Matthew D. Budge MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Skyline Medical Office
5125 Skyline Road South
Salem, OR 97306

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.7
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 200 Ratings
  • 31 Comments

*Dr. Budge is great! I'm looking forward to finally getting my arm better. Thank you.

May 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel like he really listened to my input & concerns, and made me feel comfortable about the procedures.

May 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt like he was going to make sure I was taken care of in a timely manner

May 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Once again, I and my husband, too, were very impressed with *Dr. Budge. His professionalism, knowledge, sensitivity, concern and expertise made me (us) feel confident that I was getting the best of care. He is the only one I want to continue caring for me. He is among the best orthopedist around! Thank you!

May 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Follow up appointment after left hip surgery. My many thanks to *Dr. Budge and his office. His medical expertise is greatly appreciated.

April 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

never a bad experience with this doctor. He is absolutely the best!

March 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

A great experience. Dr Budge is the best surgeon. Very thorough.and he takes time needed for his patient.

January 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr.Budge was very kind concerning another ailment I am getting over , and of course explained worries we both had concerning my( possible pending ) shoulder surgery . He took the time with explaining possible alternatives re; my insurance etc.. He was great and dispelled my fears .

January 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good.

October 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Budge is amazing. He is an example of how the next generation medical specialists are leading edge.

October 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

A great experience as he spent time explaining and listening to my questions concerning my left shoulder.

October 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

as a retired nurse, I have been exposed to a wide range of doctors and their varying care styles. Dr Budge balances a conservative approach to care while remaining realistic to the obstacles that need to be overcome. I love his team approach to care management

July 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very excellence experience. He answered all my questions. Took enough time. Professional & caring! THANK YOU!

June 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Budge is kind, well informed & so good at sharing all results, explaining & FU.

June 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Budge did a FANTASTIC job on my hip replacement!

May 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Thank You Dr. Budge and Team. You make me feel like you all do care. You are all polite and professional. Two very hard opposites to reach.

May 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Budge did an excellent job. The hip replacement turned out perfect.

April 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt like I was just "another patient" with the dr. - no real connection -

April 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have confidence in *Dr. Budge. He is always concerned and makes sure I understand the procedure concerning my visit.

March 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Budge, did an outstanding job on my surgery.

February 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had a knee injection and Dr. Budge knows exactly where to insert the needle in the knee without pain. He's very confident and professional as a Doctor.

February 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

So far so good new provider to me.

January 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent

January 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Budge did not give me enough discussion on my future expectation on my hip replacement. // I need a doctor that will talk to me with explanation of the process as I heel and future warnings. His discussion is quite brief when I ask a question.

December 29, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Painful arthritis in all my joints. Told nothing they could do but give me knee brace and lose weight. How does loosing weight help my elbows feel better? No medication for pain just "over the counter" advise. Basically told nothing they could do for me.

November 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like Dr. Budge very much. He is capable and kind and I have confidence in him.

November 05, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Budge is an expert in his practice, however he lacks a consistant bedside manner, one visit he will be personable and the next very distant.

October 29, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Budge is an excellent dr. & gave back to me, less pain & better use of my arm. He's also a good listener. He cares about his patients & his staff is great.

October 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Budge did a great job dealing with my situation.

September 20, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My concerns were discounted rather than explained.

September 13, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Budge was right on time.

August 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and raised in Tualatin, Oregon. After high school, I moved to Seattle, Washington, and received a degree in microbiology from the University of Washington. I then spent an additional year performing air quality research for the EPA before beginning medical school at the University of Pittsburgh. After my medical training in Pittsburgh, I completed my residency in orthopedic surgery at Penn State University. There I served as chief resident and participated in the relief efforts immediately after the earthquake in Haiti. I subsequently completed a fellowship in shoulder and elbow reconstruction at William Beaumont Hospital in Detroit, Michigan. While in Detroit, I also authored several articles on shoulder arthroplasty and participated in the care of the Lions professional football team. My wife and I enjoy running, skiing, and other outdoor activities, as well as CrossFit training. I am also a proud father and enjoy raising a family in my home town.

About my practice

I practice general orthopedic surgery, including sports medicine, trauma, and total joint replacement. I have an additional special interest in complex shoulder and elbow reconstruction, including reverse and standard total shoulder replacement and total elbow arthroplasty. I enjoy being a Kaiser Permanente provider. My role allows me to focus on the specific needs of each individual patient and provide them with the best possible care.

How I thrive

I enjoy working hard, staying active, and being with friends and family.

Medical School ?

University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
Pittsburgh

Medical Training ?

Shoulder and Elbow Reconstruc
William Beaumont Hospital
Royal Oak MI

Orthopaedic Surgery
Penn State University/Milton S. Hershey Medical Center
Hershey PA

Board Certification ?

Orthopaedic Surgery
American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery