Lauren E. Kaplan DO
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office East
3550 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.2
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 236 Ratings
  • 58 Comments

*Lauren Kaplan was very friendly, efficient, and knowledgeable. This was my first visit with her. The visit was for a complete physical. I appreciated the phone conversation to go over my lab work.

August 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kaplan is a great doctor. I believe she is knowledgeable, a great listener, _____ and helpful!

August 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kaplan does such a great job. i appreciate how she takes her time when talking to me and never seems rushed. She always has me take measures to improve my health instead of just prescribing medications. so glad to have her as my primary

July 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor Kaplan gave me a thorough exam, she was patient and kind, she left the room to consult with another department about follow up tests.

June 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kaplan is great. She is so caring and made me feel like I wasn't crazy. She made me feel very comfortable and welcome as a patient.

June 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kaplan is very professional and does an excellent job. Thank you [name]

June 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kaplan is the best. She listens and talk me through my concerns. Would not eant to go to anyone else.

May 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kaplan was WONDERFUL. I was incredibly impressed by her manner & sensitivity. She was amazing.

May 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kaplan is very good. I trust her and I am picky as I am a retired RN.

March 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have had many (& only) outstanding primary care providers at Kaiser over my 40-year membership. But none has been as good as *Dr. Lauren Kaplan. In every possible way her care had delighted me & improved my health & my life. I especially appreciate how well she hears, understands & responds to my concerns & situation.

March 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kaplan is exceptional. I've never wanted to "hang-out" at the doctor, but warmth & relatively make me feel so comfortable! Her knowledge is clearly wide and her scope of understanding different treatments is also impressive.

March 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Best primary care doctor I've had at Kaiser. Would definitely recommend her!

March 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kaplan is wonderful. looking forward to working with her on my complex health condition. feel seen, validated and trust her compassion and intelligence through the process.

February 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kaplan is awesome. Personable, open, inclusive, felt like I could be completely open with her and understood everything we talked about

February 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*DR. KAPLAN was exceptional in her care! It was my first appointment and she took the time we needed to cover all the issues as well as being genuinely caring and interested in helping me. Its rare to find a doctor who is friendly, genuine, kind and caring in such a personal way and it made me feel like a real person who is heard, understood & is in good hands. I also love that she is open to holistic _____ medicine. She was so great that I recommended her to my friend!

February 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kaplan is a very competent, caring person, the way all doctors should be.

February 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

great first impression. happy I chose Dr. Kaplan.

February 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like *Dr. Kaplan.

February 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Thorough, did family history & covered preventive action items.

January 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love my PCP. She is empathetic, supportive, and listens carefully to my concerns. Excellent provider.

December 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kaplan and her assistant were very nice.

November 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

perfect experience with Dr Kaplan

October 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. made me feel she really cares about my health.

October 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first visit with *Dr. Kaplan. I was very comfortable with her and she LISTENED and responded to my concerns. I am pleased that I selected her as my physician.

August 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kaplan is the perfect provider for me. She listens, understands my feelings and objectives, is uplifting and supportive. I thought my previous PCP, [name] was perfect, and she was; Dr. Kaplan is even more perfect.

August 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My first time meeting Dr. Kaplan for a basic check-up and am glad to establish contact. I realize I am a bit nervous around hospitals due to my own personal history but I felt she was friendly, she listened to my concerns and that we had a dialogue which I'm not used to at hospitals. I had a positive experience and feel comfortable in her care, which makes it easier not to procrastinate future visits.

July 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Exceptional treatment of care, questions and treatment. Feel fortunate to be on Dr. Kaplan's panel.

July 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kaplan was great.

July 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kaplan shows real concern for her patients. She listens to what I have to say, and is very good answering email questions & requests.

May 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I recommend *Dr. Kaplan & her staff.

May 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

First time visit with this doctor; previous care provider changed clinic practice. I mentioned concern about my blood pressure meds to *Dr. Kaplan. She reviewed them with me & changed the dosage on one of them & I'm doing much better. She showed genuine concern for my concerns.

April 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel very fortunately to have Dr. Kaplan as my primary care physician.

March 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel very fortunate to have found Dr. Kaplan; She is bright, intuitive, and respectful. I could not have asked for more.

March 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor responded to the pain I had experienced for 4-5 days. She scheduled an ultrasound and lab work to help diagnose.

February 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent visit with Dr. Kaplan. Very friendly, professional. I would recommend her highly to anyone. Very much enjoyed getting to know her.

February 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kaplan was super professional, extremely knowledgable and made me feel comfortable. I was confident that I was receiving excellent care the whole time.

February 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Had a wonderful first experience with Dr. Kaplan! // Dr. Kaplan is amazing!

February 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My care provider ROCKS!!

February 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kaplan is awesome. By far the most engaged and approachable doctor I've ever had.

January 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kaplan is the greatest doctor I've had the experience of working with.

January 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I switched insurance carriers to be able to go back and get care from Dr. Kaplan. She has wonderful bedside manner and I am so grateful she's my doctor.

January 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm happy with care provided - Thanks, ______.

January 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kaplan, like my previous doctor, is amazing in her ability to understand my concerns and how best to address them, making me feel committed to my health, offering care and suggestions that are sensitive to and consistent with what I have said is important to me.

January 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kaplan is fantastic!

December 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Totally satisfied w Dr. Kapland. Impressed w her knowledge and her interaction w me.

December 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent care provider - caring, competent, empathetic.

December 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kaplan is the best!

December 06, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had an exceptionally good experience with Dr. Kaplan and her nurse assistant

November 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kaplan is caring, compassionate, and knowledgeable. I feel very confident in her ability to help me manage my fibromyalgia.

October 22, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kaplan is a superior physician. She has been generous with her knowledge and advice, supportive in her recommendations and follow- thru. Her suggestions have led me to a better health care plan for myself. I consider myself lucky to have her as my primary care physician.

October 22, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good experience.

October 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciated the doctor explaining natural care options, not just western medicine.

October 05, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

An excellent, caring Dr. I am a nurse so she treats me as a professional

October 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

i cant imagine a better provider. this was my first visit with Dr. Kaplan. she was very easy to talk to.

September 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Kinda long wait for after-visit summary, but may have been cause doc was checking a resource for me. // At least the doc and her assistant didn't treat me like as if I had no education

September 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am frustrated about the visit. I feel I paid for nothing but she did allow for me to see a physical therapist where I believe I will find out about what is really wrong with me. She used a term for my diagnosis, that I was looking forward to researching but she did not put that term on my after visit write up. I was counting on that. The after visit write up was very disappointing.

September 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

In the past my Annual Exam was more detailed. My GYN Doctor did a much more thorough exam than what I experienced with my Kaiser Doctor. Since I am now good for 5 years until I can have my next Annual, I would have been given more peace of mind had my doctor been more thorough. I really like my Care Provider, but in this case I would have been happier with a little more time invested on Kaiser's part about my care regarding this matter.

September 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I just transferred my care to Dr. Kaplan and have had two appointments with her. I have found her to be caring, concerned and extremly knowlegable and I feel that I am involved in decisions about my care.

August 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born and raised in Phoenix, Arizona before attending the University of Michigan where I studied environmental science and guided outdoor trips. I ultimately decided to switch my focus to medicine and returned to Arizona for medical school. I completed my residency at Oregon Health & Science University and joined Kaiser Permanente the following year.

About my practice

My passion lies in promoting happiness and preventing disease through a healthy lifestyle. As an Osteopathic physician, I believe the body has an innate ability to heal itself and the goal of medicine is to optimize all factors, both physical and emotional, to aid this process. I do not perform osteopathic manipulation but tend towards a more individualized, natural, and holistic approach. I have a strong interest in nutrition and integrative medicine and I value a strong patient-doctor partnership.

How I thrive

I try to practice the lifestyle I preach. I enjoy running, hiking, yoga, and gardening.

Medical School ?

Arizona College of Osteopathic Medicine
Glendale

Medical Training ?

Internal Medicine
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine