Matthew D. Budge MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Skyline Medical Office
5125 Skyline Road South
Salem, OR 97306

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 164 Ratings
  • 34 Comments

I appreciated meeting *Dr. Budge. He is going to do a great job fixing my left hip in [date].

June 12, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Budge is the bomb!

March 13, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Budge gave me excellent care; answered each of my questions and concerns intelligently and sensitively; referred me to another specialist for one of my concerns; and told me to E-mail him to set up the next appt. so I wouldn't need to wait so long to get a knee injection. He also sent me a follow-up E-mail including test X-ray results. I feel fortunate in having *Dr. Budge address my orthopedic needs. He is knowledgeable, has the ability to explain an issue. I feel well cared for.

January 24, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent dr.

January 24, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very happy with my new hip & the redirection of pain on that side. Can't wait to get the next one done & would recommend this surgeon to anyone needing a hip replacement.

October 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always answers all questions and is very professional.

September 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor was great.

June 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Budge is great! I'm looking forward to finally getting my arm better. Thank you.

May 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel like he really listened to my input & concerns, and made me feel comfortable about the procedures.

May 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt like he was going to make sure I was taken care of in a timely manner

May 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Follow up appointment after left hip surgery. My many thanks to *Dr. Budge and his office. His medical expertise is greatly appreciated.

April 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

never a bad experience with this doctor. He is absolutely the best!

March 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

A great experience. Dr Budge is the best surgeon. Very thorough.and he takes time needed for his patient.

January 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr.Budge was very kind concerning another ailment I am getting over , and of course explained worries we both had concerning my( possible pending ) shoulder surgery . He took the time with explaining possible alternatives re; my insurance etc.. He was great and dispelled my fears .

January 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good.

October 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Budge is amazing. He is an example of how the next generation medical specialists are leading edge.

October 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

A great experience as he spent time explaining and listening to my questions concerning my left shoulder.

October 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

as a retired nurse, I have been exposed to a wide range of doctors and their varying care styles. Dr Budge balances a conservative approach to care while remaining realistic to the obstacles that need to be overcome. I love his team approach to care management

July 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Budge is kind, well informed & so good at sharing all results, explaining & FU.

June 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Budge did a FANTASTIC job on my hip replacement!

May 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Thank You Dr. Budge and Team. You make me feel like you all do care. You are all polite and professional. Two very hard opposites to reach.

May 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Budge did an excellent job. The hip replacement turned out perfect.

April 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Budge, did an outstanding job on my surgery.

February 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had a knee injection and Dr. Budge knows exactly where to insert the needle in the knee without pain. He's very confident and professional as a Doctor.

February 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

So far so good new provider to me.

January 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent

January 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Budge did not give me enough discussion on my future expectation on my hip replacement. // I need a doctor that will talk to me with explanation of the process as I heel and future warnings. His discussion is quite brief when I ask a question.

December 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Painful arthritis in all my joints. Told nothing they could do but give me knee brace and lose weight. How does loosing weight help my elbows feel better? No medication for pain just "over the counter" advise. Basically told nothing they could do for me.

November 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like Dr. Budge very much. He is capable and kind and I have confidence in him.

November 06, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Budge is an expert in his practice, however he lacks a consistant bedside manner, one visit he will be personable and the next very distant.

October 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Budge is an excellent dr. & gave back to me, less pain & better use of my arm. He's also a good listener. He cares about his patients & his staff is great.

October 20, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Budge did a great job dealing with my situation.

September 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My concerns were discounted rather than explained.

September 14, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Budge was right on time.

August 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and raised in Tualatin, Oregon. After high school, I moved to Seattle and received a degree in microbiology from the University of Washington. I then spent a year performing air-quality research for the EPA before beginning medical school at the University of Pittsburgh. After my medical training, I completed my residency in orthopedic surgery at Pennsylvania State University. There I served as chief resident and participated in relief efforts in Haiti immediately after the earthquake there. I subsequently completed a fellowship in shoulder and elbow reconstruction at William Beaumont Hospital in Detroit, Michigan. While there, I authored several studies on complex shoulder reconstruction and participated in the care of the Detroit Lions professional football team.

About my practice

I practice general orthopedic surgery, including sports medicine, trauma, and total joint replacement. I have an additional special interest in complex shoulder and elbow reconstruction, including reverse and standard total shoulder replacement, and total elbow arthroplasty. I am active in publishing research on a variety of shoulder and elbow topics and am involved with the national shoulder and elbow society. I enjoy being a Kaiser Permanente provider. My role allows me to focus on the specific needs of each individual patient and provide them with the best possible care.

How I thrive

I enjoy working hard, staying active, and being with friends and family. My wife and I enjoy running, skiing, and other outdoor activities, as well as weight lifting and cross training. I am also a proud father, and enjoy raising a family in my hometown.

Medical School ?

University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
Pittsburgh

Medical Training ?

Shoulder and Elbow Reconstruction
William Beaumont Hospital
Royal Oak MI

Orthopaedic Surgery
Penn State University/Milton S. Hershey Medical Center
Hershey PA

Board Certification ?

Orthopaedic Surgery
American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery