Kim M. Finucan OD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Rockwood Medical Office
19500 SE Stark St.
Portland, OR 97233

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 185 Ratings
  • 52 Comments

*Dr. Finucan is an excellent optometrist. Her exam was very thorough and she patiently answered my questions. I appreciate that she booked a follow up appointment to verify that the problem was resolved.

December 28, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Extremely happy with *Dr. Finucan and others assisting her.

December 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This doctor is professional, informative and friendly. She exemplifies customer service and a the kind of service all doctors should be providing their patients.

December 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

the doctor and her assistance were very attentive and sincere. I'd recommend them to any of my family member in the future. thank you so much

November 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

honestly the best provider I've ever had in my 20+ years at Kaiser. she answers all concerns and worries with next steps forward and plan of care

November 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Finucan and her team represent the ultimate in patient-centered care and treatment. She has aggressively treated the glaucoma that she originally diagnosed in She is also in regular consultation with glaucoma specialists and keeps me up to speed on all developments. I have great confidence in and respect for this entire process. Thank you! [name]

November 12, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good

November 07, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Kim was friendly and made everything quick and easy!

November 07, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Funican was cordial and professional. she provided guidance with my optical options.

October 10, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Kim was very thorough, careful, took her time to do a quality exam and referred me for further examination by an ophthalmologist.

September 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Finucan has been my optometrist for years. She is very personable, clear in explaining any problems,v and very through. Her input in keeping the quality of my vision is invaluable. Excellent physician.

August 29, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I already have referred some one to see this provider

August 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

great doc. she informed me about all possibilities and did very thorough exam. I enjoyed the visit, despite the shocking news I received.

July 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I've had this doctor for years now and I am thoroughly satisfied with the service.

July 18, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This eye appt. went very well. Finucan is great!

July 18, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Finucan spent considerable time with me before AND after several tests conducted during the visit. She provided detailed explanations regarding the progression of my Glaucoma, along with a well-mapped our plan for future monitoring and treatment. She also answered ALL of my questions thoroughly and in very understandable terms.

July 06, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kim is an excellent care provider this was the first time I had the opportunity to be attended by her and I was very satisfy. I had a very bad experience in the past with another eye doctor and had low expectations coming to the clinic but *Dr. Kim proved me that others always a better option. She is great!

January 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Finucan is always very professional but friendly and always asks if I am having any problems with the drops.

September 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Finucan is a very thorough physician. She is caring, patient, and very informative. In the time care was provided by *Dr. Finucan, I have received exceptional attention and care!

September 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Finucan is very thorough through out the exam and in following up on new issues. She is also very helpful in giving options I could do on a regular basis at home that would help to alleviate symptoms.

August 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kim Finucan explained my Glaucoma diagnosis in great detail, including plans for treatment, medication, and future monitoring. Especially helpful was her use of the digital images of my test results

August 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This dr. may have been naturally more timid and therefore more reserved or quiet.

June 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very good thanks

June 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr was very knowledgeable and helpful.

June 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent experience Dr. Finucan is very thorough, friendly and pleasant.

May 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kim Finucan conducted or facilitated several tests regarding possible glaucoma. She also scheduled further tests and procedures for this summer in order to establish the best course of treatment/follow-up. She showed me via computer how my status had changed over the last year. Very thorough and relatable. // Dr. Finucan and her staff were very attentive and showed genuine concern for my health and well-being.

May 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The experience was good from start to finish. The doctor's exam was very thorough and informative.

May 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Exceptional concern and professionalism

May 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Finucan is always friendly and supportive and gives me information if it is necessary for treatment.

February 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

we discussed a concerned problem I feel confident in her ablities

January 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Finucans has a very easy and calm manner.

January 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was really nice, answered all of my questions, and did her job perfesionally

November 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr. Finucan and her support staff set the bar high. Genuine concern for the patients health, comfort, and education.

October 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Finucan is always very open and friendly and explains what she is doing and why.

September 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciate the friendly manner of staff as well as their professionalism. *Dr. Finucan is very thorough and includes me in discussions about her findings, diagnosis, and care. I am very thankful to have her as my eye doctor as I am concerned about my future in regards to my vision.

August 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Kim Finucan. This is my second visit with her and she is very good, polite informative and listens to my concerns.

July 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Really wonderful experience.

June 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Finucan is always very friendly and efficient. She always explains what she is going to do.

June 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Finucan listened to all my questions & carefully answered them. She explained each part of the exam.

May 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

she was super as was her assistant

May 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. was very sweet and answered all my questions.

May 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent service from *Dr. Finocan, attentive, caring, understanding and supportive! Thank you love.

May 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great

January 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt no pressure to choose one option over another, but was provided with clear instructions on how to get the eye glasses I need.

January 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very good

September 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Finucan was thorough & kind, she called me later with test results & recommendations. I feel she really cares!

August 31, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr.Finucan and I think her name was [name] did very good job !

August 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Care provider very helpful.

August 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent experience.

August 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Level of care was exceptional and attention was immediate. Doctor and support crew were in top form.

August 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Finucan is a real pro; she knew her stuff, answered all my questions, and made this a very helpful appointment.

August 12, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Like Kim Finucan! // Quickly followed by recommended treatment in another clinic and referred back to Finucan for f/u - good continuity of care

August 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am originally from the Puget Sound, Washington area. I attended college at Western Washington University in Bellingham and completed my doctorate in optometry at The New England College of Optometry in Boston, Massachusetts. After optometry school, I completed a residency program at the Portland VA Medical Center in Oregon. I enjoy living in the Portland area and working at Kaiser Permanente as part of our collective health care team.

About my practice

I practice primary care optometry and occasionally care for patients in the Ophthalmology Department. My day ranges from routine eye appointments and pediatric exams to managing eye diseases and eye emergencies.

How I thrive

I enjoy spending my time with friends and family, traveling, gardening, cooking, sailing, and doing photography.

Medical School ?

New England College of Optometry
Boston

Medical Training ?

Optometry
Portland Veterans Affairs Medical Center
Portland OR

Optometry
New England College of Optometry
Boston MA

Board Certification ?