Matthew G. Basco MD
4.8 / 5
(503)813-2000
Sunnybrook Medical Offices
9900 SE Sunnyside Rd.
Clackamas, OR 97015

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.9
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 461 Ratings
  • 135 Comments

They do not come any better than Dr. Basco.

August 14, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco is professional and amiable. I appreciate the care he gives.

August 07, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love *Dr. Basco! He is thorough reassuring, answers all questions, is prompt on emails & truly concerned about me.

August 01, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent. very quick and efficient which I love but also I a short time both provider and nurse communicated that they really cared about. awesome awesome care and service. thank you

June 22, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great doctor and feel comfortable with Dr. Basco's care.

June 12, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Basco is excellent!

May 29, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

several of my friends also use & like Dr. Basco.

May 24, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent interaction with Doctor

May 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was great. Very personable and approachable and professional. Definately nice in a Dr who has to do a full body check.

May 10, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Basco is a good dermatologist and a good guy.

May 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love Dr. Basco, he's the best doctor.

May 01, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco is compassionate, thorough, professional and interested. I am very fortunate to have him as my doctor.

April 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Basco was great to work with and was concerned for my health.

April 18, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Can't say enough good things about Dr. Basco. He is very attentive, professional, and gives you as much time as you need for your situation. One of my favorite Kaiser doctors.

April 16, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Basco is an excellent provider.

March 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr basco was very nice and caring

March 14, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good

March 14, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco is absolutely the best!! // Dr. Basco is pro-active.

March 12, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It's always a pleasure to see *Dr. Basco. I feel I'm in good hands.

March 07, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great doctor and I felt in very good hands. *Dr. Basco explained everything to me.

March 01, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The most understandable Dr. I have had in dermatology in explaining everything.

February 27, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Basco is the best, answers questions and is very supportive.

February 27, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was an outstanding physician. I really liked his approach and attitude!

February 07, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent experience

January 31, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor was very thorough and efficient. Super awesome to work with and understood what I needed. I would highly recommend this doctor to anyone who needs a dermatologist.

January 24, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very warm and caring physician

January 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Felt confident in treatment plan and doctor.

December 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Many years ago I was referred to *Dr. Basco when my previous dr. wasunavailable when I needed care before i had an emergency out of town trip of indefinite duration. I was so pleased with *Dr. Basco that I requested to have him permanently. That was an excellent decision. I hope he remained on the Kaiser Sunnyside staff as long as I need care! Thanks for employing the best. [name]

November 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

First time meeting *Dr. Basco. He was thorough, offered a strong treatment plan, and called me at home with biopsy results. He made me feel comfortable.

November 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco is great. Very knowledgeable.

November 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco has been treating my condition for several years and has always been extremely courteous, prompt and efficient. I would have no qualms about referring him and/or Kaiser Permanente for anyone needing similar treatment.

November 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Best doctor I have ever had for any situation; probably the kindest person I've ever met.

October 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

GREAT.

October 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel very good with the rapport that Dr. Basco and I have developed over the years.

September 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have recommended Dr. Basco to others. Skin checks are highly personal and I trust him to be courteous and professional at all times.

September 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Basco explained what he was going to do and what he thought the issue was and informed me the I would hear back about the lab results in a few days. His guess about skin cancer was correct and his treatment has remove it

September 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Basco was very friendly & approachable. Easy to understand & connect with.

September 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco was great.

September 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The 5.0 accumulated rating that I have given is sincere and not frivilous. [name]

August 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

love our doctor

August 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. seemed a bit awkward but answered all questions & concerns.

August 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco MD is the best: professional , very competent, and a very nice and caring person. All you could want in a Dr.

August 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco is one of the kindest, most caring physicians with whom I have had contact. He is exceptional in taking time with his patients, listening to their concerns and caring for their issues. I have told a number of people about his excellent demeanor!

August 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Basco was great as always.Always a pleasure to see him

August 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

don't have a problem with Dr. Basco ever

July 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Basco MD is very good.

July 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was one of the most pleasant medical experiences I have had. I have such confidence in Dr. Basco.

July 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love Dr. Basco, he is always very caring and friendly.

July 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent and thorough examination. Dr.Basco answered all my questions and gave excellent advice for now and in the future.

June 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent caring professional care!

June 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Best doctor I've ever known // It is very comforting to have a doctor so talented and caring

June 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We are totally pleased and confident in *Dr. Basco's care!

June 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great!

June 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

best derm doctor. Explains, listens, informs, caring.

May 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I will see him anytime I have a skin issue. Good Doctor

May 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Care provider was courtious, but did seem kind of impersonal.

May 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco is thorough, caring, and thinks through your treatment through your side as well as his.

May 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco is a very caring man/doctor. He's always very attentive and willing to answer ALL questions. I always feel that I've gotten a very through evaluation and have enough time to ask questions without feeling rushed!!

May 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Basco is GREAT!

May 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco is one of my favorite doctors. Very knowledgeable...

April 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bosco is an outstanding physician; you are very lucky to have him. So am I.

April 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

personable and appeared caring // have recommended Dr. Basco to several people already

March 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco was extremely caring. He explained treatment options and was easy to understand. I am happy to have him as my Dermatologist .

March 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have seen Dr. Basco a number of times and he is always friendly, courteous, and thorough

March 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always excellent care by Dr. Basco MD. A very caring and competent physician. Kaiser is fortunate to have such a caring professional on their staff.

February 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco is one of the most pleasant and friendly Doctors I have seen at Kaiser. He spent time with me (without "sitting in front of the computer"), seemed thorough in addressing the problem and scheduled a return appt. I have already recommended him to several other Kaiser patients.

February 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

"Very good" is not good enough for Dr. Basco. He is excellent in every way. I come away feeling informed and like I can handle these skin cancer issues. // Dr. Basco & his staff thoroughly answer all my questions.

January 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very professional. Great bedside manner.

January 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Friendly and willing to give consideration to my comfort and concerns.

December 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Basco is great, this was a new patient visit. I felt my treatment plan was collaborative. And I have complete confidence in him.

December 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco realized he could treat the spot that day, so we didn't have to make a second trip. Very thoughtful.

December 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

perfect

November 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent care; Dr Basco is efficient, competent and pleasant.

November 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Friendly and informative.

November 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

cannot find enough words to praise this doctor! He is the kindest most sensitive physician I have yet to see at Kaiser. He seems very tuned into the concept of total patient care. His Dermatolgy care is impeccable.

November 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

the doctor and team are great.

November 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Basco is great

October 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco is excellent

October 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent. Dr. Basco went beyond the call of duty. I have some vision problems which I related to him. He was nice enough to schedule an appointment with an eye doctor for me.

September 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have seen *Dr. Basco several times and each time I'm so pleased with each visit. Always great with a a warm hand shake and smile. Very patient and very personable. He is an asset to Kaiser.

August 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Basco was very helpful explaining my condition and inviting any questions or concerns and addressing them so I could understand the prognosis. He has a very professional and compassionate approach & demeanor.

August 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. was very careful in his descriptions, examination, and explanations. also felt he asked all the right questions. // Dr. very comforting and educational.

August 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great doctor.

August 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco was courteous, listened and was helpful. He solved a medical problem I have had for several months, quickly and effectively. He also took time to discuss another medical issue with concern and genuine thoughtfulness. I was very pleased with his services and would recommend him to others.

July 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr,Boscoe is excellent and professional and the best yet. [name]

July 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This appt he seemed more friendly and informative and laid back, yet professional.

July 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Love Dr.Basco, and his staff..Very efficient and professional.Have been seeing Dr Basco for 10 years

July 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was very good. The dr. was very good.

July 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco addressed my needs and concerns. Highly recommend.

June 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Basco is a very professional, very thorough. He did an excellent job answering my questions.

June 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Basco is attentive and skilled.

June 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is always great!

June 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Basco is the best - I will recommend.

June 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco was right on time; listened to my concerns; provided treatment all in a prompt, friendly and caring manner. I don't all those attributes in one doctor very often.

May 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor is very pleasant and easy to understand.

May 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco is a very caring man and a delight to visit with!

May 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Basco was very rude. He showed no concern for me or my chief complaint. He interrupted me repeatedly. I could hardly get a word in our "conversation." I felt that he had already decided what prescriptions to write before we ever met. When I asked questions about the proposed treatment plan we talked over me and just moved through a few quick explanations.

May 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Basco was an excellent dr. He demonstrated kindness, caring attitude, always explained every detail of what I needed to know & went the extra, extra mile. I thank him for his caring attitude & help.

April 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor really didn't explain much, but gave brochures. He could have been a little more explanatory and what the results should be.

March 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Basco is a valuable asset to the KP Org. Give him a raise or recognition for an exceptional job well done! [name]

March 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco MD is a very caring & skilled professional. Kaiser Permanente is fortunate to have him on their staff.

March 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Seemed more hurried and less likely to offer services than in past appointments.

March 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very good

February 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We rate our Doctor Matthew G. Basco as "Outstanding".

February 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I plan to ask for this care provider in the future and would recommend him to all my close friends.

February 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco provides caring attention during the visit and creates a very comfortable environment

February 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very personable, very professional

February 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I could not ask for a kinder, more thorough doctor than *Dr. Basco.

February 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. was excellent

January 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is the best .... thanks.

January 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco is thorough, professional, and is very personable. He is one of the best doctors I have had in my 45+ years at Kaiser.

January 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Basco has been so much better for my skin cancer problems than my prior doctor, [name]. I really like and appreciate his skill and caring attitude.

January 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bosco and his associates have been absolutely wonderful.....They respond to my questions and I feel very confident with the advice I receive....

January 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco quickly diagnosed my health issue and prescribed medication that has already made a difference.

December 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very pleasant visit. No complaints.

December 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My husband recommended Dr. Basco & I'm pleased to agree with him. // I felt the dr was very competent & cared about me as an individual.

December 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Once an appointment happens, everything works beautifully and Dr. Basco is just wonderful.

November 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor and his assistant nurse was amazing taking care of me really well both communication and customer service that I receive from them... exceptional.

November 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Basco is always very kind, shows concern, and shares information.

November 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My visit with Dr Basco they are always pleasant Dr Basco give good advice in regard to my concern on my health and dermatology .problmes. I do like Dr Basco as my Dr.

November 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco is a superb doctor at KP.

November 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

first time visit with Dr.Basco. great doctor

November 05, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco is the best.

November 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Really a good visit. Dr. Bascoe is a very kind and sensitive human being as well as a wonderful dermatologist.

October 29, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco is always very friendly, professional & has a sense of humor. He spent a good amount of time with me and I did not feel rushed.

October 26, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was more professional than friendly. Seemed very knowledgeable.

October 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco takes the time to clearly explain things and I don't feel rushed.

October 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was a good experience for me

October 12, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco and his staff are helping with some acne and rosacea problems on my forehead. They are doing a good job. They are all very friendly and supportive. Kaiser is blessed to have them.

October 05, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. was very pleasant

September 29, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco is a true professional.

September 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

felt like he didn't take enough time to evaluate those places I was concerned with. I felt rushed and still have concerns.

September 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Did not introduce himself, did not smile. Did not show empathy. Took a quick glance at skin issue, seemed like we were wasting his time. He kept "sighing" with his explanations. He stood with arms and ankles crossed most of the visit. Overall very bad impression. Would not recommend him to anyone.

September 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco came into the Exam Room within about 10 minutes. He answered all of my questions during the Exam. He appears to do a very complete Exam.

August 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I actually enjoy my visits with Dr. Bosco. He's thorough,explains everything, and makes me laugh! Great Doctor and great guy!

August 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am grateful to work in a profession focused on helping individuals through the management of illness. I attended medical school at the University of Rochester where I graduated as a member of the AOA academic honor society and completed my specialty training in dermatology at Oregon Health and Science University. I am fluent in Italian and near fluent in Spanish. I have enjoyed working in the Department of Dermatology at Kaiser Permanente since 2005.

About my practice

I have a medical dermatology practice focused on the treatment of skin cancers and diseases of the skin. I strive to provide education and advice to establish a treatment plan that suits the individual. I believe that treatment of disease can be achieved through a collaborative effort with the patient.

How I thrive

I have an appreciation for the extensive wilderness that is found in the Pacific Northwest. I enjoy backpacking, hiking, camping, snowboarding and find pleasure in sharing these experiences with my wonderful wife and children. Music has long been a treasured outlet in my life and I continue to play the piano and guitar on a regular basis.

Medical School ?

University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry
Rochester

Medical Training ?

Dermatology
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Dermatology
American Board of Dermatology