Katie A. Deming MD
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Radiation Oncology Center
3620 N. Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.7
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 216 Ratings
  • 74 Comments

*Dr. Deming was amazing. She had thoroughly gone over my chart and completely knew my situation, including surgery and pathology results. I felt very confident in her. Assessment of my problem.

August 01, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deming has been my oncology radiation provider thru multiple rounds of radiation treatment. I am so pleased that she is one of my care providers. Her service has been a great benefit to me.

July 16, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Deming is excellent! I feel very grateful to have her on my breast cancer team!

June 25, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deming continues to provide an excellent level of care. She works well with my other medical providers. I have complete confidence that I am getting the very best care, treatment, and follow up!

June 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I and my husband immediately comfortable with her. She was incredibly patient with our questions and answered them thoroughly. She has a wonderful empathetic approach.

May 11, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Katie Deming is an excellent doctor, encouraging while at the same time being realistic. From my perspective *Dr. Deming rates higher than a "5" on a 1-5 assessment.

May 10, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was very informative, walked out feeling got the best treatment for me personally. She was pleasant an caring knew her job.

May 09, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deming & her staff were awesome! They are very caring & compassionate.

April 25, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

During this visit I was very pleased to meet the doctor who was obviously prepared to meet me. She was well informed of my chart and the step that had already taken place. Then she took the time to get answer all my questions and prepare me for the next steps.

April 25, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very well informed with no pressure.

April 24, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deming was very thorough in her explanation of my surgery and radiation therapy - She is knowledgeable, considerate & explains everything so I could understand it.

March 28, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This is the 2nd time I had *Dr. Deming for care during a course of radiation treatment. Her connection as a provider give a sense of comfort and confidence. She makes herself very available during consults with her and helps greatly with understanding the process and procedures of the planned treatment.

March 27, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciated the straightforward approach on decision making.

March 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent, very friendly, shows concern.

March 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Consistently excellent service!

February 26, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deming was very kind, very thorough and reassuring. Explained carefully and gave me opportunity to ask any questions.

January 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deming is personable, professional and reassuring. Cancer treatment is not an easy topic to discuss. She addressed all my options with well - informed and personal - to - me discussion. I really appreciated her directness and attention to detail, making sure I understood the information. She really helped me and I am confident in my decision making process. Marvelous physician!

January 16, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deming is very knowledgeable and friendly. I'm confident she will provide me great care. One thing that I find a little challenging is she speaks very quickly and doesn't always leave me conversational space to ask questions. Again I think she does her job well and she comes off as very friendly and caring but I think it would facilitate more dialogue if she slowed down. When I DO ask questions she is attentive and gives clear responses.

January 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deming was extremely informative. O have the utmost confidence & trust in her. I have chosen to have my radiation in Salem.

January 03, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

she is a great doctor

December 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deming was wonderful, caring, knowledgeable, willing to listen, a perfect physician.

November 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deming and her staff have went above and beyond to provide me first class care. She literally saved my life and continues to closely monitor my recovery.

November 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Deming was very well informed about the results from testing done on previous days.

November 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deming was absolutely wonderful. She relieved my fears and explained my post surgical & radiation status in a way that made me feel so much better and able to cope. The is an amazing doctor - thanks!

September 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Love her!!

September 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very friendly & understanding!!

September 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Crazy impressed w/*Katie Deming. She arrived w/_____, intricate knowledge of my _____. It was clear she invested in prep time & had connected w/my other providers.

June 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

What a wonderful doctor and a wonderful team I'm so lucky and blessed. Thank you all!

June 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

the best experience I've had at Kaiser, Dr Demming is the best

May 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I think Dr. Deming is an outstanding Radiologist. I have enjoyed being her patient and I will truly miss not seeing her. She did such a good job I will probably never have to return to her office. I was dismissed as I am healed!!

April 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had the privilege of meeting Dr. Deming, along with my surgeon and oncologist, as a group shortly after my diagnosis then the biopsy. I have, from the beginning, felt the deepest confidence in all of them, as well as my Nurse Navigator, [name]. Facing such a devasting diagnosis I feel blessed that these women were my medical team, and that Kaiser set it up this way!

April 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Staff and doctor are wonderful. They are always friendly and happy. They are special group of people.

March 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deming and her team are wonderful, and should I require oncology services in the future, I will return!

March 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deming and her staff were wonderful, caring people. I felt relaxed with them and had faith that they always had my best interest at heart. *Dr. Deming is absolutely exceptional!!!

February 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Deming is personally available, professional and kind. I trust her to be honest and truthful with me regarding this treatment process.

February 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deming is an amazing person and doctor.

February 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Dening is a peach and an excellent doctor

January 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Deming is amazing. very friendly and informative

January 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Deming is an outstanding Doctor. She is very efficient and very professional.

January 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deming was wonderful. She was calm & confident, friendly & professional. Very committed to her work. Gave wise advice & choose treatment based on fact not fear.

January 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Cannot say enough wonderful things about *Dr. Deming and her staff.

December 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My confidence level in *Dr. Deming and her team is high!

November 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was a strain to listen to her because she talked too fast for me. I did not ask her to slow down. But in the end, I think I understood everything she told me.

November 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt very cared for and appreciated the way that Dr. Deming explained my condition and helped me look at options. Great experience!

October 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very good

October 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent!

October 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was a meeting as to what should be done for my skin cancer. She did exceptional good at explaining my situation.

October 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent doctor! She has treated me for 2 different cancers. She was very helpful and caring, & recommend her highly!

September 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deming gets 5 stars!

September 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very pleased with my visit with *Dr. Deming and her staff. She was very thorough and inspired great confidence. I consider myself fortunate to have her taking care of me.

August 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deming is one of the best health care providers I have had the privilege to meet. I would not hesitate to recommend her & her staff to anyone.

August 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

what an amazing woman and Dr. she is. Kaiser is lucky to have her.

July 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Bless your hearts for putting together such a wonderful medical team. Dr. Deming, and the rest of the team working with me, are truly "angels among us". My heartfelt thanks for such outstanding medical care!

July 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She completely put me at ease and made the radiation experience fun.

July 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Katie Deming is the most amazing dr. I have seen, she is professional, energetic, knows everything she should about you and makes you feel as if you are her only patience of the day. EXCELLENT doctor!!!!

June 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Katie Deming & her radiology oncology team are the best. They are all so caring, thoughtful, kind, compassionate. I can't thank them enough for the care, special care, I received. Thank you! *Dr. Deming & *Kaiser radiation oncology.

June 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I've only had two encounters with Dr. Deming, but I'm very impressed with her. She is very smart, knows her stuff, and. is very human! Already love her!

May 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Deming exceptional in skill and compassion. I would not have agreed to radiation treatments had it not been for her initial telephone consult with me. She reassured me about my concern about side effects. It was clear she was knowledgeable and showed care from the start. This final post radiation visit was no different. Answered all my questions - did not rush. Dr. Deming is what I would hope ALL Northwest Perm providers aspire to be for their patients.

May 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very pleased with the visit and all of the professional I encountered. *Dr. Deming is awesome and is the brief time of our visit, I have full confidence in her.

April 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Deming was professional but personable and caring, answered my questions, and made me feel that she would take as much time as needed for me.

April 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Katie is an excellent doctor. She is informative, sensitive, caring & speaks in words that the patient can understand.

March 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deming has a wonderful bedside manner. She made my husband and I feel comfortable and very relaxed in her company. I am glad she is taking care of my radiology needs.

March 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I came away from my visit with *Dr. Deming looking forward to my radiation treatment (almost)!

February 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deming is so compassionate & caring.

February 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Deming was thorough and caring. She answered questions I had asked of others but never got the clear answer.

January 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Demling was excellent explaining condition, options, etc., and friendly.

December 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deming and the entire staff were so caring, compassionate & proactive in helping us face this scary health issue. Teaching by physician, nurses, radiology staff was EXCELLENT & helped us feel confident & ready for treatments. Follow-up was excellent - OUR THANKS TO ALL.

December 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Everything very well done - no concerns.

December 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Super visit.

November 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Couldn't be happier with Dr. Deming.

November 22, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deming was outstanding.

November 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deming is outstanding!

November 13, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Both my husband and I were impressed by the friendliness and concern by the staff as well as *Dr. Deming. // *Dr. Deming was very thorough, excellent in her explanations and patient in answering our questions.

November 06, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deming has been awesome! Her care for me and my treatment for breast cancer has made me feel very confident in a positive outcome. She has a very caring approach. I appreciate her communication.

October 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I grew up in Marin County, California, and attended college at UC Santa Barbara, where I spent most of my time in the swimming pool as a springboard diver. I put school on hold for a semester in 1994 to train on the U.S. Junior National Triathlon Team for World Championships in Auckland, New Zealand. It took me only nine months as a semi-professional triathlete to realize that I needed a more stable career path, so I headed back to school with my sights on medicine. I attended medical school at Duke University and knew from day one that I wanted to specialize in oncology. I stayed at Duke for my internship in internal medicine and residency in radiation oncology before heading back to the West Coast to be closer to my family.

About my practice

Taking care of members dealing with cancer is truly a privilege and gift. I am inspired every day by my members and am so grateful that they entrust their care to me. I believe that my role as a radiation oncologist is to serve as a guide through the cancer journey. I pride myself on educating members, helping them make good decisions, and providing high-quality care throughout treatment. I treat all types of cancer but have a special interest in breast and gynecologic cancer.

How I thrive

I am a wife and mother of three. Although my family and practice keep me quite busy, I spend much of my free time designing products that fill unmet needs for my members. I have developed a collection of intimates for women who experience skin sensitivity due to radiation treatments for breast cancer. I hold a patent on one of my designs and have several other projects in development. I believe in giving back to my community through volunteering at my children's school and serving on the Board of Directors for Susan G. Komen of Oregon and SW Washington.

Medical School ?

Duke University School of Medicine
Durham

Medical Training ?

Radiation Oncology
Duke University
Durham NC

Board Certification ?

Radiation Oncology
American Board of Radiology