Joseph D. Murphy MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Westside Medical Office
2875 NE Stucki Ave
Hillsboro, OR 97124

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 83 Ratings
  • 34 Comments

*Doctor Murphy and the nurse I spoke with were both very nice. All of my questions were answered and I never felt rushed. I'm happy I was recommended to come here.

June 27, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Murphy and assistant [name] are absolutely the BEST!

June 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Murphy is the best. He's warm and friendly but also a trusted professional.

February 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Murphy is kind. Always a great experience.

January 31, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Murphy made me feel at ease & truly concerned about my issues. He is the first dr. to explain the changes to my body post menopause and was kind and considerate. I hope to continue my care with him in the future.

December 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been seeing Dr. Murphy for 10 years or so & he's the best!

October 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Murphy is always professional yet friendly and open. He is also a listener and responds to all my questions and concerns about my care.

October 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

DR.Murphy is always so attentive, show compassion! I have have seen many providers and he is truly the kindest!

September 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great experience. He had read through my file before my visit so I didn't have to go over all of my history we could focus on the current issue.

July 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Murphy is amazing

June 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Murphy & [name] are the BEST! I was truly a little sad that, after seeing them regularly during pregnancies & care for the last 3 years. I won't see them again for five years. I really feel both of them genuinely care about me & my well being!

June 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Murphy is a wonderful doctor! I feel extremely blessed that he is my OB/GYN! He is very attentive, listens, & follows through with treatment when I had been ignored by previous doctors. I am very glad to have him as my doctor!

June 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very happy with my visits with *Dr. Murphy! He's very caring, friendly, personable. Dr. Murphy is amazing! Couldn't ask for anything more when I go to see him!

May 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I find Dr Murphy to be an exceptional doctor. He is kind and very easy to talk to. he is a true gem for the Kaiser team

March 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I've been very happy with Dr. Murphy.

March 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am extremely happy with *Dr. Murphy - He is compassionate, caring, professional, has a great sense of humor - so grateful he is my doctor.

March 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good thank you!!

February 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Murphy is awesome! He should train your providers. His care & compassion are top notch.

September 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Murphy and staff always make us feel important and really listen to us.

August 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Murphy is the best! A wonderful care provider, and you know he really does care for his pts!

August 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Doctor Joseph D. Murphy MD is the best.

July 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Once again, I am blown away by *Dr. Murphy's professional yet personal demeanor. I feel so incredibly comfortable talking to him about medical issues & I know he truly listens & cares for my needs. Thanks to *Dr. Murphy & [name] for being the best team EVER!!

July 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Our visit with *Dr. Murphy was very efficient and I found him to be very attentive, friendly and professional.

July 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

As always, *Dr. Murphy was fantastic!

June 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

he put me at ease. perfect combination of professional and sympathetic.

June 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love this doctor! Great patient 'bed side' manner! He explains things very well with some humor.

April 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel like Dr. Murphy is my partner in my health.

April 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Murphy is FANTASTIC! He has been my doctor for several years and cared for me my entire pregnancy. This visit was just another example of the excellent care I've received from *Dr. Murphy and his assistant [name].

March 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Murphy, was very pleasant to talk with. He seemed very concerned about my problem and to help me get through it. I really like having him as one of my doctors. I would recommend him.

March 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This doctor was unwilling to discuss further care options with me - he told me there was no action he could take regarding my chronic pain & watched stiffly as I cried in the exam room. Have since sought a new care provider.

February 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

One of the best doctors I've seen.

December 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My surgery was a success. I am really happy & thankful to *Dr. Joseph Murphy & his team. Only after the surgery I thought I should have got more in depth information about my case without having to ask.

December 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always great care/experience!

October 29, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Murphy is hands down the - best OB/GYN provider.

October 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born and raised in Hannibal, Missouri, received my bachelor's degree from Northwestern University in Chicago, Illinois, and attended medical school at the St. Louis University School of Medicine. I completed my residency at the University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston, Texas, and kept a private practice in Houston before moving to Portland, Oregon to join Kaiser Permanente in 2005. I love the beautiful Pacific Northwest and am incredibly proud to work for Kaiser Permanente.

About my practice

High-risk obstetrics initially drew me to Obstetrics and Gynecology but I realized during my training how much I enjoy the full scope of a generalist Obstetrics and Gynecology practice. I love getting to know my patients and counseling them on available treatment options in order to make informed healthcare decisions. Of all the places I've practiced, including academic institutions and private practice, Kaiser Permanente is my favorite because of our conscious focus on evidence-based medicine and patient safety, our incredible network of talented colleagues across multiple specialties, and our emphasis on what I enjoy most - taking care of patients.

How I thrive

Being a runner and an avid fan of exercise is part of my identity, and I have run 11 marathons. I love all of the outdoor activities available in the Pacific Northwest. My partner and I have a house on the Oregon coast where we re-energize. We have two beagles that keep us quite busy!

Medical School ?

Saint Louis University School of Medicine
Saint Louis

Medical Training ?

Obstetrics and Gynecology
University of Texas Medical Branch Hospitals
Galveston TX

Board Certification ?

Obstetrics and Gynecology
American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology