Lauren E. Kaplan DO
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office East
3550 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.2
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 167 Ratings
  • 72 Comments

I FEEL fortunate to have *Dr. Kaplan as my physician.

July 03, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr Kaplan is the best!!!

March 14, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kaplan is amazing!

March 14, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was very helpful.

January 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kaplan is thorough, sincere, caring, well educated, and communicates perfectly. For the first time since I've been diagnosed with severe Fibromyalgia, a Kaiser doctor understands. She was highly recommended by two other doctors when I was ready to give up.

January 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I look forward to a long relationship with my PCP.

January 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Wonderful doctor!!

December 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr Kaplan was absolutely wonderful. thebestmedical experince I have ever had and Kaiser is lucky to have her.

December 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kaplan is the best. Charming, knowledgeable, very thorough. When she speaks to you, you feel like you are her only patient.

December 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I needed extra time for my appointment and *Dr. Kaplan took the time to be sure I was OK.

December 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Care provider attentive & courteous about how to resolve my concerns.

December 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kaplan was very easy to talk to and knowledgeable. My appointment didn't feel rushed.

November 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Lauren Kaplan is the best doctor I've ever had. She's smart, kind, intuitive and always makes me feel well cared for. Kaiser is lucky to have her on the team!

October 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I learned a lot from my visit with *Dr. Kaplan. She gave me a lot of information about dealing with my osteoporosis. She is very knowledgeable and caring. I have implemented many of her suggestions and feel confident that I can control the osteoporosis problem. I certainly would recommend her to others. She has practical advice that is easily attainable.

October 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This doctor really took time to interact with me and discuss my concerns about medications and my adverse reactions to many medications.

October 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love *Dr. Kaplan. She had better never retire. She is very compassionate and seem to keep up on things.

October 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Lauren is a very caring knowledgeable practitioner.

October 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Lauren Kaplan is BY FAR the most helpful and empathetic medical professional I have ever interacted with. I truly mean that!

October 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was a first meet ... I went through several docs in several locations. On your scale of 1-5 she is a 10! She asked good questions to get to know me, provided suggestions directed at me and my life style. I feel totally comfortable and excited to work with Dr. K. Thanks KP you did a great job in hiring!

September 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The care provided @ my introductory visit with *Dr. Kaplan was better than "very good" - she was excellent. As an RN, I had saved up several questions/concerns to accomplish @ one appointment. *Dr. Kaplan addressed all my needs and implemented a care plan to resolve. I'm sure she spent more than the allotted time, and resolved issues I needed - efficient and caring all in a short (first) appointment. A winner!

August 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kaplan is wonderful!

August 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kaplan was very thorough and concerned. She was very generous with her time and input.

August 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kaplan does such a great job. i appreciate how she takes her time when talking to me and never seems rushed. She always has me take measures to improve my health instead of just prescribing medications. so glad to have her as my primary

July 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor Kaplan gave me a thorough exam, she was patient and kind, she left the room to consult with another department about follow up tests.

June 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kaplan is great. She is so caring and made me feel like I wasn't crazy. She made me feel very comfortable and welcome as a patient.

June 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kaplan is very professional and does an excellent job. Thank you [name]

June 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kaplan is the best. She listens and talk me through my concerns. Would not eant to go to anyone else.

May 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kaplan is very good. I trust her and I am picky as I am a retired RN.

March 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kaplan is exceptional. I've never wanted to "hang-out" at the doctor, but warmth & relatively make me feel so comfortable! Her knowledge is clearly wide and her scope of understanding different treatments is also impressive.

March 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Best primary care doctor I've had at Kaiser. Would definitely recommend her!

March 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kaplan is wonderful. looking forward to working with her on my complex health condition. feel seen, validated and trust her compassion and intelligence through the process.

February 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kaplan is awesome. Personable, open, inclusive, felt like I could be completely open with her and understood everything we talked about

February 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kaplan is a very competent, caring person, the way all doctors should be.

February 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

great first impression. happy I chose Dr. Kaplan.

February 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like *Dr. Kaplan.

February 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love my PCP. She is empathetic, supportive, and listens carefully to my concerns. Excellent provider.

December 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

perfect experience with Dr Kaplan

October 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. made me feel she really cares about my health.

October 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first visit with *Dr. Kaplan. I was very comfortable with her and she LISTENED and responded to my concerns. I am pleased that I selected her as my physician.

August 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kaplan is the perfect provider for me. She listens, understands my feelings and objectives, is uplifting and supportive. I thought my previous PCP, [name] was perfect, and she was; Dr. Kaplan is even more perfect.

August 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My first time meeting Dr. Kaplan for a basic check-up and am glad to establish contact. I realize I am a bit nervous around hospitals due to my own personal history but I felt she was friendly, she listened to my concerns and that we had a dialogue which I'm not used to at hospitals. I had a positive experience and feel comfortable in her care, which makes it easier not to procrastinate future visits.

July 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Exceptional treatment of care, questions and treatment. Feel fortunate to be on Dr. Kaplan's panel.

July 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kaplan was great.

July 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I recommend *Dr. Kaplan & her staff.

May 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

First time visit with this doctor; previous care provider changed clinic practice. I mentioned concern about my blood pressure meds to *Dr. Kaplan. She reviewed them with me & changed the dosage on one of them & I'm doing much better. She showed genuine concern for my concerns.

April 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel very fortunately to have Dr. Kaplan as my primary care physician.

March 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel very fortunate to have found Dr. Kaplan; She is bright, intuitive, and respectful. I could not have asked for more.

March 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor responded to the pain I had experienced for 4-5 days. She scheduled an ultrasound and lab work to help diagnose.

February 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent visit with Dr. Kaplan. Very friendly, professional. I would recommend her highly to anyone. Very much enjoyed getting to know her.

February 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kaplan was super professional, extremely knowledgable and made me feel comfortable. I was confident that I was receiving excellent care the whole time.

February 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Had a wonderful first experience with Dr. Kaplan! // Dr. Kaplan is amazing!

February 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My care provider ROCKS!!

February 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kaplan is awesome. By far the most engaged and approachable doctor I've ever had.

January 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kaplan is the greatest doctor I've had the experience of working with.

January 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I switched insurance carriers to be able to go back and get care from Dr. Kaplan. She has wonderful bedside manner and I am so grateful she's my doctor.

January 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm happy with care provided - Thanks, ______.

January 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kaplan, like my previous doctor, is amazing in her ability to understand my concerns and how best to address them, making me feel committed to my health, offering care and suggestions that are sensitive to and consistent with what I have said is important to me.

January 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kaplan is fantastic!

December 31, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Totally satisfied w Dr. Kapland. Impressed w her knowledge and her interaction w me.

December 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent care provider - caring, competent, empathetic.

December 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kaplan is the best!

December 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had an exceptionally good experience with Dr. Kaplan and her nurse assistant

November 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kaplan is caring, compassionate, and knowledgeable. I feel very confident in her ability to help me manage my fibromyalgia.

October 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kaplan is a superior physician. She has been generous with her knowledge and advice, supportive in her recommendations and follow- thru. Her suggestions have led me to a better health care plan for myself. I consider myself lucky to have her as my primary care physician.

October 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good experience.

October 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciated the doctor explaining natural care options, not just western medicine.

October 06, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

An excellent, caring Dr. I am a nurse so she treats me as a professional

October 05, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

i cant imagine a better provider. this was my first visit with Dr. Kaplan. she was very easy to talk to.

September 22, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Kinda long wait for after-visit summary, but may have been cause doc was checking a resource for me. // At least the doc and her assistant didn't treat me like as if I had no education

September 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am frustrated about the visit. I feel I paid for nothing but she did allow for me to see a physical therapist where I believe I will find out about what is really wrong with me. She used a term for my diagnosis, that I was looking forward to researching but she did not put that term on my after visit write up. I was counting on that. The after visit write up was very disappointing.

September 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

In the past my Annual Exam was more detailed. My GYN Doctor did a much more thorough exam than what I experienced with my Kaiser Doctor. Since I am now good for 5 years until I can have my next Annual, I would have been given more peace of mind had my doctor been more thorough. I really like my Care Provider, but in this case I would have been happier with a little more time invested on Kaiser's part about my care regarding this matter.

September 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I just transferred my care to Dr. Kaplan and have had two appointments with her. I have found her to be caring, concerned and extremly knowlegable and I feel that I am involved in decisions about my care.

August 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born and raised in Phoenix, Arizona before attending the University of Michigan where I studied environmental science and guided outdoor trips. I ultimately decided to switch my focus to medicine and returned to Arizona for medical school. I completed my residency at Oregon Health & Science University and joined Kaiser Permanente the following year.

About my practice

My passion lies in promoting happiness and preventing disease through a healthy lifestyle. As an Osteopathic physician, I believe the body has an innate ability to heal itself and the goal of medicine is to optimize all factors, both physical and emotional, to aid this process. I do not perform osteopathic manipulation but tend towards a more individualized, natural, and holistic approach. I have a strong interest in nutrition and integrative medicine and I value a strong patient-doctor partnership.

How I thrive

I try to practice the lifestyle I preach. I enjoy running, hiking, yoga, and gardening.

Medical School ?

Arizona College of Osteopathic Medicine
Glendale

Medical Training ?

Internal Medicine
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine