellent.

February 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This office and *Dr. Russell were quick, thorough and very nice.

January 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

So friendly, positive and helpful!

January 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor Russell was TERRIFIC and I think I have found my new optomistist!

December 22, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Obviously, I can't say enough good about Dr. Russell. It's early in our relationship, but so far he strikes me as thoughtful, happy, clear and generous with insights and information.

December 14, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Russell is AWESOME.

December 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This doctor seemed very knowledgeable, and also not motivated to drive my choice to an particular product/ outcome. I felt I got accurate, reliable, information from a provider that was interested primarily in my health.

December 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great experience with this care provider. I felt confident in his knowledge/expertise in diagnosing and treatment.

November 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Jonathan was fantastic. One of the best providers I've seen at KP.

November 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have already recommended Dr Russell to more than one person. I can honestly say this was the best visit I have ever had at any eye clinic and I have been wearing glasses or contacts for 50 years He was easy to understand, explained things better than anybody has ever done and he got my prescription right the first time around, something that doesn't always happen. He has become my favorite doctor at Kaiser

November 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

overall good.

November 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good dude

November 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very friendly and understood my concern and recommended better solutions than the one I had thought of.

October 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This provider was very clear about my options for glasses and what is going on with my eyes.

October 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Russell gave me a very thorough exam. He explained about a new type of contact that might be helpful for me. My previous eye doctor retired, and I will continue to see Dr. Russell as my new eye doctor.

October 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Russel was excellent, he really took time to explain everything

October 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was great.

October 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It all good.

September 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My visit with Dr. Russel was very good, and he explained my eye problem very clearly to me.

September 22, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was very professional & very knowledgeable

September 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

All the Optical staff are wonderful. I am very impressed with my new contact lens Dr. Russell. He is very precise at his job fitting lenses etc.

September 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I look forward to my return visit.

September 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very impressed w/this doctor. I didn't have an appointment, they fit me in between appointments. I got in right away and he didn't rush, he took his time and was very patient with me.

August 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Russell is great.

August 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Russell is very caring and supportive. My 7 year old loves him.

August 05, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have already recommended this provider to others!!!

August 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am originally from a small town in Eastern South Dakota. I chose Optometry as a career while attending Northern State University. This is when I developed a love for the medical and visual sciences. The eyes have always fascinated me, in that they are a window to our overall health. This is what makes practicing optometry so much fun. We can help people thrive by promoting a healthy lifestyle and in turn healthy eyes.

About my practice

I am one of many great optometrists at Kaiser Permanente. I split my time between multiple clinics. In this I get to see a wide range of patients, which I thoroughly enjoy. We focus on preventive eye care and help our patients reach their ultimate visual potential with glasses, contact lenses, and a healthy lifestyle.

How I thrive

When not at work, I enjoy the beautiful Pacific Northwest with my family. We love to hike, bike, camp, fish, and just about anything else you can do outside! I also am a fitness enthusiast and take pride in running half and full marathons, working out at the gym, and road-biking whenever I can. I also enjoy all the delicious food, wine, and microbrews that Portland, Oregon has to offer. What a great place to live!

Medical School ?

Pacific University
Forest Grove

Medical Training ?

Optometry
Pacific University
Forest Grove OR

Geriatric Optometry
VA Black Hills Health Care System
Hot Springs SD

Primary Care Optometry
EyeCare Specialties
Lincoln NE

Board Certification ?