Justin T. Gathercoal DO
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Skyline Medical Office
5125 Skyline Road South
Salem, OR 97306

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 243 Ratings
  • 76 Comments

Doctor Gathercoal is a very caring person. Has a good sense of humor.

July 13, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have had excellent care and information at every visit. *Dr. Gathercoal is a very focused and an easy doctor to talk to. I appreciate his care.

June 28, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gathercoal is my Knight in Shining Armour.

June 11, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like my doctor and his nurse. They take very good care of me & my wife.

June 01, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am [age] years old and I am very fortunate to have such good care. I think *Dr. Gathercoal is very dedicated and has been great. [name]

May 30, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He seemed to listen to me and what I wanted or did not want in my treatment.

May 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Gathercoal is one of the best doctors we have ever had!

April 16, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very thorough, and knowledgeable. not rushed, answered all questions

March 07, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Need more drs. like *Dr. Gathercoal so all of us can have such a great dr. He is great!!

March 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Love *Dr. Gathercoal - Excellent care and concern! Everyone deserves a doctor like him.

January 31, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

super happy with Doctor Gathercoal

January 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Justin is the best doctor I have ever had. He cares about me & my family. I refer all my friends to him.

January 04, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The Doctor was most excellent and he really helped me.

December 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gathercoal & his staff provide me with consistent, excellent & compassionate care. I look forward to my next visit, each & every time.

November 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gathercoal is the best doc I've seen at KP - please treat him well so he stays.

November 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Gathercoal is wonderful, his care and concern was excellent, his wisdom exceptional!

November 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really like Dr. Gathercoal. Very professional and caring.

November 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

best doctor and staff I've ever had!

November 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Gathercol is very knowledgeable and I appreciated him sharing some ideas with me on how to manage my Diabetes and goals to look forward to. Very much appreciated!

September 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gathercoal is an excellent physician. He is extremely patient, understanding, caring and thorough. He made me feel completely at ease and confident in his care.

September 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent

August 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gathercoal is BEST doctor I have ever had at Kaiser in 20 years or so I've been a member. [name]

July 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

my doctor isa good doctor with to many patients in my opinion.

June 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very lucky to have such a good doctor. *Dr. Gathercoal is very dedicated. My appointment was very successful.

June 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gathercoal and MA are awesome.

May 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had one concern that was not 100% visited, but all my other concerns were adequately met

May 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Extremely pleased with the attention and care *J. T. Gathercoal exhibited.

April 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is a very caring person. I am very lucky to be in his care. He is very understanding.

April 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gathercoal seems to really know his stuff & dr. very thorough.

April 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gathercoal gave me excellent care.

March 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My visit was very nice. I will recommend *Dr. Gathercoal to family and friends.

March 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Coming from So. Calif. I was very impressed by the professionalism & care (overall) I received *Dr. Gathercoal made me feel @ ease & his concern for me as a pt. was genuine & his nurse was also concern & informative.

February 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

always good....

February 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor couldn't have been nicer, and the nurse, [name], was an absolute gem.

February 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gathercoal was compassionate and kind, and I really liked him a lot.

February 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always top notch.

January 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My doctor is great as well as his staff. [name]

January 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

GREAT DR.!!!!!!!

January 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

personable and knowledgeable.

January 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good man, sharp, on the ball. I would enjoy his company in any setting.

January 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was extremely impressed by Dr. Gathercoal! Not only did he listen to my concerns and address my condition, but also offered information I needed over a year ago! // I was so impressed with his attentiveness to what I was experiencing his offer of ways to avoid this in the future was "OUTSTANDING!"

December 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent doctor. Has such a pleasant personality and tries to be very helpful. Very patient with any questions and seems to take a true interest in problems.

November 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gathercoal was incredibly nice and personable.

November 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm a new member of Kaiser Permanente and was recommended to Dr. Gathercoal by a close friend. The visit was easy to set up, efficient with my time, and Dr. Gathercoal took time to address all of my concerns. THANK YOU!

November 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gathercoal & [name] are always friendly & helpful.

October 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I think Dr. Gathercoal is a very dedicated doctor and I am pleased he is my doctor. Thank you. [name]

October 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

BEST DOCTOR!

October 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was pleased with the way I was treated the experience was a good one.

September 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Overall I had a great experience with the staff and the Doctor Justin T. Gathercoal is very attentive to my needs. Thank you

August 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gathercoal was very willing to listen to me carefully. he never appears annoyed or rushed as most Doctors do. I appreciate this in a doctor. He is also very direct without being condescending when explaining the avenue of care he has chosen for me. Even when I am not excited about it.

July 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gathercoal is one of the best doctors I have had. Be sure to keep him.

July 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor very professional and kind. Much better then any other healthcare staff that I have seen in the past.

June 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is the best doctor ever. I hope he will always be at Kaiser.

June 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been recommending him to others!

June 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gathercoal was fabulous. I always feel comfortable when I am unable to see my primary, [name]. I am always treated respectfully no matter what my situation, financial or healthwise.

June 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gathercoal is an excellent doctor. He is easy to talk to and very caring.

May 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very happy with my new *Doctor. Gathercoal. Sincerely [name]

April 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very impressed with him. His bedside manner is such that he lnsills confidence. Kaiser is lucky to have him don't' loose him!

April 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I came to K-P after having had the same family doctor for 25 years. (He was the best doc in Portland, in my view.) I am pleased to say that *Dr. Gathercoal has won my confidence and respect and I am very happy with the care he has given me. My previous doctor was a tough act to follow, but *Dr. Gathercoal has done so with aplomb, skill, and grace. He is unfailingly kind, courteous, and helpful.

April 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was the first time I had the opportunity to meet *Dr. Gathercoal. He is very knowledgeable and thorough. I was extremely satisfied with the service he provided to me. He is very personable and explained in detail to my questions. *Dr. Gathercoal is definitely an ASSET to the Kaiser Permanente organization! I hope he stays at the South Salem location for the rest of his medical profession. I will highly recommend him to anyone I come in contact with, looking for a medical doctor! Than you. [name]

March 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gathercoal has been a welcomed delight every since I chose him to be my provider. I could not ask for more.

March 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very pleased with *Dr. Gathercoal is and excellent dr.

January 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent experience. I appreciate that my doctor was not rushed, discussed my concerns, and we made a plan. It's worth driving the 50 miles to get such good care.

January 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Nothing compares to having a GP that has your best interests in mind. Great doc!

January 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Care Provider #11. Excellent.

December 31, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gathercoal & his nurse [name] are the best I've had in all my years at Kaiser.

December 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

extremly impressed with Dr. Gathercoal! // excellent care!!!

December 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gathercoal has helped me a lot. He is a really great doctor. He pays absolute attention to what your saying.

December 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gathercoal is very dedicated. He is my new provider. I am so fortunate to have such good care.

October 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was our first time meeting and I was happy with the experience.

October 22, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first time being seen by Dr. Gathercoal. He was very nice and understanding.

October 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gathercoal was great. Solved my medical problem and was easy to talk with, yet professional. I got in quickly with [name] his assistant. She was very friendly and helpful! I was seen by Dr. Gathercoal shortly thereafter. They are a great team, and a asset to KP. Kudos to them and all the staff members...great work!

September 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very Happy with Dr. Gathercoal. EXCELLENT.

September 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent work by Dr. Gathercoal

September 14, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Tremendous doctor. Really listens.

August 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gathercoal is an amazing doctor. He listens when you talk to him and he is such a good doctor. Kaiser is so lucky to have him.

August 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born in Adelaide, South Australia and moved to the US at age 11, landing in Corvallis, Oregon. I have lived all over the country, but I find myself coming back to the Northwest. After medical school in Pennsylvania, I joined the United States Air Force and served in Texas for four years. I have a son and daughter and a wonderful wife who have helped me with all my endeavors.

About my practice

As an Osteopathic physician, I appreciate the art and science of medicine, as well as performing osteopathic manipulative medicine. I believe that the body has the innate ability to heal, but when it can't, the physician is there to help return or maintain that balance. As a family physician, I treat multiple medical conditions and all patients from young to old.

How I thrive

I enjoy family time; my wife and two children help me to thrive both mentally and physically. We love hiking and biking as well as game night. Woodworking is and has been an enjoyable craft for me. I enjoy the creativity that comes with working with my hands and using mathematical skill and tools to form a finished product.

Medical School ?

Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine
Erie

Medical Training ?

Family Medicine
St. Vincent Health Center
Erie PA

Board Certification ?

Family Medicine
American Board of Family Medicine