Laurie Hurtado Vessely MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office Central
3600 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 152 Ratings
  • 29 Comments

Dr was friendly and empathetic.

June 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Vessely is an amazing doctor - very thorough.

June 14, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Vessely is always so upbeat and easy to talk to. She always makes me feel like I'm her most important patient.

June 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Vessley is amazing - She the main reason we stick with Kaiser. Very caring, spends a lot of time looking into my issues. She is the BEST!

May 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She treats me like a participant in my healthcare - which I AM! Very happy to see that she personally reviewed my US, not just read a report, and then we talked about options and both of our comfort levels in timing of my next scan.

January 25, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I think she is a very good doctor. She has helped me a lot. Thank you. [name]

January 04, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Vessely and her nurse/assistant put my mind at ease for the procedure I had done and were very through. *Dr. Vessely was very concerned about my comfort and explained in a way I could understand, the specifics of the procedure.

December 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Laurie, the Dr. who performed my procedure talked to me and was cheerful and friendly. I had a very pleasant experience despite the fact that they put long needles in my neck!

September 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Vessely has always been/seemed genuinely concerned/attentive regarding my care. She comes highly recommended by me.

September 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Vessely and her staff were friendly and attentive to my needs. They were considerate of my concerns. Being transgendered, I appreciated that they were concerned about using my desired pronouns.

July 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Vessely was extremely thorough and explained my situation in a very clear manner.

July 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Vessely & the group are very good & helpful.

June 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My experience with the staff at the clinic was excellent. Dr. Vesely and [name] both made me relax throughout my procedure. They made me feel comfortable, even though I don't like needles.

May 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hurtado Vessely is the ultimate professional.

April 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very pleased w/my care from *Dr. Vessley. She is courteous and thorough and willing to answer any/all questions or concerns.

April 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Laurie Vessely and staff were professional with warn personalities. Showing interest towards my well being with good listening , explaining medical follow up for my osteoporosis work up. I was confident in answers and future follow up treatment pending results of my test. As a retired R.N. was very impressed with her thoroughness!! She was quick to respond to my emails sent post visit.

April 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first visit with *Dr. Vessely. I feel that I can have confidence in her care.

February 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have always felt that *Dr. Vessely was thorough, informative, educational, and included me in decisions! - Very happy to have her as one of my care providers.

February 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Vessely listened to my concerns and agreed with them.

January 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I enjoy *Dr. Vessely, she is very thorough and explains everything to the point that I rarely have questions regarding treatment or tests.

December 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was extremely impressed with *Dr. Vessely's professionalism, knowledge and skill. Serious issues I had six months ago are now history. I am most grateful.

August 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My experience was very positive. *Dr. Took time to explain things to me in a way I understood.

July 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Vessely was EXCELLENT. Smart, sought to understand me, resourceful, concerned, patient - all around excellent care. I'd highly recommend her!

July 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love *Dr. Vessely - she is so wonderful & caring!

June 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor recommended follow-up education which has proved to be very helpful.

May 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Vessely was caring and took time to explain my questions and concerns. I came away with an understanding of what I need to do to improve my thyroid and pre-diabetic program and have a health coach thanks to *Dr. Vessely's recommendation.

May 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Love this doctor.

April 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The dr. is very thorough.

January 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was really nice, helpful, and seemed very capable. however; she put me on a medication without checking for pregnancy before she prescribed it. Later on the visit she asked me to come back for a follow up but when I showed up she asked the reason for my scheduling an appointment. She didn't read my chart before seeing me & didn't seem to know my condition even though I've seen her before.

August 06, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born a Kaiser Permanente baby at Bess Kaiser Hospital and grew up in the Portland area. My father, Arnold Hurtado, MD, was one of the early Kaiser Permanente doctors, and I have followed in his footsteps. From early on in medical school, I was fascinated by the complex system of hormones in the body, which led me to specialize in the field of endocrinology. For me, it is a privilege to work in this challenging area, and I enjoy the uniqueness of the people I encounter each day.

About my practice

I have a special interest in thyroid disorders, especially the evaluation and treatment of thyroid nodules, thyroid cancer, and hyperthyroidism. I also take care of people with a wide range of endocrine problems including diseases of the pituitary and adrenal glands, osteoporosis, reproductive conditions, and diabetes. A very important part of my job is that of an educator, making sure that my patients understand the options for treatment and the risks and benefits for them as individuals. I then try to help patients choose the path that fits best. I feel extremely fortunate to be supported by an amazing team of dedicated nurses and medical assistants in our department. I am a strong believer that a healthy lifestyle can prevent all sorts of medical conditions. Over the past few years, I have put together a collection of books on various health topics for my patients to look through while in my office. My goal is to motivate all of my patients to exercise regularly and follow a healthy diet.

How I thrive

I am the mother of two teen boys, which keeps life interesting and challenging. Physical fitness is very important to me, and I try to squeeze in time each day to take care of my body. I have discovered that a short daily yoga practice helps "keep me young" and mobile, so that is how I start almost every day. Listening to my favorite podcasts and novels during my commute makes that part of the day enriching, interesting, and often fun.

Medical School ?

Oregon Health Sciences University School of Medicine
Portland

Medical Training ?

Endocrinology
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Internal Medicine
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism
American Board of Internal Medicine