Marlaina D. Watkins OD
(503) 813-2000
Sunset Medical Office
19400 NW Evergreen Parkway
Hillsboro, OR 97124

Contact my office

Rating Details Details

No reviews available. ?

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 0 Ratings
  • 30 Comments

Great experience. Dr. Watkins did a wonderful job of explaining to me how my prescription glasses we working and how they would be set up for the new prescription I needed for using my computer. Very well done.

November 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Marlaina Watkins was very helpful and answered all my questions. she was very sincere and did not rush. she wanted to make sure I got the correct prescription.

October 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Best eye exam ever. Will always come back.

October 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Watkins has always been wonderful at explaining any problems I have incurred. She treated my Mother for multiple eye problems and knows my family history. She is one of the best Dr.s I have had at Kaiser.

October 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Watkins always does a great job of answering questions i have.I travel furthur then i have to but it is worth it since she does a great job.

October 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

All vision care givers have been excellent for many years for me! However, I would like to say that Marlaina Watkins was by far the best I have ever had!!! I have ellergies causing itching eyes etc. and Dr. Watkins addressed the problem in detail and I am finally getting releif.She is also a wonderful person and absolutely cares about the welfare of her patients!!!

September 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor listened to my description of symptoms, tested and evaluated and offered plan to take care of the problem (haziness in one eye). She explained what next steps are and provided reassurances on those steps and relief from the problem. Very helpful and reassuring.

August 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have extra confidence in *Dr. Watkins.

July 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I think *Dr. Watkins is a wonderful, caring, very professional doctor. I have every confidence in her abilities. You are very lucky to have her. I hope she never leaves!

July 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Watkins is an excellent doctor! She takes the time to explain the reasons behind eye concerns. She offers solutions as possible and she outlines probable progressions& a resulting treatment(2). I never leave with an unanswered question. KNowing what the possibilities & solutions are helps calm concerns.

July 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great experience/great dr.

June 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Watkins is a fine physician, and I'm very glad to have her looking after my vision.

June 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Tom was excellent in all respects!

May 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She is very good

April 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I've been seeing Dr Watkins for many years because I'm always comfortable with her and have a lot of confidence in her abilities.

April 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Watkins does an excellent job of listening to your concerns, performing a thorough assessment and providing simple, yet clear explanations regarding your eye health. I have a lot of confidence in Dr. Watkins and consequently make sure to arrange appointments with her to provide continuity of care.

April 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The only thing I would like to say is that *Dr. Watkins talked too loud! I am 72 and she might have thought that I might be hard of hearing, but I am not and it was uncomfortable with her loud voice. Otherwise, she was wonderful.

March 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Watkins was very considerate in her care and advice. I feel she is extremely conscientious. // I seen Dr. Watkins on prior visits and recommended her to my husband. We are both pleased with her exceptional service. She is a Kaiser star performer.

February 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always inpressed with my provider . Always very helpful .

January 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very satisfied w/entire visit.

January 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent doctor. explains problems clearly and showsshe cares.

January 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was completely fine.

December 29, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was very thorough and explained everything well. At first seemed like she might have been mad but warmed up throughout the visit.

December 29, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My doctor is the best who always has my best interest at heart. I really trust her with my eyes. She is a top notch Doctor. // I give my doctor and her staff an "AAA" rating

December 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Keep the good service and courtesy to patient going.

December 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Best optometrist I have ever had.

December 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The Dr was very efficient and I was very satisfied with the service received. // Dr. Watkins provided an excellent examination and explained everything so that I could understand it

November 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I basically felt very belittled by the doctor for a condition that I know quite a bit about since I have dealt with it off and on for over 10 years.

September 01, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent provider.

August 26, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Watkins provided me the most through and detailed eye exam I have had in the last 10 years. I was very pleased to find her interested in my eyesight and wellbeing. // I was impressed by Dr. Watkins' detail and treatment instructions. Thank you.

August 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am a native Oregonian. I love to travel but would not live anywhere else than Oregon because of our natural beauty, outdoor activities, and just the right balance of larger city/small town feel. My son and I live with our dog in Hillsboro and enjoy being part of the community. I have always been interested in medicine and did vision research before attending optometry school. I was interested in vision because the eyes are an extension of the brain and how we perceive the world which is unique to each person.

About my practice

I practice comprehensive optometry and see patients for general examinations, medical optometry, and post-operative care. I am also one of our low vision specialists, which means I work with members who have significantly reduced vision due to medical reasons to help them optimize their remaining vision and possibly use adaptive devices for their daily activities. I do not currently fit or evaluate contact lenses. I prefer to work as a partner with patients, giving them the information needed to make their own health choices and designing options to meet the needs of their visual lifestyle.

How I thrive

I love to travel to see new places. During our few months of good weather, I hike and get outdoors as much as possible. I read to learn, keep my mind active, and have some time alone. Several times per week, I meditate and do yoga. It helps me reduce stress and keep my mind calm and focused. My son keeps me busy with kid's activities, which keeps me young at heart, and I volunteer a few times a year at various venues doing free eye exams to help the underserved parts of our community.

Medical School ?

Pacific University
Forest Grove

Medical Training ?

Optometry
Pacific University
Forest Grove OR

Board Certification ?