Katherine E. Tierney MD
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Mt. Talbert Medical Office
10100 SE Sunnyside Road
Clackamas, OR 97015

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.7
    Wait Time
  • 4.9
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.9
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 138 Ratings
  • 26 Comments

Dr Thierney is the best!

May 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Katherine Tierney is a great doctor! She is kind, caring & knowledgeable. Her expertise is greatly appreciated. I would highly recommend *Dr. Tierney to everyone!

May 07, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Tierney & her staff are the best, most caring & communicative care providers I've ever had when using traditional western medicine. I always feel cared for, respected, and safe, and their communication is very clear & always prompt.

March 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always a pleasure to see this Doctor and her assistant

March 07, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Love Dr. Tierney. She always listens and answers all my questions.

February 22, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Thierney exemplifies the Kaiser mission. She is very caring and empathetic.

February 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Tierney is a very personable dr. would recommend her to any of my family or close friends. Her sensitivity to my needs have always been top priority. She exceeds all expectations and I have very high confidence that she will always provide top care for her patients.

January 31, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The dr. explained the procedure to me so I could "make up my own mind" about my body to have surgery or not. Every time I have been in *Dr. T. office was always great. I wish I had used her years ago.

September 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. & staff are always very friendly and personable.

September 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Tierney is a SAINT!

September 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. T is always a perfect blend of professional and casual which makes my very sensitive & fairly "embarrassing" treatment more relaxed, & Thank you to her & her whole staff for my care!!

September 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The kindness and care of *Dr. Tierney are wonderful.

August 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm VERY happy with *Dr. Tierney. She is delightful, considerate, professional (but not distant) flexible and kind.

August 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

While I hope to never see this doctor and her staff again in a professional manner the treatment, care and concern for me was excellent.

July 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very happy with the care I have received.

June 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Friendly, kind, efficient!

May 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Tierney is very patient, thorough, and sympathetic. She took time to answer all of my questions, present treatment options, & or explain in detail what would happen during my procedure. I felt very confident & reassured by her knowledge, not to mention supported by her care team. A lot of the worry & stress I was feeling, went away with my initial appointment with *Dr. Tierney & I feel fortunate she was assigned to my case.

May 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Tierney spent extra time explaining procedure and why it was important and why she was recommending the type of surgery that she was recommending.

May 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very pleased with the care I've gotten from *Dr. Tierney & her team. I would recommend them to anyone. They are professional and very pleasant. I have a lot of confidence in *Dr. Tierney.

May 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Tierney reassured, asked about concerns, reminded me of instructions for ongoing home care. // I look forward to being cared for by Dr Tierney.

April 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Tierney and her team are amazing!

March 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good.

February 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

1st visit with *Dr. Tierney. Liked her very much.

February 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Medical assistant and doctor are wonderful. I feel very blessed to be cared for by such caring people. I talk to my co-workers and friends about how lucky I am!

February 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm happy with this new doctor and hope she stays here

January 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like *Dr. Tierney! Dr. Tierney is an asset to the Mt. Talbert OB, GYN oncology department. I feel fortunate to have had her as my surgeon.

December 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born and raised in Los Angeles. As an undergraduate, I studied literature and natural sciences, then completed my medical education and training at the University of Southern California in Los Angeles. While at L.A. County Medical Center, I chose to pursue a career in women's health and, specifically, training in women's cancer care. I am dedicated to providing top-of-the-line care to my patients, and I believe Kaiser Permanente is the institution that allows me to do so best.

About my practice

Gynecologic oncology is unique in that one doctor provides both the surgical and medical therapy for a patient with cancer. I treat all gynecologic cancers including, but not limited to, those of the uterus, ovaries, and cervix. I specialize in complex pelvic surgery and perform minimally-invasive surgery whenever possible. In particular, I am interested in precancerous lesions of the female genital tract, including the cervix and uterus, and have published research on this topic. I am also interested in surgery to address genetic abnormalities such as BRCA 1 and 2 and Lynch syndrome. Ultimately, I strive to provide comprehensive and innovative care to my patients. I practice individualized patient care to ensure that all of my patients receive the best treatment options available and that they feel cared for in the process.

How I thrive

When I'm not working, I enjoy spending time with my husband, two daughters, and my extended family. I take great pleasure in watching my children learn and grow. I continue to be an avid reader of both medical and non-medical texts and love listening to live music with friends.

Medical School ?

Keck School of Medicine of the University of Southern California
Los Angeles

Medical Training ?

Gynecologic Oncology
University of Southern California/LAC+USC Medical Center
Los Angeles CA

Obstetrics and Gynecology
University of Southern California/LAC+USC Medical Center
Los Angeles CA

Board Certification ?

Obstetrics and Gynecology
American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology