Matthew G. Basco MD
4.8 / 5
(503)813-2000
Sunnybrook Medical Offices
9900 SE Sunnyside Rd.
Clackamas, OR 97015

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.9
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 470 Ratings
  • 132 Comments

*Dr. Basco is a good dermatologist and a good guy.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent. very quick and efficient which I love but also I a short time both provider and nurse communicated that they really cared about. awesome awesome care and service. thank you

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great doctor and feel comfortable with Dr. Basco's care.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Basco is excellent!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent interaction with Doctor

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

several of my friends also use & like Dr. Basco.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco is compassionate, thorough, professional and interested. I am very fortunate to have him as my doctor.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was great. Very personable and approachable and professional. Definately nice in a Dr who has to do a full body check.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Basco was great to work with and was concerned for my health.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It's always a pleasure to see *Dr. Basco. I feel I'm in good hands.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love Dr. Basco, he's the best doctor.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Can't say enough good things about Dr. Basco. He is very attentive, professional, and gives you as much time as you need for your situation. One of my favorite Kaiser doctors.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very warm and caring physician

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Basco is the best, answers questions and is very supportive.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco is absolutely the best!! // Dr. Basco is pro-active.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Basco is an excellent provider.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The most understandable Dr. I have had in dermatology in explaining everything.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr basco was very nice and caring

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great doctor and I felt in very good hands. *Dr. Basco explained everything to me.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent experience

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor was very thorough and efficient. Super awesome to work with and understood what I needed. I would highly recommend this doctor to anyone who needs a dermatologist.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was an outstanding physician. I really liked his approach and attitude!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco has been treating my condition for several years and has always been extremely courteous, prompt and efficient. I would have no qualms about referring him and/or Kaiser Permanente for anyone needing similar treatment.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Basco was very friendly & approachable. Easy to understand & connect with.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco is great. Very knowledgeable.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco was great.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Many years ago I was referred to *Dr. Basco when my previous dr. wasunavailable when I needed care before i had an emergency out of town trip of indefinite duration. I was so pleased with *Dr. Basco that I requested to have him permanently. That was an excellent decision. I hope he remained on the Kaiser Sunnyside staff as long as I need care! Thanks for employing the best. [name]

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Felt confident in treatment plan and doctor.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Best doctor I have ever had for any situation; probably the kindest person I've ever met.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

GREAT.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel very good with the rapport that Dr. Basco and I have developed over the years.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

First time meeting *Dr. Basco. He was thorough, offered a strong treatment plan, and called me at home with biopsy results. He made me feel comfortable.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The 5.0 accumulated rating that I have given is sincere and not frivilous. [name]

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Basco explained what he was going to do and what he thought the issue was and informed me the I would hear back about the lab results in a few days. His guess about skin cancer was correct and his treatment has remove it

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. seemed a bit awkward but answered all questions & concerns.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco is one of the kindest, most caring physicians with whom I have had contact. He is exceptional in taking time with his patients, listening to their concerns and caring for their issues. I have told a number of people about his excellent demeanor!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco MD is the best: professional , very competent, and a very nice and caring person. All you could want in a Dr.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have recommended Dr. Basco to others. Skin checks are highly personal and I trust him to be courteous and professional at all times.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

love our doctor

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Basco was great as always.Always a pleasure to see him

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Basco MD is very good.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was one of the most pleasant medical experiences I have had. I have such confidence in Dr. Basco.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent caring professional care!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

don't have a problem with Dr. Basco ever

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We are totally pleased and confident in *Dr. Basco's care!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love Dr. Basco, he is always very caring and friendly.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

best derm doctor. Explains, listens, informs, caring.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent and thorough examination. Dr.Basco answered all my questions and gave excellent advice for now and in the future.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Best doctor I've ever known // It is very comforting to have a doctor so talented and caring

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I will see him anytime I have a skin issue. Good Doctor

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco is thorough, caring, and thinks through your treatment through your side as well as his.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco is a very caring man/doctor. He's always very attentive and willing to answer ALL questions. I always feel that I've gotten a very through evaluation and have enough time to ask questions without feeling rushed!!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Basco is GREAT!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco is one of my favorite doctors. Very knowledgeable...

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Care provider was courtious, but did seem kind of impersonal.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

personable and appeared caring // have recommended Dr. Basco to several people already

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bosco is an outstanding physician; you are very lucky to have him. So am I.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco was extremely caring. He explained treatment options and was easy to understand. I am happy to have him as my Dermatologist .

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have seen Dr. Basco a number of times and he is always friendly, courteous, and thorough

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco is one of the most pleasant and friendly Doctors I have seen at Kaiser. He spent time with me (without "sitting in front of the computer"), seemed thorough in addressing the problem and scheduled a return appt. I have already recommended him to several other Kaiser patients.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always excellent care by Dr. Basco MD. A very caring and competent physician. Kaiser is fortunate to have such a caring professional on their staff.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

"Very good" is not good enough for Dr. Basco. He is excellent in every way. I come away feeling informed and like I can handle these skin cancer issues. // Dr. Basco & his staff thoroughly answer all my questions.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco realized he could treat the spot that day, so we didn't have to make a second trip. Very thoughtful.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very professional. Great bedside manner.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Basco is great, this was a new patient visit. I felt my treatment plan was collaborative. And I have complete confidence in him.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Friendly and willing to give consideration to my comfort and concerns.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

the doctor and team are great.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent care; Dr Basco is efficient, competent and pleasant.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

perfect

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco is excellent

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

cannot find enough words to praise this doctor! He is the kindest most sensitive physician I have yet to see at Kaiser. He seems very tuned into the concept of total patient care. His Dermatolgy care is impeccable.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Basco is great

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Friendly and informative.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Basco is a very professional, very thorough. He did an excellent job answering my questions.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was very good. The dr. was very good.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent. Dr. Basco went beyond the call of duty. I have some vision problems which I related to him. He was nice enough to schedule an appointment with an eye doctor for me.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great doctor.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Basco was very helpful explaining my condition and inviting any questions or concerns and addressing them so I could understand the prognosis. He has a very professional and compassionate approach & demeanor.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. was very careful in his descriptions, examination, and explanations. also felt he asked all the right questions. // Dr. very comforting and educational.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco was courteous, listened and was helpful. He solved a medical problem I have had for several months, quickly and effectively. He also took time to discuss another medical issue with concern and genuine thoughtfulness. I was very pleased with his services and would recommend him to others.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have seen *Dr. Basco several times and each time I'm so pleased with each visit. Always great with a a warm hand shake and smile. Very patient and very personable. He is an asset to Kaiser.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr,Boscoe is excellent and professional and the best yet. [name]

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco was right on time; listened to my concerns; provided treatment all in a prompt, friendly and caring manner. I don't all those attributes in one doctor very often.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco addressed my needs and concerns. Highly recommend.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Love Dr.Basco, and his staff..Very efficient and professional.Have been seeing Dr Basco for 10 years

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor really didn't explain much, but gave brochures. He could have been a little more explanatory and what the results should be.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Basco is the best - I will recommend.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is always great!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This appt he seemed more friendly and informative and laid back, yet professional.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Basco was very rude. He showed no concern for me or my chief complaint. He interrupted me repeatedly. I could hardly get a word in our "conversation." I felt that he had already decided what prescriptions to write before we ever met. When I asked questions about the proposed treatment plan we talked over me and just moved through a few quick explanations.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Basco is attentive and skilled.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor is very pleasant and easy to understand.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco is a very caring man and a delight to visit with!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco MD is a very caring & skilled professional. Kaiser Permanente is fortunate to have him on their staff.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I plan to ask for this care provider in the future and would recommend him to all my close friends.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco provides caring attention during the visit and creates a very comfortable environment

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. was excellent

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We rate our Doctor Matthew G. Basco as "Outstanding".

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Basco was an excellent dr. He demonstrated kindness, caring attitude, always explained every detail of what I needed to know & went the extra, extra mile. I thank him for his caring attitude & help.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Seemed more hurried and less likely to offer services than in past appointments.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I could not ask for a kinder, more thorough doctor than *Dr. Basco.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Basco is a valuable asset to the KP Org. Give him a raise or recognition for an exceptional job well done! [name]

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very good

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco is thorough, professional, and is very personable. He is one of the best doctors I have had in my 45+ years at Kaiser.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is the best .... thanks.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very personable, very professional

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco quickly diagnosed my health issue and prescribed medication that has already made a difference.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Basco has been so much better for my skin cancer problems than my prior doctor, [name]. I really like and appreciate his skill and caring attitude.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bosco and his associates have been absolutely wonderful.....They respond to my questions and I feel very confident with the advice I receive....

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor and his assistant nurse was amazing taking care of me really well both communication and customer service that I receive from them... exceptional.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My visit with Dr Basco they are always pleasant Dr Basco give good advice in regard to my concern on my health and dermatology .problmes. I do like Dr Basco as my Dr.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco is a superb doctor at KP.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Once an appointment happens, everything works beautifully and Dr. Basco is just wonderful.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Basco is always very kind, shows concern, and shares information.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My husband recommended Dr. Basco & I'm pleased to agree with him. // I felt the dr was very competent & cared about me as an individual.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco is the best.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco is always very friendly, professional & has a sense of humor. He spent a good amount of time with me and I did not feel rushed.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Really a good visit. Dr. Bascoe is a very kind and sensitive human being as well as a wonderful dermatologist.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very pleasant visit. No complaints.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

first time visit with Dr.Basco. great doctor

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco takes the time to clearly explain things and I don't feel rushed.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was a good experience for me

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was more professional than friendly. Seemed very knowledgeable.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Did not introduce himself, did not smile. Did not show empathy. Took a quick glance at skin issue, seemed like we were wasting his time. He kept "sighing" with his explanations. He stood with arms and ankles crossed most of the visit. Overall very bad impression. Would not recommend him to anyone.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. was very pleasant

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco is a true professional.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco and his staff are helping with some acne and rosacea problems on my forehead. They are doing a good job. They are all very friendly and supportive. Kaiser is blessed to have them.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I actually enjoy my visits with Dr. Bosco. He's thorough,explains everything, and makes me laugh! Great Doctor and great guy!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Basco came into the Exam Room within about 10 minutes. He answered all of my questions during the Exam. He appears to do a very complete Exam.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

felt like he didn't take enough time to evaluate those places I was concerned with. I felt rushed and still have concerns.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am grateful to work in a profession focused on helping individuals through the management of illness. I attended medical school at the University of Rochester where I graduated as a member of the AOA academic honor society and completed my specialty training in dermatology at Oregon Health and Science University. I am fluent in Italian and near fluent in Spanish. I have enjoyed working in the Department of Dermatology at Kaiser Permanente since 2005.

About my practice

I have a medical dermatology practice focused on the treatment of skin cancers and diseases of the skin. I strive to provide education and advice to establish a treatment plan that suits the individual. I believe that treatment of disease can be achieved through a collaborative effort with the patient.

How I thrive

I have an appreciation for the extensive wilderness that is found in the Pacific Northwest. I enjoy backpacking, hiking, camping, snowboarding and find pleasure in sharing these experiences with my wonderful wife and children. Music has long been a treasured outlet in my life and I continue to play the piano and guitar on a regular basis.

Medical School ?

University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry
Rochester

Medical Training ?

Dermatology
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Dermatology
American Board of Dermatology