Justin T. Gathercoal DO
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Skyline Medical Office
5125 Skyline Road South
Salem, OR 97306

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 234 Ratings
  • 80 Comments

Dr. Gathercoal is my Knight in Shining Armour.

June 10, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like my doctor and his nurse. They take very good care of me & my wife.

May 31, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am [age] years old and I am very fortunate to have such good care. I think *Dr. Gathercoal is very dedicated and has been great. [name]

May 29, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He seemed to listen to me and what I wanted or did not want in my treatment.

May 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Gathercoal is one of the best doctors we have ever had!

April 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very thorough, and knowledgeable. not rushed, answered all questions

March 06, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Need more drs. like *Dr. Gathercoal so all of us can have such a great dr. He is great!!

March 04, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Love *Dr. Gathercoal - Excellent care and concern! Everyone deserves a doctor like him.

January 30, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

super happy with Doctor Gathercoal

January 18, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Justin is the best doctor I have ever had. He cares about me & my family. I refer all my friends to him.

January 03, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The Doctor was most excellent and he really helped me.

December 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gathercoal & his staff provide me with consistent, excellent & compassionate care. I look forward to my next visit, each & every time.

November 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gathercoal is the best doc I've seen at KP - please treat him well so he stays.

November 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Gathercoal is wonderful, his care and concern was excellent, his wisdom exceptional!

November 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really like Dr. Gathercoal. Very professional and caring.

November 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

best doctor and staff I've ever had!

October 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Gathercol is very knowledgeable and I appreciated him sharing some ideas with me on how to manage my Diabetes and goals to look forward to. Very much appreciated!

September 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gathercoal is an excellent physician. He is extremely patient, understanding, caring and thorough. He made me feel completely at ease and confident in his care.

September 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gathercoal addressed my concerns well and gave suggestions. I like how the visit summary lets me know what I need to know for further visits.

August 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent

August 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gathercoal is BEST doctor I have ever had at Kaiser in 20 years or so I've been a member. [name]

July 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

my doctor isa good doctor with to many patients in my opinion.

June 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very lucky to have such a good doctor. *Dr. Gathercoal is very dedicated. My appointment was very successful.

June 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt that *Dr. Gathercoal really is interested in his patients. He impressed me 100% -

May 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gathercoal and MA are awesome.

May 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had one concern that was not 100% visited, but all my other concerns were adequately met

May 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Extremely pleased with the attention and care *J. T. Gathercoal exhibited.

April 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is a very caring person. I am very lucky to be in his care. He is very understanding.

April 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gathercoal seems to really know his stuff & dr. very thorough.

April 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was a good experience. He was enough patient to listen to our problems. He was helpful in giving suggestions in improving the health condition.

March 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gathercoal gave me excellent care.

March 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My visit was very nice. I will recommend *Dr. Gathercoal to family and friends.

March 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Coming from So. Calif. I was very impressed by the professionalism & care (overall) I received *Dr. Gathercoal made me feel @ ease & his concern for me as a pt. was genuine & his nurse was also concern & informative.

February 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

always good....

February 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor couldn't have been nicer, and the nurse, [name], was an absolute gem.

February 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gathercoal was compassionate and kind, and I really liked him a lot.

February 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

"Always top notch."

January 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My doctor is great as well as his staff. [name]

January 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

GREAT DR.!!!!!!!

January 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

personable and knowledgeable.

January 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good man, sharp, on the ball. I would enjoy his company in any setting.

January 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was extremely impressed by Dr. Gathercoal! Not only did he listen to my concerns and address my condition, but also offered information I needed over a year ago! // I was so impressed with his attentiveness to what I was experiencing his offer of ways to avoid this in the future was "OUTSTANDING!"

December 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent doctor. Has such a pleasant personality and tries to be very helpful. Very patient with any questions and seems to take a true interest in problems.

November 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gathercoal was incredibly nice and personable.

November 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm a new member of Kaiser Permanente and was recommended to Dr. Gathercoal by a close friend. The visit was easy to set up, efficient with my time, and Dr. Gathercoal took time to address all of my concerns. THANK YOU!

November 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gathercoal & [name] are always friendly & helpful.

October 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I think Dr. Gathercoal is a very dedicated doctor and I am pleased he is my doctor. Thank you. [name]

October 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

BEST DOCTOR!

October 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very professional - well coordinated medical care for me!

October 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was pleased with the way I was treated the experience was a good one.

September 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Well satisfied w/ overall care.

August 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Overall I had a great experience with the staff and the Doctor Justin T. Gathercoal is very attentive to my needs. Thank you

August 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gathercoal was very willing to listen to me carefully. he never appears annoyed or rushed as most Doctors do. I appreciate this in a doctor. He is also very direct without being condescending when explaining the avenue of care he has chosen for me. Even when I am not excited about it.

July 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gathercoal is one of the best doctors I have had. Be sure to keep him.

June 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor very professional and kind. Much better then any other healthcare staff that I have seen in the past.

June 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is the best doctor ever. I hope he will always be at Kaiser.

June 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been recommending him to others!

June 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gathercoal was fabulous. I always feel comfortable when I am unable to see my primary, [name]. I am always treated respectfully no matter what my situation, financial or healthwise.

June 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

GOOD - *Dr. Ganthercoal speaks to me at my level. My level is being 75 - have memory problems because of strokes! He always prints the info for me to take home - THAT'S GREAT!!!

May 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gathercoal is an excellent doctor. He is easy to talk to and very caring.

May 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very happy with my new *Doctor. Gathercoal. Sincerely [name]

April 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very impressed with him. His bedside manner is such that he lnsills confidence. Kaiser is lucky to have him don't' loose him!

April 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I came to K-P after having had the same family doctor for 25 years. (He was the best doc in Portland, in my view.) I am pleased to say that *Dr. Gathercoal has won my confidence and respect and I am very happy with the care he has given me. My previous doctor was a tough act to follow, but *Dr. Gathercoal has done so with aplomb, skill, and grace. He is unfailingly kind, courteous, and helpful.

March 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was the first time I had the opportunity to meet *Dr. Gathercoal. He is very knowledgeable and thorough. I was extremely satisfied with the service he provided to me. He is very personable and explained in detail to my questions. *Dr. Gathercoal is definitely an ASSET to the Kaiser Permanente organization! I hope he stays at the South Salem location for the rest of his medical profession. I will highly recommend him to anyone I come in contact with, looking for a medical doctor! Than you. [name]

March 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gathercoal has been a welcomed delight every since I chose him to be my provider. I could not ask for more.

March 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very pleased with *Dr. Gathercoal is and excellent dr.

January 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent experience. I appreciate that my doctor was not rushed, discussed my concerns, and we made a plan. It's worth driving the 50 miles to get such good care.

January 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Nothing compares to having a GP that has your best interests in mind. Great doc!

January 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Care Provider #11. Excellent.

December 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gathercoal & his nurse [name] are the best I've had in all my years at Kaiser.

December 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

extremly impressed with Dr. Gathercoal! // excellent care!!!

December 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gathercoal has helped me a lot. He is a really great doctor. He pays absolute attention to what your saying.

December 01, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gathercoal is very dedicated. He is my new provider. I am so fortunate to have such good care.

October 26, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was our first time meeting and I was happy with the experience.

October 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first time being seen by Dr. Gathercoal. He was very nice and understanding.

October 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gathercoal was great. Solved my medical problem and was easy to talk with, yet professional. I got in quickly with [name] his assistant. She was very friendly and helpful! I was seen by Dr. Gathercoal shortly thereafter. They are a great team, and a asset to KP. Kudos to them and all the staff members...great work!

September 20, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very Happy with Dr. Gathercoal. EXCELLENT.

September 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent work by Dr. Gathercoal

September 13, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Tremendous doctor. Really listens.

August 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gathercoal is an amazing doctor. He listens when you talk to him and he is such a good doctor. Kaiser is so lucky to have him.

August 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born in Adelaide, South Australia and moved to the US at age 11, landing in Corvallis, Oregon. I have lived all over the country, but I find myself coming back to the Northwest. After medical school in Pennsylvania, I joined the United States Air Force and served in Texas for four years. I have a son and daughter and a wonderful wife who have helped me with all my endeavors.

About my practice

As an Osteopathic physician, I appreciate the art and science of medicine, as well as performing osteopathic manipulative medicine. I believe that the body has the innate ability to heal, but when it can't, the physician is there to help return or maintain that balance. As a family physician, I treat multiple medical conditions and all patients from young to old.

How I thrive

I enjoy family time; my wife and two children help me to thrive both mentally and physically. We love hiking and biking as well as game night. Woodworking is and has been an enjoyable craft for me. I enjoy the creativity that comes with working with my hands and using mathematical skill and tools to form a finished product.

Medical School ?

Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine
Erie

Medical Training ?

Family Medicine
St. Vincent Health Center
Erie PA

Board Certification ?

Family Medicine
American Board of Family Medicine