Matthew B. Kaufman MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Salmon Creek Medical Office
14406 NE 20th Ave.
Vancouver, WA 98686

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.4
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 464 Ratings
  • 54 Comments

I loved Dr. Kauffman, he explained everything to my satisfaction and made me feel very at ease. I will absolutely go back to see him and recommend him to anyone I know who needs an ophthalmologist.

June 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor Matthew Kaufman in my opinion is one excellent Doctor, and the staff is so amazing, i have very much respect for the care he provides, ones privacy, and great bedside manner, one great doctor.

June 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very thorough, friendly doctor

May 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really like Dr. Kaufman.

May 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor was very professional and thorough with surgery explanations.

April 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

THIS IS A SUPER, SUPER DOCTOR! The greatest! [name]

April 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel *Dr. Kaufman is an excellent doctor - I have absolute confidence in him.

April 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kauffman is wonderful, caring doctor. I feel very comfortable with him and feel he gives me excellent care.

March 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciate Dr. Kaufman. I've been treated for glaucoma for over 30 years. Dr. Kaufman has been the most helpful and explained thinks more clearly than any prior ophthalmologist.

March 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kaufman and his staff are always professional and personable. They care for my well-being during stressful procedures. I highly recommend *Dr. Kaufman and his staff.

March 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Visit was follow-up after eye surgery - in my opinion *Dr. Kauffman, and *Dr. [name] are the best!

March 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great doctor. A little intimidating - but maybe short on time.

March 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great

February 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like Dr. Kaufman very much. He is very personable, thorough and caring.

January 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great doctor, talked to me at each step.

January 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I found *Dr.Kaufman to be very interested in caring for my eyes.

January 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Outstanding!!! So grateful for Dr. Kaufman's skill and expertise in correcting my cataracts in both eyes. I'm very, very happy.

January 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My first time with *Dr. Kaufman. I thought that he and his staff were very good. Enjoyed the visit.

December 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good.

December 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kaufman is VERY competent, and VERY careful. Best kind of doctor.

December 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr is excellent.

November 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The Dr. was very thorough and ran a commentary on what he was seeing and what he suggested for care. I was pleased with his care.

November 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This doctor & his staff are great!

November 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kauffman was wonderful, and he improved my vision in that, one appointment!

August 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My care provider is excellent and I have the utmost respect for his abilities.

August 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have recommended Dr. Kaufman to others, specifically because he does keep me informed.

July 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been seeing Dr Kaufman for a year and a half regularly. He is awesome as well as his staff.

June 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My visit with Dr. KAUFMAN was excellent. He is very professional and has a great sense of humor. I was very comfortable throughout my procedure. He is an excellent doctor.

June 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kaufman is wonderful. I'm glad to have him as my opthalmologist doing my cataract surgery.

May 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kaufman was GREAT!!!

May 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I believe *Dr. Kaufman is very competent. I have been extremely pleased with his care.

April 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good

April 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent

April 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would be happy to recommend Dr Kaufman any time. He is a super nice Dr.

March 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have total confidence in *Dr. Kaufman.

March 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kaufman & his asst. are just perfect for me.

February 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very fortunate to have *Dr. Kaufman taking care of my eyes -

February 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was a pleasure meeting and talking with him. Made me feel very comfortable and eased my concerns about my up and coming surgery. I'm very scared about this and how its going to happen, put me at ease.

February 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Fantastic apt.

December 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really liked Dr. Kaufman, it was the first time I saw him and will continue seeing him in the Salmon Creek office.

December 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I think Dr. Kaufman is the best. His kindness and his regards for my fears were exceptional and I could not have asked for better care. He never hesitated to explain all the steps of my surgery and even during the procedure he remained encouraging and informative. I now have all the confidence for my second procedure.

December 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kaufman is excellent doctor, staff very knowledgeable and capable

November 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. and assistant were VERY responsive to comfort issues from earlier visits when told about them.

November 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Best Eye MD I have ever had . DO NOT let him go. I would follow his care outside of Kaiser if he left

November 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have recommended Dr Jaufman to several of my friends. I think he is tops. I like him very much and trust him.

November 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor *Kaufman is alway very good at answering any concerns I have.

November 01, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kaufman was very good I was so glad he was personable and was willing to take time to talk to me.

October 12, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

No bad experiences *Dr. Kaufman & the staff have been very good to take care of me.

October 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very Good Doctor

September 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

short wait time. Dr was very informative and answered all my questions .

September 20, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very good experience--personable doc and helpful staff

September 20, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good

September 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kaufman is very willing to answer questions and is very competent with his exam.

August 05, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

All good

August 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born in Pennsylvania and spent most of my life on the East coast. My wife and I moved to the Portland, Oregon area in the summer of 2013 and we are in love with the beauty of the Northwest.

About my practice

I practice comprehensive ophthalmology with a special focus on cataract surgery. I enjoy treating a wide variety of eye conditions and it gives me great satisfaction when I can help improve someone's vision. I enjoy working at Kaiser Permanente where we have state-of-the-art diagnostic and surgical tools to give our members the best care available.

How I thrive

In the winter, I enjoy skiing on the fantastic mountains in the Cascade range. In the summertime, I like mountain biking and getting out to the golf course whenever I can. My wife and I enjoy cooking together and we love spending time with our friends.

Medical School ?

University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
Pittsburgh

Medical Training ?

Ophthalmology
UPMC Medical Education
Pittsburgh PA

Board Certification ?

Ophthalmology
American Board of Ophthalmology