Kenneth M. Kang MD
4.8 / 5
(503)813-2000
Sunnybrook Medical Offices
9900 SE Sunnyside Rd.
Clackamas, OR 97015

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.8
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 414 Ratings
  • 121 Comments

GREAT personable staff! Love Dr. Kang and his staff -- always friendly and take time to explain things.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always great experience with Dr. Kang

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kang is one of the BEST at KP.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very friendly and displayed knowledge of his study. I liked that Dr. Kang was able to easily communicate to me in lay terms.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang has the best office presence of any provider I have ever had.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang is one of your better clinicians. I hope KP does everything in it's power to continue his service at Kaiser.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

As usual, an excellent experience. Dr. Kang is a great Doc and I appreciate his care/

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very patient and informative

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been seeing Dr Kang for nearly 20 years and can not express my deepest appreciation for his ongoing care

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was exceptionally comfortable with Dr. Kang's handling of my appointment. He was low key, efficient, and exceptionally clear. He made me feel as if my last visit was a few days ago rather than a year in the past.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang was excellent with his efforts to provide outstanding service. He made sure he answered all of my questions and concerns. His efforts definitely lessened any anxiety I was feeling about the laser procedure. I would highly recommend Dr. Kang to others. I am very pleased with the laser results.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'd rank him a 10 out of five for confidence in him!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Even though it had been some time since I had seen Dr. Kang last, he remembered me and asked follow up questions. He answered all questions clearly, adequately, and understood all of my queries. I did not feel rushed at all and he attended to all of my concerns. I am very very pleased with this provider.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kang is great.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Khang is the best!!!! knowledgeable and so helpful and kind!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was fine, *Dr. Kang was extremely kind, considerate, & knowledgeable.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kang is very courteous. Although I no longer practice medicine, he always refers to me as "Dr [name]." That courtesy and politeness is appreciated. I have utmost confidence in Dr Kang.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang was great. He was warm and friendly. He listened to me and I felt like he understood my perspective really well. This has been one of my best Kaiser experiences!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Overall, I've never had a bad experience. I've gone to *Dr. Kang since he was first at Rockwood. He not only treats me as a patient but as someone he's glad to see. He takes his time and many times goes well beyond just being my doctor, but making me feel as he's really cares about my well being.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang asked relevant questions and was prepared after researching my medical history. This was important because I spent two years under the care of another primary care provider.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Really appreciate the ability to email Dr. and his prompt response is comforting.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor was very thorough and made sure I understood everything before he continued.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is great!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang is awesome!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang is a good doctor and have seen years ago.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been seeing and communicating with Dr. Kang on an ongoing and complicated skin disease issue for four years. He has and continues to be the best example of a kind, compassionate, professional, smart, engaging and effective physician Kaiser has to offer. I have extreme confidence in him and his staff.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very impressed by Dr Kang.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kang is the best derm. dr. I have ever seen.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kang is a great doctor.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The staff and doctor were great.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kang is the best.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr.Kang and staff were very kind and answered all my questions. I was very pleased. // I would definitely recommend Dr. Kang. I am so glad I was booked with him. it was very positive.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang was very nice made me feel at ease. He explained things to me along the way. I barely had time to sit down and was called to the exam room, the visit was thourough but quick, and when I left I Could not believe I was in and out that soon and felt I received good care.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang and his staff are excellent.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kang has been my provider for nearly 20 yrs, I feel blessed to have him as my dermotologist

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

loved Dr Kang. very comfortable and at ease with him.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang was very nice & was also quite informative using photos & online links. His explanations were much clearer than a former dermatology provider. This will help me be much more compliant -

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang is an excellent provider, very personable and very competent. I love my KP providers and I am very fortunate to have Dr. Kang as my dermatologist.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang has been the model I use and a consumer and RN as to how a medical office should be conducted. Primary focus on reason for visit but "always" looks for the opportunity to manage something "today" that could wait. Instills confidence and that he is being proactive in my medical care. Exceptional and great use of both of our time.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My photo therapy visits are always good. *Dr. Kang is a very caring person with much concern about my health.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang is a great doctor who really cares about his patients.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang & his staff are great!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang is an outstanding provider and exceptional doctor. He is very personable and gives me all of his attention. I feel like I am his only patient when he's with me. His clinical and communication skills are exceptional as well, which is rare.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kang is a superior dermatologist.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

180 degree improvement over my last visit with Dr. Kang, which seemed very rushed and cold. This time he was very calm, considerate, and communicative.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have high confidence in Dr. Kang.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kang is fantastic

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciate Doctor Kang being very thorough with his skin cancer check.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was a good experience and the Dr. was very profesional.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Visit was great!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

In addition to a regularly scheduled exam of a previous melanoma, I had two other issues that Dr Kang addressed with prescription and treatment instructions. He ordered a return appointment to follow up on these new issues.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang does an outstanding job!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been very satisfied with Kaiser's care and *Dr. Kang is exceptional! He is extremely patient & caring.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kang is a very kind, and caring man.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kang is very personable & professional.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang addressed the "primary" reason for my appointment as well as two other related lower priority "by the ways". He treated them just as importantly as the reason that drove the appointment. He even followed up via email to lay a path for follow up should conditions change.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very friendly staff and doctor. I was early. They were able to see me early. Exceeded expectations.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kang is always efficient, friendly, and caring. He is an exceptional doctor; one of Kaiser's bests.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang has gone above and beyond in that he promptly answers emails I have sent with questions about my condition. Very personal and open about ideas.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kang and his staff are outstanding. I can't imagine going to another doctor. I have complete trust in him.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been seeing Dr. Kang form many years now and he is always informative, helpful and respectful.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kang is a phenomenal doctor. He addresses concerns with compassion and understanding.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very efficient! //Dr. Kang is the best!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kang & nurse [name] are the best! [name]

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang ...... Excellent doctor !!!!! :)

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kang is the very best, have been fortunate to have him for year as my Derm. Doc. // Dr Kang & his nurse is always "extremely" friendly

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang is friendly and personable, and put me at ease.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very satisfied with my experience.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kang & his nurse have been extremely professional & personable. I look forward to my interactions with both.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would rate Dr. Kang among the very best at his profession.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good experience with *Dr. Kang and staff.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kang is a very FINE dr.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang is awesome!! He was so friendly and very knowledgable. He knew right away what my diagnosis was and explained things very clearly. I would highly recommend him to anyone needing a dermatologist!!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr Kang should be Kaiser's poster child!!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang is one of Kaiser's finest doctors! I feel fortunate to have him as my dermatologist!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kang is a very personal person that cares about his pts. and concerns. He takes time to care about you. He is a wonderful person who cares. I would recommend him to all my friends.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kang is exceptional.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kang is an excellent physician as well as kind and caring.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang was excellent. // very kind very professional

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The care was excellent - could not ask for any more.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Out of all the physicians I have seen @ Kaiser in 15 yrs. or so *DR. KANG is by far my favorite!! He is very professional, kind, easy to talk to and caring - all in one! I would recommend him to anyone looking for a good dermatologist.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang and his staff has always been very attentive and efficient in caring for my dermatology needs on multiple appointments to his office

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Outstanding

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kang is a consummate professional - find a way to clone him!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kang is one of the best Doctor's I have ever had

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have enjoyed seeing Dr. Kang over the last number of years, and he is one of the reasons why I continue to keep Kaiser as my insurance carrier.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang, upon my request, removed a mole from my leg. He was very professional and made me feel at ease while he was performing the procedure.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have seen Dr. Kang three times and he has always been polite and attentive to my care.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

great Doctor

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kang was very efficient and yet I never felt rushed. he listened to all my questions and answered them. I like him!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The Dr explained everything to me as we went along. He is a very nice Dr.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always a good experience with Dr. Kang and his staff.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Superlative experience with *Dr. Kang and his assistant [name].

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

An excellent experience. // Dr. Kang is extraordinary in competence.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Kind and competent. Put me at ease.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Every visit I have had with *Dr. Kang has been a good experience. He has such a good way of dealing with the patient and I have every confidence in him.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kang is a very good doctor!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Kind, articulate, considerate.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang does a great job.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

fantastic and meticulous provider great bedside manner

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very friendly interactions with doctor and staff. Very competent and helpful. A+

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kang was very thoughtful and let you know before he used the laser, very gentle.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kang & staff are wonderful! The best!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

DR Kang and Staff were excellent!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I wish there was a higher rating for Dr. Kang! He is terrific, and he takes my care very seriously. I am grateful to be his patient.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He didn't spend hardly any time looking at the rashes I came in for. I think his treatment is helping, so he was probably fine, but at the visit, I didn't feel confident that he had assessed the problem.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I especially appreciated the handouts he gave me and that he had looked at my chart and knew he had seen me before. Very warm, kind and respectful.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. kang is very good.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr.Kang is the best!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

DR Kang consulted with an associate to help confirm his diagnosis.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kang is excellent and I appreciate his care and service

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang was friendly but seemed to not listen to my concerns about the the treatment plan and basically prescribed me the exact same treatment plan as before and that didn't work the first time. I felt like he was attempting to treat the diagnosis and not treating the patient.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang has an extremely abrupt and dismissive demeanor. I'd rather go anywhere else other than coming back to him.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Visit w/Doctor was very good (always has been).

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kang is such a nice person and always makes me feel very comfortable. He is very thorough in my exam for skin cancer. Thank you Dr. Kang!!!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I got VERY good care.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kang was very good at following up on my questions on treatment with the KP messaging system and addressing my concerns.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciated the time *Dr. Kang spent addressing my concerns/questions and the care I received at the visit.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kang always kind and helpful and knowledgeable

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very good experience

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born and raised in a beautiful valley on the Hawaiian island of Oahu. I went to college and medical school at the nearby University of Hawaii, then came for training in dermatology at Oregon Health & Science University--and never left. Members often ask me, especially during the dark, cold, wet winter, how I could choose to live in Oregon over Hawaii, but for me, there's no competition. I even convinced my Hawaii-born mother to move near us. Actually, my first visit to Oregon was in high school when my school band was invited to participate in the Rose Festival. Becoming a doctor and specifically, a dermatologist, was a pretty easy decision. Growing up, I spent a lot of time as a patient in dermatologists' offices, which fostered my idea of becoming one myself.

About my practice

I spent many years practicing dermatology in clinics where I was often the only dermatologist. That changed in 2007 when I moved to Sunnybrook Medical Office. I feel lucky to be surrounded by really excellent dermatologists with whom I can discuss cases, and from whom I can get immediate second opinions and learn. We have caring and knowledgeable nurses who greatly help me to care for members. I am a general medical dermatologist, meaning I will see members of all ages and care for any kind of skin condition. I especially enjoy helping members in detecting and removing skin cancers. Members sometimes apologize for coming in with a skin growth that turns out to be normal, but in those cases, I am happy to be able to reassure them that it is fine and should be left alone.

How I thrive

I am married with a son and a daughter. My time away from work consists mainly of family time. I am a tennis player, a snowboarder, and an avid reader of newspapers, books, and magazines.

Medical School ?

University of Hawaii John A Burns School of Medicine
Honolulu

Medical Training ?

Dermatology
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Dermatology
American Board of Dermatology