Matthew G. Pearce OD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Rockwood Medical Office
19500 SE Stark St.
Portland, OR 97233

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 350 Ratings
  • 42 Comments

the doctor was down to earth. gave me great options and recommendations. the comfort under his care made me feel positive about the decisions. great service.

July 11, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Pierce was excellent.

July 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I received a very thorough eye exam from Mr Pearce. he checked everything about my eyes. He was a very nice man who made you feel comfortable the whole time you are there. I will go back to him in the future.

May 09, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Super fast. I am not sure that he knew how concerned I was about this problem. I am not sure he would have cared anyway.

May 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was taken in for my appointment right on time. the Dr. was very nice and explained everything clearly.

April 30, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor very helpful!

April 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This visit was my first one with Dr. Pearce, and it went well.

April 04, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The Dr was Awesome!

March 16, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Pearce very informative.

March 03, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He did not dumb anything down. I woud have been insulted if he had, I was familiar with the "big" words that he used. I guess it is important that a doctor judges correctly what the patient can understand. Not easy I am sure!!

February 12, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I thought the doctor and his assistant were very nice.

February 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor was very prompt and answered all my questions.

January 29, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Pearce is fabulous ... as a physician, it's often enlightening to be the patient. Dr. Pearce is efficient, kind, and thoughtful. It was a great office visit.

January 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Pearce was nice and helpful. took the time to explain everything.

December 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My son was very wiggly and nervous, and the Assistant and Doctor did a great job helping him through the appointment and answering his questions. // The Doctor followed up by phone after the visit with a referral for additional care, and he had read through my son's medical history to help make the referral connection relevant. I was impressed by the time he took!

November 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

not very friendly.

November 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Matthew Pearce is an excellent example of patient care. Thorough, thoughtful, explanations & follow up needed. I highly recommend hi level of practice.

October 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Friendly, thorough (after checking, did some re-checking), explained the cause of the problem, why it needs to be monitored (which was good because I tend to ignore problems) and answered my questions without ever making me feel rushed. He seemed to go out of his way to help me get scheduled for follow up (went to find the nurse etc). I left with a good understanding of what's going on and how to monitor it at home.

September 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Outstanding provider. empathetic, knowledgable, and forthcoming. The exam he performed was extensive regarding my concern and made me very confident that no retinal problem was involved. He did not note the suspected dx on my appointment follow up form which I wish had been documented as it was new to me and explained the transient symptom perfectly.

September 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Enjoyed the doctor and staff.

September 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor pretty much just cut to the chase and didn't spend much time small talking, which I can appreciate. He answered my questions, I had no issue understanding anything he said. He was quick to show up and quick to return once I got my eyes dilated. Overall no complaints. He didn't push me to purchase glasses from Kaiser.

September 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Pearce answered my concerns fully. Thank you!

September 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very, very thorough exam coupled with good information. He took time to explain various issues and treatments, which was wonderful. He also made sure the eyeglass Rx was accurate (very patient). Felt like this was a GREAT exam with a competent doctor of optometry.

August 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good doctor, clear communication no questions left unanswered.

July 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very nice doctor, with a sense of humor even!

June 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

great experience, doctor understood my needs

June 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very impressed with Dr Pearce.

June 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Pearce was great! Very nice manner, calm, concerned. I had never been seen by him before, but will definitely schedule again with him his assistant [name] was great as well.

June 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Nice guy who did a good job

June 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good

May 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

thorough, patient, caring!

May 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent and professional

April 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great treatment from doctor & staff.

March 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

exam seemed thorough to me. diagnosis and treatment recommendations made sense and were explained. // felt comfortable

March 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr was so efficient

February 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Matthew G. Pearce, OD treated me well and thorough. Excellent people person and Kaiser should be proud of one like him.

February 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Pearce was one of the best physicians I've had in many years. EVERYTHING from "bedside manner" to exam to explaining was top notch!

January 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very patient and knowledgeable. Took time to go back to previous eye exams from Kaiser Ca. // Doctor was very through and explained everything he was doing. when done he explained his findings and said he was requesting a referral just to make sure since he saw something that was not noted on previous eye exams.

December 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was the most thorough eye exam I have ever had. I felt my concerns were sincerely addressed.

December 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was very professional.

December 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Matt was very professional, clear, and relaxed with me.

November 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very nice Doctor

October 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I, along with my three siblings, was raised in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada by wonderful parents who instilled in me an ethic of hard work coupled with compassion for others. This combination led me to the profession of optometry, allowing me to meet many wonderful patients who positively impact my life while I work with them to maximize their visual and eye-health potential. I relocated to the Pacific Northwest to attend optometry school and fell in love with the region and a woman who would later become my wife. After graduating from optometry school, my interest in public health and community development led my wife and me to live in five states and four countries. We are thrilled to have returned to the Northwest to raise our sons.

About my practice

I believe in member-centered, culturally-competent care. Through the relationship and mutual respect between my members and myself, we work together to determine and implement the best treatment for their eye and vision needs, combining my medical expertise and their personal and cultural values. I enjoy working with members who have special needs and desire to help them reach their full visual potential.

How I thrive

My wife and our sons, along with our supportive extended family, energize me and give me great joy. I am also motivated through teaching and conducting research. I enjoy working towards improving my health through necessary behavior change--eating better and getting more exercise, something I put off for far too long.

Medical School ?

Pacific University
Forest Grove

Medical Training ?

Optometry
Pacific University
Forest Grove OR

Board Certification ?