Keith H. Bachman MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office East
3550 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.4
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 194 Ratings
  • 39 Comments

*Dr. Keith Bachman is always the best. Very helpful and understanding.

June 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My doctor, Keith Bachman is exceptionally quick in response to my questions and concerns.

June 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bachman has been one of the best doctors I've ever been under the care of. He is friendly, caring, and communicates with me in a way that is really collaborative and respectful. On my last visit, he connected me immediately with both a counselor and a physical therapist, neither of which I asked for, but both of which I turned out needing more than I knew. I'd recommend him enthusiastically to anyone who is seeking a physician.

April 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bachman rocks.

January 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bachman was great.

January 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

droctor Bachman kieth did a good job

January 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This Doctor explained all I needed to know clearly and satisfacttorily. I would recommend him to my friends and family.

January 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bachman is a very caring doctor who appeared to have my best interest at heart.

January 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

DR Bachman is A+

January 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This doctor made it clear that he did not listen to me or understand the problem that I was describing to him. Everything that I described to him, he repeated back to me with the wrong information. it was obvious that he was not listening.

December 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bachman is very good.

December 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor was very caring, and gentle during the injection. He seemed to realize my fear of falling due to my pain in primarily my left leg. Thanks [name]

December 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have seen Dr. Bachman for several years. He helps keep me healthy.

November 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

all was very good, as usual.Dr. Bachman is a very good doctor!!

November 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Bachman is a good doctor

November 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My perspectives are Dr. Bachman and staff genuinely care about my health, exhibit the utmost professional manners, and are a credit to the Kaiser Permanente organization.

October 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like that he asks after all the family. I like that he wants to know if I am experiencing stress. I like that when I am in the room with him - I know that he is totally focused on me during that time - I am glad to call him my doctor.

October 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bachman & his assistants always greet me with a smile. Dr. Bachman is always patient with me & attentive. He's very easy to talk with & understand. I'm glad he's on the Kaiser team.

October 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bachman was great he gave me great service. When my regular dr. retires - I will request *Dr. Bachman to be my new primary care provider.

October 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bachman is the best dr. I have ever had. He actually listens and he has given me the impression that he thinks I am intelligent, which is opposite of most doctors. Best of all he is very rational and not given to knee jerk hysterics, I am a pain patient, taking [medication]. He treats me as if he respects me. I have enormous respect for him.

August 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bachman listens and addressed my issues and concerns.

July 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bachman is a wonderful, smart, caring doctor and I feel very lucky to have him as my primary care provider.

July 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Keith Bachman is a very friendly yet professional medical provider. He has been a powerful force in my health, survival, and quality of life.

June 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bachman and staff are excellent.

May 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bachman and his team provide consistently exceptional service.

May 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We have been patients of *Dr. Backman for many years. We have great trust in his judgment.

May 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have the utmost confidence in Dr. Bachman. I am always impressed by his knowledge and professionalism.

May 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Comprehensive-----Well done examination or office visit.

April 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Keith H. Bachman, MD is a GREAT doctor.

April 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This visit was for treatment of an injury due to a bicycle accident and was a follow up to an emergency room visit. ON this and subsequent visits so treat this injury *Dr. Bachmann provided me with excellent care. He is very personable and I am glad that he is my primary care provider.

April 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was treated with total compassion for my issues. *Dr. Bachman is the best.

February 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bachman has been our doctor for years & we appreciate him & his care very much!

February 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Keith Bachman is an excellent doctor. Always is considerate and ensures that if you have any questions that they get answered before you leave the office. I highly recommend him to anyone who would ask for a referral.

February 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very poor coordination across care. He did not look at previous records or write thorough notes for next provider in my care.

January 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Bachman is an outstanding physician and I consider myself fortunate to have him as my PCP!

December 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bachman always gives me very good care. He recalls my concerns and problems and has been very thorough in my care for many many years. He's the best!!

November 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bachman is always very attentive and always answers any concerns that we might have.

October 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good experience, Doctor asked good questions, and covered reason for my visit. Dr. Bachman was professional and made me feel comfortable, and made it clear that if I have any more questions, or issues to email him.

September 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

What a wonderful doctor! I'm so happy i found him! He really took the time to talk with me about EVERYTHING and made sure i was completely taken care of .

September 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I joined Kaiser Permanente Northwest in 1998, after completing residency at Oregon Health and Science University and spending two years working in a community practice in Lewiston, ME. I grew up in Oakland, CA and went to medical school at University of California, San Diego. I am married, have two school-age children, and live in northeast Portland. In addition to my outpatient internal medicine responsibilities, I serve as the medical director for the Kaiser Permanente Northwest Severe Obesity/Bariatric Surgery program. I also serve as a lead physician for weight management for Kaiser Permanente's Care Management Institute. I'm proud of our efforts to make the health care system safer and a little more responsive to the needs of heavier individuals.

About my practice

It is truly an honor and privilege to be a part of my patients' lives. I value continuity of care and long term relationships. I recognize that almost everybody today has an overly busy life, and that coming in to our office is usually a disruption to a busy day. Within the bounds of safe and high quality medical practice I try to do what I can to help people manage their concerns in a convenient manner. One of the great parts of my job is getting to know the really diverse, and wonderful, group of people who are my patients, and working to provide individualized care for them, consistent with their unique preferences and values. It is my firm belief that health is not something you can get in a medical office or pharmacy, it comes through how you live (and a little luck). I hope my patients recognize their own responsibility for healthy living; managing their stress, eating a wholesome and nutritious diet and maintaining a physically active lifestyle, and I'm happy to help them improve these habits. I strive to maintain these behaviors in my own life. We all need to be responsible to make our community environments safer and healthier too since the biggest barrier to healthy lifestyles are the barriers present in the world around us.

How I thrive

Playing and hanging out with my kids, who are thankfully young enough they don't mind having me around. Continuing on a lifelong quest to become a proficient string bass player. Learning to play the ukulele, which appears to be a whole lot easier than the bass. Cooking healthy food for my family, which when possible consists of whatever is fresh from the farmers market (ask me about my world famous bean recipes). Getting my 30 minutes of exercise most days of the week, although the types of activities I do seems to be a moving target. Biking to and from work; nothing better for thriving than a brisk bike ride to start the day, and then riding home to decompress after a busy work day.

Medical School ?

University of California, San Diego School of Medicine
La Jolla

Medical Training ?

General Internal Medicine
Kaiser Permanente
Portland OR

Internal Medicine
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine