Joy Lin Pretcher MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office East
3550 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.6
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 147 Ratings
  • 56 Comments

I absolutely adore Dr Pratcher! she is so nice, she explains exactly what's going on and what to expect. she was very comforting and made sure this procedure was something I really wanted to do considering my anatomy and how hard it is to get the IUD in. although the procedure itself was very uncomfortable, Dr Pretcher was amazing!

December 18, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Lin Pretcher is an excellent provider. She is caring and listens to all concerns. she never rushes me and you feel like you are speaking with a trusted friend.

October 25, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

only checks boxes off on epic, does not discuss concerns. when concerns are mentioned, provider says "ill put something in your after visit summary"

October 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

she was great. I had already recommended her to a friend needing an appt.

October 09, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Joy made me feel comfortable & confident.

October 03, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Pretcher was a very kind doctor. She took the time to explain the procedure in detail and to talk me through each step. She was empathetic to my situation and med the visit pleasant with her humorous and caring disposition. I HIGHLY recommend her!

September 13, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My experience with *Dr. Fletcher and her assistant was great. They were both friendly, but also respectful and professional. My questions (which were a little embarrassing for me to ask) were answered thorough, and reassuringly.

August 14, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really appreciate *Dr. [Pretcher]. She is cheerful, communicates well what she is thinking and planning about my conditions and seems genuinely concerned about how thi8ngs are going. It seemed to me that she was careful, quick & thorough during the procedure.

July 26, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I thoroughly enjoy *Dr. Pretcher. She is polite, pro active & professional in every way.

June 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel so lucky to have had this doctor, she was exceptional, and definitely eased my anxiety, and was very comforting and understanding when I was emotional. She explained everything she did.

May 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Joy was an absolute delight. Easy to talk to, informative, kind. I really liked her.

May 07, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Pretcher is such a warm and caring person. She expresses concern for my comfort if she feels I am in a slightly uncomfortable position for more than a few minutes. She never makes you feel rushed. She explained her answers very well in terms and pictures that are understandable. Other OB/GYN's have been offered up when I schedule an appointment so that I don't have to wait further out for *Dr. Pretcher. Believe me, *Dr. Pretcher is well worth waiting for.

April 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Pretcher & the nursing staff were informative & kind. She was very knowledgeable & excellent at communicating her questions & expectations to me. I'd highly recommend her care!

March 27, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Pretcher is an excellent physician. She is very concerned about her patient's well being.

December 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Pretcher is such a great provider! She is skilled, empathic, open, kind and makes me feel at ease and is fully present. I am so happy with the care she and her team provided me!

November 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Pretcher is a joy! I've only seen her on two occasions and I feel like I have been a patient for decades. That's priceless!

November 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor was rushed, didn't explain procedures and purposefully made me feel bad for not coming in sooner (repeatedly in the same visit).

October 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Pretcher was the best. She talked me through everything that was being executed at my procedure.

October 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Joy always listens to me. Explains what is going on. She is very thorough.

October 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel comfortable being in *Dr. Pretcher's care. She is an excellent, thorough, caring doctor.

October 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love *Dr. Joy! SHe is an excellent, caring Dr. It's like visiting a friend!

June 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr pretcher is the best!

June 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been seeing *Dr. Pretcher for care for the last 10 yrs. She is always professional, yet seems to care greatly about my emotional well-being as much as my physical well - being. I have recommend her to countless friends & acquaintances in need of care by this type of provider.

June 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Pretcher is an excellent provider. She has amazing bedside manner that helped calm my nerves and she was so patient and informative. I definitely will continue to see her!

May 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was a bit nervous seeing a new gynecologist but *Dr. Pretcher & her nurse were so warm & welcoming. I would be happy to see her again. Thank you! [name]

May 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It has been an absolute pleasure to work with Dr. Joy Pretcher! She is polite, straight forward, and answers all of my myriad of questions. She checks in regularly by asking informed and prescient questions of me and my husband. So wonderful!!

April 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Happy about the "no nonsense" approach (direct, but sensitive to my reaction to an on-the-spot recommendation for biopsy, and allowing a moment for me to consider my choices).

April 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent care & concern by this dr. extremely satisfied with her level of concern & care for over all health.

March 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Pretcher is a very knowledgable, kind, compassionate doctor. She is also a very good listener.

March 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Timely short, impersonal & superficial is how I would describe my experience through this life changing event. I would prefer a less-timely, longer, more personal, real conversation in detail doctor that assures and talks through slowly what to expect for a first time, healthy mom.

March 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was my first visit with *Joy Lin Pretcher and she was outstanding - offered me comfort, care, and attention to issues when I appeared distressed.

February 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent communication...professionalism. I felt well cared for. Thank you -

January 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Do not like changing doctors - but other doctor retired - so had to! Liked my new doctor - so happy since its not always great.

January 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Pretcher is so cool. I love her style - she's easy going & oozes kindness. Best visit ever.

January 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Pretcher was fabulous!

January 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Love *Joy!

December 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Pretcher is the best!!

August 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

my doctor a seemed less concerned about addressing my specific medical concerns, did not give me much info/advice on my medical condition, and excused my specific worries as nothing to be deeply concerned about.

July 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She had her own agenda and didn't really care if I was in pain. I told her I was going out of town for 8 days and I was concerned about going feeling so bad. Her bedside manner lacked empathy.

July 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Pretcher is a gem!

July 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Pretcher was very responsive to my on-line after-care question and prescription renewal. Very thankful for that!

June 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love Dr. Pretcher. she is so friendly and make the effort to make sure I was comfortable and confident about everything

June 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Pretcher was professional and courteous. She showed genuine concern. It was very difficult to get an OB (MD) appointment at Interstate.

June 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first visit with Dr. Pretcher as I had been a patient of [name]. Dr. Pretcher was professional, pleasant, competent. I am pleased that I will be able to continue with Dr. Pretcher with my ongoing problem with a cystocele. A good experience.

June 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

i am so pleased having Dr Pretcher as my Dr. she is a special and caring individual. i have recommended her to family members.

June 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Joy was very professional and personable. She listened and addressed concerns.. Joy shows concern for her patients and has great follow-up. Thank you

May 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Pretcher is just awesome, she is just so kind and warm. You can tell she enjoys people, and wants you to feel at ease. When you ask a question she intently listens, gets her doctor hat on and checks out your concerns which makes you feel she is on your side to get to the bottom of the issue. She has a wonderful repoir with her assistant, and you can tell they have a mutual respect for each other's profession and are working together for you.

April 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This is the best connection I've ever had with a care provider - especially with this specialty! DR. Pretcher was so approachable and I immediately felt comfortable with her.

March 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Really like *Dr. Pretcher. Very nice, professional, and personable.

February 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Pretcher is great! I am very happy with her care.

January 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Pretcher was very patient and calm in administering my care.

January 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great care by Doc and Nurse!

December 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She's great but I felt like she was rushing to move on to the next patient

October 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Pretcher & team are fabulous to work with! Her schedule is busy which limits appointment times/openings but we are willing to adjust our schedule so we can continue to see her.

October 06, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The care provider seemed rushed.

September 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Pretcher is an excellent OBGYN doctor that is caring, through, compassionate and an excellent doctor & surgeon

August 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born and raised in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. I double-majored in English and Anthropology and re-directed to medicine when I obtained my Master of Science in Physical Anthropology.

About my practice

I appreciate the Obstetrics and Gynecology department and my workplace balance between surgery, the clinic, and the hospital. I consider myself very lucky to work for Kaiser Permanente.

How I thrive

I enjoy running, cycling, hula-hooping, kayaking, razor-clamming (I've become an excellent spotter), basic knitting, travel, our proximity to Hawaii, consuming phenomenal Northwest food and wine, and visiting with my truly lovely group of friends. I also love introducing visitors and Oregonians to our great community.

Medical School ?

University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine
Philadelphia

Medical Training ?

Obstetrics and Gynecology
University of Chicago
Chicago IL

Board Certification ?

Obstetrics and Gynecology
American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology