Joshua H. Nelson MD
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Salmon Creek Medical Office
14406 NE 20th Ave.
Vancouver, WA 98686

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.9
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.9
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 105 Ratings
  • 35 Comments

*Dr. Nelson was very informative and knowledgeable and provided excellent care. Have complete confidence in him.

June 07, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nelson is usually on time, yet give you extra time if needed.

May 24, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nelson explains everything about my health condition so clearly that it is so easy to understand. This gives me great confidence in him.

March 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very thorough.

February 06, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I heard compliment from other doctors who found him good to work with. I had confidence in his ability to help me with the issues I am facing.

January 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nelson is an excellent physician. I liked him a lot.

December 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nelson has been very helpful in treating my kidney and BP problems. Very likeable doctor. Very knowledgeable.

November 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nelson pays close attention to all my comments and discusses them thoroughly. He is the finest doctor I have ever met. He provides excellent results.

November 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

For *Joshua H. Nelson Great communicator. Exceptional doctor.

October 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very caring, personable *Dr. Nelson -

September 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nelson and staff are great.

September 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nelson is an excellent physician. He is always thorough and genuinely seems glad to see me. He notices even the smallest details.

August 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nelson takes time to fully explain conditions & procedures. He listened to my complaints and did not hurry my through. I would certainly recommend him.

August 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was a good experience. *Dr. Joshua Nelson, did a great job informing me what is going on, how to treat this & move on. I would see him again.

July 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have visit *Dr. Nelson for many years, always pleasant and helpful.

May 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nelson is best doctor I have had through years at Kaiser.

May 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nelson was fantastic.

March 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Professional friendly attentive humor.

March 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nelson and staff are very nice and caring. *Dr Nelson is a very good doctor he makes me feel hopeful, he cares about my problems.

February 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would highly recommend *Dr. Nelson to anyone.

February 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always great experience to visit with *Dr. Nelson & his staff. I would say *Dr. Nelson is my favorite doctor to have had at Kaiser.

February 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Joshua. Has been a great doctor. He cares and is persistent in dealing with my high blood almost tenacious. He listens to what I am going through and responds to my needs.

December 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like my appointment with *Dr. Nelson very much. He feels like a friend.

December 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good.

November 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nelson gives excellent explanations of every aspect of my condition and gives me excellent care at all times.

August 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was very good dr.

August 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very caring and wonderful doctor. Easy to talk too! Always willing to take the time to answer all my questions.

July 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nelson was excellent! His efforts to explain details went beyond - Expectations - They were extensive and he was very willing to discuss options for future care concerns and advances in nephrology. I never felt rushed or short-changed for information. He showed both empathy & humor throughout the appointment to make me feel at ease.

May 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He always does a great job listening and dealings with me.

March 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nelson is the best dr. that I have had. Always alternative and makes sure you are comfortable and well informed. Would not change for any reason.

January 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nelson is excellent at every level of care. He goes well beyond his scope of practice to insure needs are met.

October 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nelson is great!

September 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nelson is A++ - absolutely wonderful and great staff. // Recommend to all I talk to including my son who recently acquired Kaiser.

September 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had an excellent experience, *Dr. Nelson was great!

August 26, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I can not say enough about this doctor - He is the very best thin is.

August 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I grew up in a small farming community in central Wisconsin. From there, I went on to study at the University of Wisconsin before attending the Medical College of Wisconsin. After completing medical school, my wife and I decided to try a new area of the country and left the Midwest to move to Oregon. I did my residency at the Oregon Health & Science University (OHSU) followed by a year as a primary care physician at Kaiser Permanente. During my training, I developed a strong interest in caring for patients with kidney disease and hypertension and returned to OHSU for fellowship training in Nephrology. Having fallen in love with the Pacific Northwest, my family and I decided to stay and we have been very happy with our decision.

About my practice

I care for patients that have kidney disease or difficult to control hypertension. I see a spectrum of patients, from those with moderate kidney disease to patients that need kidney replacement therapy with dialysis or transplant. I enjoy this field because it allows me to follow patients over time and hopefully get to know them as people.

How I thrive

Outside of work, I am very busy with my daughter and son. We love biking, hiking, camping, and enjoying the outdoors.

Medical School ?

Medical College of Wisconsin
Milwaukee

Medical Training ?

Nephrology
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Internal Medicine
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Nephrology
American Board of Internal Medicine