Mariah N. Mason MD
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office Central
3600 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.9
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 467 Ratings
  • 93 Comments

Amazing doctor and her treatments are already working wonderfully

July 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Outstanding service. Friendly, reassuring, competent.

July 10, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Mason was a clear and thorough explainer, concerned and gregarious, and quick and deft as she cut off a small growth on my ear for a biopsy. She is not my regular dermatologist, but she made me feel as if I were a longtime patient of hers.

July 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

the care provider was pleasant and made the visit fun. who knew that was possible? she was a very kind fun person.

July 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Mason and her staff are great. I definitely feel that Dr Mason hears my concerns and has a fluid way of utilizing her knowledge w/ mine. To me that is one of the most important elements of Dr. patient relationships. She and her staff are competent and kind.

July 03, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Best dermatologist I have had, hands down. She was professional, caring and informative.

June 28, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. and nurse showed real concern about cleanliness and absence of a scar.

June 26, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Mason & her nurse were outstanding - very understanding and kind -

June 25, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She's friendly and so intelligent.

June 14, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She is an excellent listener and was so helpful.

May 24, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Mason is outstanding! She is knowledgeable, friendly and has good bed side manner!

May 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have had a number of dermatology doctors through Kaiser and I believe that Dr. Mason was one of the very best. She was very thorough, clearly communicated, helped me learn more about self-care and evaluation than I have before, and left me feeling confident about next steps.

May 09, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Mason is very courtious, kind, and compassionate. she is very knowlegable and professional. Kaiser should give her a bonus and a raise for being such a great doctor!! She knows how to convey concern and put patients at ease.

April 09, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Mason was thoughtful and very friendly and put me at ease.

April 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I adore Dr. Mason! She has that perfect combination of knowledge, skill, warmth and compassion.

April 04, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Mason is one of the most caring doctors I've encountered. Genuinely concerned for my well being, thorough and very knowledgeable. I would give her 6 stars if I could!

March 28, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctors appointments are not typically enjoyable by nature, but *Dr. Mason is genuine, patient, kind and overall amazing. I never feel rushed & she answers all my questions with a genuine care that I've not experienced w/many (if any?) other doctors. I'm likely going to be switching insurance providers in the near future due to a job/employer change & my on-going care w/*Dr. Mason legitimately crossed my mind as something I was going to miss after this transition.

March 27, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Mason, even though this is the first time we met, was aware of my past skin cancer history. // Dr. Mason was excellent in all these categories, and gave me the most thorough exam I have yet had at Kaiser, even checking in my hair for skin cancers. Additionally, she was very easy to like as a person, friendly and professional.

March 22, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Mason is wonderful. She is very sympathetic and understanding. She creates an experience that is both sensitive and attentive to my needs while still being efficient and quick. She explains things clearly and in a way that I can understand. She is also very reassuring. I couldn't ask for a better dermatologist. Thank you Dr. Mason!

March 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Mason is terrific

March 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have recommended *Dr. Mason to a co-worker. *Dr. Mason is direct, practical and seems genuinely concerned about the issues - I brought forward at my appointment.

February 26, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Mason is professional, courteous, and personable. Even though this is the first time I have seen her, I felt very comfortable with her care. She diagnosed me correctly regarding one issue. Will be glad to see her again.

February 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Mason made me feel very much at ease as she checked out the situation. She wanted to make sure I knew why treatment was needed, photos taken, etc, and gave instructions to do while awaiting results. Hooray, no Cancer!!!

February 22, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

personal and professional

February 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had such a great experience! Mariah was super thorough, caring, up to date on my medical needs and chart, and helped to put me at ease.

February 12, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent

February 07, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Mason is a gem. She's professional & caring. Thank you doctor!

January 29, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Mason is, in my opinion, an excellent caring physician. I have been with Kaiser 15+ years; she is one of the best if not the best

January 24, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

in all seriousness, Dr. Mason is the best doctor I have ever had. She works quickly and efficiently. she understands my risks and can coordinate my treatment based on my lifestyle. She is also easily accessible by phone.

January 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

she was professional and friendly. Allowed time for me to be sure I did understand what she was. planning for. my treatment.

January 11, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

You have had several good dermatologists in my time there. Dr. Mason is the best. She's friendly, professional and thorough.

January 03, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Mason is AWESOME!

December 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Mason is amazing. She is smart, kind, compassionate and dedicated. Thank you.

December 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Terrific physician - patient rapport. *Dr. Mason's confident, assuring, and relaxed professional demeanor inspires confidence and trust in her patients. I felt I had her full attention, and that her interest in my concerns and questions was unaffectedly genuine. I feel an receiving excellent care from *Dr. Mason and her friendly, capable assistant. Thank you! [name]

December 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Specialty providers often aloof. Not Dr. Mason. // Dr Mason very genuine. Honestly cared. looked me in the eye regularly, throughout the visit.

December 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great staff and doctor.

December 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Mason is the best doctor I've had at Kaiser Permanente. She is extremely Knowledgeable, thorough, compassionate, and caring. I feel blessed to have her as my doctor.

December 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Mason has a great affect and clearly explains concepts in a comfortable way. I'm glad to have her as my doctor.

December 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Moran was excellent in all areas of patient care. I would highly recommend her to anyone.

November 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Mason is very kind, respectful, and apparently very knowledgeable. I trust her judgment.

November 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Mason was wonderful. She was very attentive and informative. I feel very confident in her care.

November 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Kaiser (and Portland) is fortunate to have her

November 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Mason made me feel she knew exactly who I was both because of my previous visit and because she empathized with my concerns. I felt like she was a friend with a special competence in my health & psychological concerns.

October 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Mason was superbly professional, fully knowledgeable, courteous and compassionate.

October 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I thoroughly enjoyed my experience with Dr. Mason. She was very personable and caring.

September 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr. Masson was very good and explained everything. She talked me through the entire procedure which was very comforting.

September 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Both nurse and doctor were very friendly and professional. One of my BEST experiences at Kaiser.

September 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

One of the best dermatology visits I've ever had.

August 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Mariah Mason was just wonderful.

August 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was pleasant, both nurse and Dr. were very nice andc knowledgable...

August 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

she lets me participate in developing an approach to treating my condition. she printed information for me to review when considering approaches to the healing of my lesion.

August 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Mason is great.

August 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I could not have been happier with the experience. The exam was thorough and I am very confident in the provider. // Provider took the time to further exam areas by my request at the time of the exam. I am very pleased with this.

July 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Mason is a true well-informed professional.

July 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very impressed with Dr Mason.

July 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Thank you for all the care and kindness! [name]

June 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

If *Dr. Mason could be my PCP I would so want her to be! She's the BEST!! In every WAY! I'm a nurse & work with lots of drs - she's top of the list!

June 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Both Dr.Mason and her nurse are excellent professionals and extremely friendly people.

June 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Mason was wonderful.

June 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was a very good doctor.

June 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great doctor! [name]

May 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Mason was wonderful. Dr. Mason was concerned and knowledgeable which was lovely.

May 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent care by Dr. Mason.

May 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Care coordination of physician was excellent. She had obviously reviewed my file and knew about spots that were concerning on my previous visit with another provider. // Amazing, kind, knowledgeable. Will definitely keep as my primary dermatologist.

May 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Mason is friendly, very professional, and has an approach that is helpful and comforting.

May 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Mason is wonderful. she is very easy to talk with and very empathetic. I feel lucky that Kaiser has such a wonderful dermatologist.

May 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

a reassuring experience

May 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Mason was professional and efficient, as well as reassuring.

April 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Mason was thorough, thoughtful and confidence-inspiring. I truly felt well informed and involved in decisions about my care. Her "ABCDE" notes in my after visit summary were the best skin cancer tips I've ever gotten. I'm grateful to be in her care.

April 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I liked *Dr. Mason a lot. This was my first visit with her. She's a great listener.

March 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Mason is such a caring Dr. She takes the time to explain and discuss things thoroughly and with kindness. If I could make her my PCP I would!!!

March 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Mason was compassionate, realistic, and explained the condition very well. She was receptive to my concerns and needs and made me feel at ease asking questions. She was very flexible and willing to work with my tight schedule for a return visit.

March 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Mason and her team saw me several times - as well as helped me resolve a condition that had gone on for months. All the compassion shown by *Dr. Mason & staff is very much appreciated, as well as their dedication to figuring out how to get me healed.

March 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Mason is outstanding and also the staff.

March 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love Dr. Mason. She is very empathetic and works hard to try to figure out what is going on with my skin problems. I have already recommended her to people. She's the best!!!

March 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Mason and her nurse were caring and efficient and my surgery went well. i was very pleased with my care.

March 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Mason and her staff were excellent. She is very attentive to my concerns and I appreciated the time she spent with me.

March 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Mason was very professional and extremely helpful.

February 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Mason was thorough and clearly outline treatment options. She then skillfully and quickly completed the biopsy and sent us out with thorough follow-up instructions and supplies. We couldn't have been more satisfied!!!

February 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Mason listened to my concerns and gave scientific reasoning for her advice and assessments which gave me confidence in her care.

February 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent care. Loved the doc & assistant.

February 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

i was scared, and she reassured me of my options. good bedside manner.

February 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Mason Did a Great Job . Kind , Caring and Great at what she does. Very Glad she is there !!

February 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Mason was prompt, clear and thorough. I left with the highest confidence in my care. Thank you all.

February 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Mason's concern for my issue was very evident and she did a great job of explaining my diagnosis and the treatment plan she recommended. Thanks everyone! [name]

January 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Mason is a great example of what a great doctor does she followed through with the help needed to get further treatment. Thank you *Dr. Mason. [name]

December 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. [Mason] - was excellent.

December 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Mason is the best dermatologist that I have ever worked with. She is incredibly well friendly and knowledgeable, _____ and patient.

November 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I left this appointment feeling I received the care and explanation/education I need AND that I had made a friend - like we were old friends. This provider made me feel good about our relationship -

November 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Mason should be held up as an example to all of the doctors in the kaiser system. She made me feel at all times that my health issues were her most important task for the day. I think all of your care providers could learn much by her example. Great Doctor.

November 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

she was awesome!! very grateful she has joined your clinic!

November 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Mason is a wonderful caring doctor. She has wonderful bedside manners and takes the time to listen and explain answers. I feel very fortunate to have her as my provider. [name]

November 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Terrific visit and amazing service. Fabulous MD.

November 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I grew up in Colorado and went to graduate school and medical school at the University of Colorado. My family and I moved to Oregon to complete my dermatology residency at Oregon Health & Science University. We fell in love with the Pacific Northwest and are very excited to call Portland home. I feel honored to be a dermatologist and chose the specialty because I love both its medical and surgical components, as well as the opportunity to treat members of all ages. As the body's largest organ, the skin not only serves as our barrier to external insults but can be a window to internal disease as well. I find the diseases that can derive from or manifest in the skin fascinating and gratifying to diagnose and treat.

About my practice

I am proud be a part of the outstanding group of dermatologists at Kaiser Permanente! For me, the opportunity to treat newborns through centenarians is one of the most rewarding aspects of being a dermatologist, and I gladly welcome and encourage members of all ages. The most important part of my relationship with every member is building a therapeutic alliance within which we can openly and honestly discuss their skin concerns, their fears surrounding a specific diagnosis, and their questions regarding therapeutic options. I want my members and their families to know that I will advocate for them, will give my honest assessment and opinion, and will work with them as a team to improve their overall health and, specifically, the health of their skin.

How I thrive

I get more joy than I ever thought possible out of the time my partner and I spend with our young daughter. We love walking to parks, watching her discover a new skill, new food, or new friend, and seeing her find so much joy and entertainment from everyday things I have taken for granted for years (like boxes or puddles). When she is resting, I love to read or garden. When my partner and I take a rare afternoon or evening for ourselves, we like to explore the city and surrounding areas from bikes, stand-up paddle boards, snowshoes, or hiking boots. My family also loves to take relaxed vacations to the beach and play in the waves and sand together.

Medical School ?

University of Colorado School of Medicine
Denver

Medical Training ?

Dermatology
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Dermatology
American Board of Dermatology