Kenneth M. Kang MD
4.8 / 5
(503)813-2000
Sunnybrook Medical Offices
9900 SE Sunnyside Rd.
Clackamas, OR 97015

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.8
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 396 Ratings
  • 123 Comments

I've been seeing Dr. Kang for several year and he is always kind and thorough.

July 31, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have seen Dr. Kang for [time] years for skin rash, and skin cancer, He is a great , caring Doctor.

July 13, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kang is one of the BEST at KP.

June 01, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang has the best office presence of any provider I have ever had.

May 25, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always great experience with Dr. Kang

May 24, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

GREAT personable staff! Love Dr. Kang and his staff -- always friendly and take time to explain things.

May 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'd rank him a 10 out of five for confidence in him!

May 04, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang is one of your better clinicians. I hope KP does everything in it's power to continue his service at Kaiser.

May 04, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

As usual, an excellent experience. Dr. Kang is a great Doc and I appreciate his care/

April 30, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been seeing Dr Kang for nearly 20 years and can not express my deepest appreciation for his ongoing care

April 16, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very patient and informative

April 06, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very friendly and displayed knowledge of his study. I liked that Dr. Kang was able to easily communicate to me in lay terms.

April 06, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang was excellent with his efforts to provide outstanding service. He made sure he answered all of my questions and concerns. His efforts definitely lessened any anxiety I was feeling about the laser procedure. I would highly recommend Dr. Kang to others. I am very pleased with the laser results.

March 26, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was exceptionally comfortable with Dr. Kang's handling of my appointment. He was low key, efficient, and exceptionally clear. He made me feel as if my last visit was a few days ago rather than a year in the past.

March 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kang is very courteous. Although I no longer practice medicine, he always refers to me as "Dr [name]." That courtesy and politeness is appreciated. I have utmost confidence in Dr Kang.

March 22, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang was great. He was warm and friendly. He listened to me and I felt like he understood my perspective really well. This has been one of my best Kaiser experiences!

March 22, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Khang is the best!!!! knowledgeable and so helpful and kind!

March 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was fine, *Dr. Kang was extremely kind, considerate, & knowledgeable.

February 09, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Really appreciate the ability to email Dr. and his prompt response is comforting.

February 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang asked relevant questions and was prepared after researching my medical history. This was important because I spent two years under the care of another primary care provider.

January 22, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Overall, I've never had a bad experience. I've gone to *Dr. Kang since he was first at Rockwood. He not only treats me as a patient but as someone he's glad to see. He takes his time and many times goes well beyond just being my doctor, but making me feel as he's really cares about my well being.

January 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Even though it had been some time since I had seen Dr. Kang last, he remembered me and asked follow up questions. He answered all questions clearly, adequately, and understood all of my queries. I did not feel rushed at all and he attended to all of my concerns. I am very very pleased with this provider.

January 11, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor was very thorough and made sure I understood everything before he continued.

December 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kang is great.

December 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been seeing and communicating with Dr. Kang on an ongoing and complicated skin disease issue for four years. He has and continues to be the best example of a kind, compassionate, professional, smart, engaging and effective physician Kaiser has to offer. I have extreme confidence in him and his staff.

December 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang is awesome!

November 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang is a good doctor and have seen years ago.

November 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kang is a great doctor.

October 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The staff and doctor were great.

October 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr.Kang and staff were very kind and answered all my questions. I was very pleased. // I would definitely recommend Dr. Kang. I am so glad I was booked with him. it was very positive.

October 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very impressed by Dr Kang.

October 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kang is the best.

October 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is great!

October 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang and his staff are excellent.

September 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kang is the best derm. dr. I have ever seen.

September 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kang has been my provider for nearly 20 yrs, I feel blessed to have him as my dermotologist

August 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang is an excellent provider, very personable and very competent. I love my KP providers and I am very fortunate to have Dr. Kang as my dermatologist.

August 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang was very nice & was also quite informative using photos & online links. His explanations were much clearer than a former dermatology provider. This will help me be much more compliant -

August 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang was very nice made me feel at ease. He explained things to me along the way. I barely had time to sit down and was called to the exam room, the visit was thourough but quick, and when I left I Could not believe I was in and out that soon and felt I received good care.

August 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang has been the model I use and a consumer and RN as to how a medical office should be conducted. Primary focus on reason for visit but "always" looks for the opportunity to manage something "today" that could wait. Instills confidence and that he is being proactive in my medical care. Exceptional and great use of both of our time.

July 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang & his staff are great!

July 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My photo therapy visits are always good. *Dr. Kang is a very caring person with much concern about my health.

July 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang is a great doctor who really cares about his patients.

July 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

loved Dr Kang. very comfortable and at ease with him.

July 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kang is a superior dermatologist.

June 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciate Doctor Kang being very thorough with his skin cancer check.

May 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have high confidence in Dr. Kang.

May 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang is an outstanding provider and exceptional doctor. He is very personable and gives me all of his attention. I feel like I am his only patient when he's with me. His clinical and communication skills are exceptional as well, which is rare.

May 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kang is fantastic

May 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

180 degree improvement over my last visit with Dr. Kang, which seemed very rushed and cold. This time he was very calm, considerate, and communicative.

May 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Visit was great!

May 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang does an outstanding job!

May 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

In addition to a regularly scheduled exam of a previous melanoma, I had two other issues that Dr Kang addressed with prescription and treatment instructions. He ordered a return appointment to follow up on these new issues.

May 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was a good experience and the Dr. was very profesional.

April 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kang is a very kind, and caring man.

April 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been very satisfied with Kaiser's care and *Dr. Kang is exceptional! He is extremely patient & caring.

April 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang addressed the "primary" reason for my appointment as well as two other related lower priority "by the ways". He treated them just as importantly as the reason that drove the appointment. He even followed up via email to lay a path for follow up should conditions change.

March 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very friendly staff and doctor. I was early. They were able to see me early. Exceeded expectations.

March 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang has gone above and beyond in that he promptly answers emails I have sent with questions about my condition. Very personal and open about ideas.

March 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been seeing Dr. Kang form many years now and he is always informative, helpful and respectful.

March 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kang is very personable & professional.

February 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very efficient! //Dr. Kang is the best!

February 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kang is always efficient, friendly, and caring. He is an exceptional doctor; one of Kaiser's bests.

February 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang ...... Excellent doctor !!!!! :)

February 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kang and his staff are outstanding. I can't imagine going to another doctor. I have complete trust in him.

January 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kang & nurse [name] are the best! [name]

January 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kang is a phenomenal doctor. He addresses concerns with compassion and understanding.

January 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very satisfied with my experience.

January 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang is friendly and personable, and put me at ease.

January 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kang is the very best, have been fortunate to have him for year as my Derm. Doc. // Dr Kang & his nurse is always "extremely" friendly

December 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kang & his nurse have been extremely professional & personable. I look forward to my interactions with both.

December 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang is one of Kaiser's finest doctors! I feel fortunate to have him as my dermatologist!

December 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang was excellent. // very kind very professional

November 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kang is an excellent physician as well as kind and caring.

November 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kang is a very personal person that cares about his pts. and concerns. He takes time to care about you. He is a wonderful person who cares. I would recommend him to all my friends.

October 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang is awesome!! He was so friendly and very knowledgable. He knew right away what my diagnosis was and explained things very clearly. I would highly recommend him to anyone needing a dermatologist!!

October 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good

October 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Out of all the physicians I have seen @ Kaiser in 15 yrs. or so *DR. KANG is by far my favorite!! He is very professional, kind, easy to talk to and caring - all in one! I would recommend him to anyone looking for a good dermatologist.

October 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would rate Dr. Kang among the very best at his profession.

October 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kang is a very FINE dr.

September 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kang is exceptional.

September 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kang is one of the best Doctor's I have ever had

September 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The care was excellent - could not ask for any more.

September 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr Kang should be Kaiser's poster child!!

September 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good experience with *Dr. Kang and staff.

September 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Outstanding

August 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kang is a consummate professional - find a way to clone him!

August 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have enjoyed seeing Dr. Kang over the last number of years, and he is one of the reasons why I continue to keep Kaiser as my insurance carrier.

August 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang and his staff has always been very attentive and efficient in caring for my dermatology needs on multiple appointments to his office

July 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have seen Dr. Kang three times and he has always been polite and attentive to my care.

July 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang, upon my request, removed a mole from my leg. He was very professional and made me feel at ease while he was performing the procedure.

June 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

great Doctor

May 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The Dr explained everything to me as we went along. He is a very nice Dr.

April 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always a good experience with Dr. Kang and his staff.

April 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

An excellent experience. // Dr. Kang is extraordinary in competence.

April 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Kind, articulate, considerate.

April 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kang was very efficient and yet I never felt rushed. he listened to all my questions and answered them. I like him!

April 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kang is a very good doctor!

February 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Kind and competent. Put me at ease.

February 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

DR Kang and Staff were excellent!

February 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Every visit I have had with *Dr. Kang has been a good experience. He has such a good way of dealing with the patient and I have every confidence in him.

February 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang does a great job.

February 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very friendly interactions with doctor and staff. Very competent and helpful. A+

February 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Superlative experience with *Dr. Kang and his assistant [name].

February 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kang & staff are wonderful! The best!

January 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

fantastic and meticulous provider great bedside manner

January 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I wish there was a higher rating for Dr. Kang! He is terrific, and he takes my care very seriously. I am grateful to be his patient.

January 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I especially appreciated the handouts he gave me and that he had looked at my chart and knew he had seen me before. Very warm, kind and respectful.

January 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He didn't spend hardly any time looking at the rashes I came in for. I think his treatment is helping, so he was probably fine, but at the visit, I didn't feel confident that he had assessed the problem.

January 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kang was very thoughtful and let you know before he used the laser, very gentle.

December 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr.Kang is the best!

December 14, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Visit w/Doctor was very good (always has been).

December 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. kang is very good.

December 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kang is such a nice person and always makes me feel very comfortable. He is very thorough in my exam for skin cancer. Thank you Dr. Kang!!!

November 13, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang was friendly but seemed to not listen to my concerns about the the treatment plan and basically prescribed me the exact same treatment plan as before and that didn't work the first time. I felt like he was attempting to treat the diagnosis and not treating the patient.

October 29, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

DR Kang consulted with an associate to help confirm his diagnosis.

October 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang has an extremely abrupt and dismissive demeanor. I'd rather go anywhere else other than coming back to him.

October 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kang is excellent and I appreciate his care and service

October 22, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very good experience

September 29, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I got VERY good care.

September 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang always kind and helpful and knowledgeable

September 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciated the time *Dr. Kang spent addressing my concerns/questions and the care I received at the visit.

September 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kang was very good at following up on my questions on treatment with the KP messaging system and addressing my concerns.

August 31, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born and raised in a beautiful valley on the Hawaiian island of Oahu. I went to college and medical school at the nearby University of Hawaii, then came for training in dermatology at Oregon Health & Science University--and never left. Members often ask me, especially during the dark, cold, wet winter, how I could choose to live in Oregon over Hawaii, but for me, there's no competition. I even convinced my Hawaii-born mother to move near us. Actually, my first visit to Oregon was in high school when my school band was invited to participate in the Rose Festival. Becoming a doctor and specifically, a dermatologist, was a pretty easy decision. Growing up, I spent a lot of time as a patient in dermatologists' offices, which fostered my idea of becoming one myself.

About my practice

I spent many years practicing dermatology in clinics where I was often the only dermatologist. That changed in 2007 when I moved to Sunnybrook Medical Office. I feel lucky to be surrounded by really excellent dermatologists with whom I can discuss cases, and from whom I can get immediate second opinions and learn. We have caring and knowledgeable nurses who greatly help me to care for members. I am a general medical dermatologist, meaning I will see members of all ages and care for any kind of skin condition. I especially enjoy helping members in detecting and removing skin cancers. Members sometimes apologize for coming in with a skin growth that turns out to be normal, but in those cases, I am happy to be able to reassure them that it is fine and should be left alone.

How I thrive

I am married with a son and a daughter. My time away from work consists mainly of family time. I am a tennis player, a snowboarder, and an avid reader of newspapers, books, and magazines.

Medical School ?

University of Hawaii John A Burns School of Medicine
Honolulu

Medical Training ?

Dermatology
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Dermatology
American Board of Dermatology