Kyle A. Schwalbe OD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Salmon Creek Medical Office
14406 NE 20th Ave.
Vancouver, WA 98686

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 392 Ratings
  • 95 Comments

Dr Scwalbe is excellent as well as his staff

July 16, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Schwalbe is an outstanding physician, personality, bedside manner, etc are excellent. One of the nicest doctors I have met, very knowledgeable but also human and approachable

July 12, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Schwabe? has excellent communication skills.

July 10, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Schwalbe and the staff at this clinic are wonderful. I would have a hard time recalling any better experience with any clinic visit. Sincerely, [name]

June 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very awesome job done by all doc. answered all my?

June 12, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very impressed with *Dr. Schwalbe I will be [age] this year, and have had many eye doctors over the years. He showed excellent knowledge and had a very caring attitude.

June 12, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor is very good and puts you at ease, takes time and explains everything. This was an excellent experience and one of the best eye exams I have ever had.

May 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

had a great conversation.

May 18, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Schwalbe was very courteous, friendly, and professional during his examination of my eyes. His instructions and interpretations of the results of each exam were clear and understandable. His prognosis for my eyes was clear. I was comfortable during all of the visit.

May 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Kyle was stellar! I was especially delighted that he introduced himself as Kyle. Clearly he had the knowledge and skills, but he also made me feel seen as a "person", not just a "patient". This is quite rare. I have already discussed his special approach with my friends and would recommend him very highly whenever the opportunity arises.

April 24, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent care and concernfull explanation of eye scan resultsall questions answered thoroughly an excellent visitleft knowing my care is important to the Drand I am in "good hands"

March 13, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This optometrist was the nicest of all the others I've seen in the past. I hope he will be there the next time I go.

March 13, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr was very helpful and informative.

March 09, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Schwalbe has a great caring personality. He did not have a tech on the day of my visit & had to do everything himself & the visit still went very smoothly. Great eye doctor.

March 09, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Although we live in [other city], and the Longview facility is closer to my home, I choose to drive to Salmon Creek to see Dr. Schwalbe. I have complete faith and confidence in his treatment and knowledge of my needs.

March 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

complete confidence in this provider...excellent!!!

February 26, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is just the best!

February 09, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Schwalbe has a great demeanor and is easy to talk to, very thorough in explanations & helpful with describing various options available for treatment.

February 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr Kyle was very good and gave me his attention and was very helpful

January 29, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Schwab was very knowledgable, professional and personable.

January 18, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent care.

January 09, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent experience

January 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Schwalbe was very patient in getting my prescription correct. // Dr. Schwalbe was wonderful!

December 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent experience, everyone was nice and knowledgeable....the dr was very easy to talk to and explained everything clearly.

November 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good

November 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was really pleased with my eye doctor. He is excellent.

November 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Schwalbe and his assistant [name] are amazing! Friendly, courtesy, professional and extremely through. Everything you couldever hope for in a health care professional. Kaiser is lucky to have them and I am blessed to have them as part of my health care team.

November 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had lots of questions about future issues with cataracts which were thoroughly answered.

November 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I drive extra miles to see *Dr. Schwalbe as does my husband. I feel confident I am getting a good eye exam.

November 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Schwalbe is amazing professional, thorough and very friendly as well as patient orientated!

October 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent

October 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

above and beyond for this appointment. my questions were welcomed...even the not so bright questions. Just a great appointment !

October 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Schwalbe was knowledgeable and friendly, and provided me with excellent information and answers to all my questions during my visit.

September 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Outstanding doctor.

September 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Schwalbe was very courteous, informative and thorough in his exam and explanation of my eye conditions.

August 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

the best

August 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I hope that I will get to see the same doctor again. I felt like he cared, was very professional and I was confident he knew what he was doing.

June 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very happy with Dr Schwalbe. Dr. Schwalbe is extremely knowledgeable and I am happy to trust my eyes to his care!

May 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciate all the time *Kyle Schwalbe spent examining and explaining my problem. Good person. Thank you. [name]

April 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm [age] old and I've never had such a complete and thorough exam. Beyond interest in helping me that no Optometrist has ever shown me before. He is a treasure.

March 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciate the information and assurance I was provided at this visit. I had thought something was more problematic, but Dr. assured me that I could get handle on my dry eyes. Very relieved after this appointment.

March 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is a good listener, professional, and thorough. I felt that I was taken care of very well.

February 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Schwable has excellent bedside manner and a good sense of humor. He took the time to understand my life style and match glass options to meet them.

February 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was terrific and I appreciated all the info he gave me.

February 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor is very professional and knows what he is doing. I am sorry to have a degenerating condition, but he explained what I can do to help myself.

January 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

OUTSTANDING!! Very pleasant experience!

January 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent doctor; good communicator; friendly; skillful.

January 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was awesome! Already told my co workers to go see him!!

December 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very pleased with the care I received.

December 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Schwalbe is a wonderfully polite, thorough, excellent Dr.

December 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Kyle did a great job. Because of severe floaters in one eye, I often needed to ask for a repeat on the lens adjustments ("Which is better, number one or number 2?"). Although this obviously took extra time, he encouraged me to do so as often as necessary. As a result, I felt I got an especially good correction.

December 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Schwalbe did a very thorough examination of my eyes.

November 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel *Dr. Schwalbe gave me good information about a change in my prescription. It helped me anticipated an adjustment period for my new glasses.

November 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr is perfect for me! Diagnosed the problem correctly and treatment was effective. thanks

October 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was a "breath of fresh air."

October 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was really pleased with my interaction with this doctor. he was personable and very helpful.

October 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor was personable and professional, answering my questions very well.thanks for the good service!

September 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very pleased with the doctor and the way he responded to me.

September 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent professional and personal skills

September 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great information shared and listened to my questions.

August 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very friendly and knowledgable about low vision. Really good with ideas of aids that would help.

August 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Kyle Schwalbe is great. Took time to answer my questions.

August 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was excellent, explained the tests and his findings, made me at ease and I would absolutely recommend him to others.

August 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kyle is wonderful. Can't say enough about hi

July 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Schwalbe is the best.

June 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good explanation for my vision issues. Made me feel better and less worried about the changes.

June 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor was very personable and did an outstanding job with regard to my visit.

June 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Kyle is a very nice person.

June 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was the first time I saw this Dr. and I was very pleased. I went in for a eye checkup and he was very easy to understand. I am so pleased with the way I can now see with my new glasses. I will make it a point to get Dr. Schwalbe for my next visit.

May 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Schwalbe is very good at answering my questions and concerns in a way that I can easily understand.

May 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent communicator; didn't constantly repeat the same answer but rather interpreted my questions and informed accordingly. Thorough.

May 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Kyle is a very courteous person and makes suer he studies the exams before prescribing meds. He is concerned about the condition of my eyes, explains everything. Doesn't just prescribe meds until he is sure of the diagnosis. Keep him.

April 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Kyle is very thorough and explains everything. He is an asset to the optometry dept. Hope he stays a long time.

April 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is funny.

April 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Best Eye exam experience ever. Patient, thorough, informative, and knowledgeable.

April 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent

March 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was late for my appointment, a day late, the eye doctor, fit me in and made my day. Tell him, Thank you

March 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Absolutely love this provider. Very thorough, easy to speak with.

March 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Schwalbe was very personable, pleasant and thorough. I enjoyed having him as my doctor and will ask for him in the future.

March 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent dr. - really enjoyed his personality & information.

February 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had a very positive experience. The doctor was extremely nice, caring & professional. I would see him again & recommend him.

February 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent job!

February 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good

January 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

A great experience!!

December 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is very good and I HAVE recommended him.

November 13, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Schwab is a very caring and very specific about your problem,he is the dr. I want to check my eyes.

November 12, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Kyle showed real interest and answered questions well. He does an outstanding job

November 06, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Schwalbe is one of my favorite care providers. In the time I have been seeing him, he has shared more information about my vision issues than any of the others I have seen. He is personable, knowledgeable and has excellent communication skills.

November 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Was very informative, he took time to explain what he was checking for and the results, and how I was to treat my eye problems.

October 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

really liked the doctor!

October 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I liked this doctor a lot & would definitely recommend him.

October 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Kyle Schwalbe is very thorough, patient and professional.

October 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was impressed with the care and concern given by this care provider. // The Doctor himself explained to me how long a wait there would be and why.

September 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very accommodating when an appointment was needed in a short time. The doctor was excellent and explained the situation very well.

September 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Schwalbe was one of the best I have seen. I recommend him highly.

August 14, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born in a small town in Western North Dakota and raised on the family cattle ranch where I quickly learned the value of hard work. Being the oldest of three brothers taught me to be tough. Following high school, I went on to complete an undergraduate degree in zoology at North Dakota State University and continued on to Forest Grove, Oregon where I earned the Doctor of Optometry degree from Pacific University. Following graduation from Pacific University, I completed residency training in ocular disease and primary care optometry at the Roseburg Veteran's Affairs (VA) Medical Center in Roseburg, Oregon. I'm a transplant to the Pacific Northwest but have come to love it and wouldn't want to be anywhere else.

About my practice

Many times in my life I have found myself to be a patient, which gives me a good opportunity to see things from the other side of the exam chair, gain perspective on what it means to be a good provider of healthcare and what I want from my own visits. I've found that I want a doctor that listens, understands my concerns and goals, is considerate and conscientious, up to date on current treatments and involves me in decision making. These are the things that are important to me as a patient and the things I make a priority as a provider. I want to make sure members of Kaiser Permanente get the best eye care available anywhere. I think we are lucky to have a great eye care team that can provide that care.

How I thrive

I am lucky to enjoy my job, I like helping people get the best from their vision so they too may thrive. I am happy being involved in research that advances vision science and improves lives. I am also very lucky to enjoy where I live. In my free time I enjoy spending time with my wonderful wife, mountain biking, hiking, climbing, fishing, snowshoeing, and exploring the Pacific Northwest from the Coast to the Cascades and beyond. These are the things that help me thrive!

Medical School ?

Pacific University
Forest Grove

Medical Training ?

Optometry
Roseburg Veteran's Hospital
Roseburg OR

Optometry
Pacific University
Forest Grove OR

Board Certification ?