Katherine A. Clayton MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Gateway Medical Office
1700 NE 102nd Ave
Portland, OR 97220

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.3
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 73 Ratings
  • 10 Comments

I love Dr. Clayton! She is very knowledgeable and seems to genuinely care about her patients. She listens to what I have to say about my daughter and values my input. She's just the best, couldn't ask for a better pediatrician for my daughter.

September 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent experience, as always!

May 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We really like *Dr. Clayton!

May 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Clayton is amazing - As a foster parent she has been really supportive & caring of [child] & helpful in letting us know than about [child]'s progress. Thanks!

April 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Clayton was very nice. We look forward to seeing her as [child]'s regular pediatrician. Was grateful for *Dr. Clayton's knowledge of mindfulness & meditation/breathing exercises.

March 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She is always genuinely caring and never makes us feel rushed, always happy to discuss any topic. She was great at including [child's name] in the care options and choices where possible. For example liquid or chewable pain medicine.

March 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Clayton was very personable and spoke to us in a way that made things easy for us to understand. You can tell she loves what she does.

March 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really liked that the dr didn't push the medication since it wouldn't make a difference unless his symptoms changed. She ordered the Rx in case so that it would be easy for me to obtain if needed.

December 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Love my doctor she is very kind and shows great interest in my concerns. She also works well with my baby.

December 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Clayton is great. We're very happy we found her.

August 13, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I grew up in Minnesota and attended Carleton College for my undergraduate education. After college, I joined the Peace Corps in Malawi, in southeastern Africa. While living in a small village in the north of the country, I taught science at a secondary school and spent time at the local hospital, and it was there that I became certain that medicine was the path for me. Returning home, I entered medical school at Tulane University in New Orleans. My partner and I moved to Portland, where I completed my residency in pediatrics at Oregon Health & Science University. We fell in love with the city and are looking forward to many years exploring the Pacific Northwest with our children.

About my practice

I believe that the keys to a happy, healthy life lie in a nurtured and active childhood. I feel that disease prevention is one of the most important aspects of my job. I try to emphasize the importance of forming healthy mental and physical habits, even in the first weeks of a child's life. I want to help ensure that children with chronic diseases or difficult medical conditions receive the highest quality care possible, so that they can live life to their full potential. I enjoy forming a partnership with my members and their caregivers as they navigate the joys and difficulties of those first 18 years. Listening and engaging with my members gives me great satisfaction.

How I thrive

I enjoy nourishing my mind, body, and heart. I like to explore the outdoors and play music with my husband and young children. Our family loves to grow, cook, and eat fresh, delicious food. I try to be active every day by hiking, doing yoga, running after my children in the park, or walking with my border collie. I keep perspective by reading lots of books and traveling with family and friends.

Medical Training ?



Board Certification ?

Pediatrics
American Board of Pediatrics