Lorna J. Shanks MD
4.7 / 5
  • Spanish
(503) 813-2000
Rockwood Medical Office
19500 SE Stark St.
Portland, OR 97233

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.3
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 105 Ratings
  • 18 Comments

Everyone was great. I was more nervous about this visit than I usually am about medical care, and Dr. Shanks and the support staff was incredibly kind, patient, and helpful. I am so happy I found Dr. Shanks and the Rockwood facility.

April 03, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shanks is an excellent medical doctor and really cares about her patients. I bless that she is my health physician. She asks great questions and provides great service and care! She provides great follow-up on questions that I email her with great advice.

March 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I always feel heard and never as though she is rushing me--even though I know she is VERY busy

January 22, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very impressed with and pleased to be a patient of Dr. Shanks. She definitely listens, asks good questions, shows concern and empathy, and has a remarkable memory. I think she's great!

January 18, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr. shanks has always been responsive and respectful of any medical questions or concerns I have. she makes it easy to understand what is going on and what she recommends

January 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Shanks took the time to listen to me and was very caring. I felt very at ease with her and am happy I chose her for my Primary.

December 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shanks has always been very easy to talk to and understands. She seems to be very well prepared & through. My husband and I like her very much.

October 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt that she was in a hurry and let me know that my time was almost up - felt rush.

October 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

So relieved to find a doctor I felt comfortable with. She was caring, pleasant, and efficient.

October 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had gotten a recommendation from a friend to see Dr Lorna. I am so glad I did! She had the best way of making me feel important and listened to. I am so happy to have found her!

October 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

my doctor was awesome very very good doctor

July 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Love *Dr. Lorna Shanks! Very easy to talk to!

April 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was extremely caring and questioned all my concers to make a correct dignosis and help me with treatment.

November 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

when I switched to Kaiser I had the time to research my ZPCP & very happy with her service! ! !

July 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very comfortable, caring and thorough.

March 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr always appears rushed

March 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shanks asks great questions regarding my health. I'm very pleased with her care and my health going forward. I'm grateful she's my care provider and doctor.

January 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

First time with this provider, very good, better than my last provider.

December 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Nací en la zona oeste de Colorado, pero ahora mi hogar está en Portland, Oregon. Disfruto de la posibilidad de hacer actividades al aire libre y de andar en bicicleta, correr y acampar en mi tiempo libre. Como hija de un médico, siempre supe que quería estudiar la carrera de Medicina. Agradezco tener la oportunidad de aprender de mis pacientes y poder proporcionarles información sobre las opciones de tratamiento y las maneras de prevenir enfermedades crónicas.

Originally from Western Colorado, I now call Portland, Oregon, home. I enjoy its easy access to the outdoors and spend my free time biking, running and camping. As the daughter of a physician, I always knew I wanted to pursue a career in medicine. I love the opportunity to learn from my patients and to provide them with information regarding treatment options and ways to prevent chronic conditions.

About my practice

Decidí desempeñarme en Medicina Familiar porque me da la oportunidad de atender a una población diversa de pacientes. Proporciono atención prenatal y para recién nacidos, además de atender a pacientes mayores. Me entusiasma ser parte de los esfuerzos que hace la Clínica de Rockwood (Rockwood Clinic) de Kaiser Permanente para atender a los pacientes hispanohablantes en su lengua materna.

I chose to practice Family Medicine as it allows me the opportunity to serve a diverse patient population. I provide prenatal and newborn care in addition to serving older patients. I am excited to be part of Kaiser Permanente Rockwood Clinic's efforts to serve Spanish-speaking patients in their primary language.

How I thrive

Me encanta recorrer los restaurantes de Portland, encontrar nuevas cafeterías y descubrir nuevas rutas para correr. Preparar una de mis comidas favoritas para cenar, ponerme al día con viejos amigos por teléfono y salir de excursión al camino de Wahclella Falls con frecuencia me hace feliz.

I love to explore Portland's restaurants, find new coffee shops, and try different running routes. Preparing a favorite meal for dinner, catching up with an old friend on the phone, and hiking Wahclella Falls trail repeatedly bring me happiness.

Medical School ?

University of Washington School of Medicine
Seattle

Medical Training ?

Family Medicine
Southwest Washington Medical Center
Vancouver WA

Board Certification ?

Family Medicine
American Board of Family Medicine