Matthew P. Kaul MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Orchards Medical Office
7101 NE 137th Ave.
Vancouver, WA 98682

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 151 Ratings
  • 31 Comments

Dr. Kaul is amazing and I appreciate the time he takes to work on a treatment plan with me.

July 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kaul is probably my favorite Kaiser doctor. So, although I wish I didn't have a problem that he needed to evaluate, I'm always glad to see him.

June 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kaul was professional yet very personable. Asset to your clinic.

June 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This Dr. is so amazing. To my shock my chronic back pain is nearly gone after one visit with him. // I have recommended doctor to people already.

May 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kaul was personable, caring, thorough and knowledgeable about my health issue. His competence is exemplary!

May 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Unfortunately, only a number five seems very inadequate for Dr. Kaul. I wish I could have given him 1,000.000 on all questions! Extremely caring, capable, intelligent, patient, thorough, professional. I am finally at peace regarding my condition and treatment, and my anxiety and stress levels have dropped drastically too.

April 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kaul was very professional and to the point. I was in and it off the office on less than a half hour.

March 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kaul was absolutely wonderful. He was professional, gentle and assured me I would be done fairly quickly. I was extremely worried about the nerve conduct test and he put my mind at ease. It was a much better experience than my last nerve conduct test with another doctor. I thank him so much!

March 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kaul is a wonderful doctor. He works hard to figure out answers to my issues and is very through and kind. Thank you *Dr. K.

January 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had a good experience each time I saw *Dr. Kaul. [name]

January 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kaul is very much my favorite Kaiser doctor. Thank you, *Dr. Kaul, for your thoroughness, warmth, knowledge, & professionalism.

January 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kaul showed great concern listening to me describing my back problems. He printed out pictures on how to do exercises to reduce the pain I really like him and would highly recommend him to others. He is an asset to Kaiser.

December 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kaul is awesome! So thorough & caring. One of the BEST Drs. in the Kaiser system.

October 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very impressed with *Dr. Kaul's expertise. Dr. Kaul quickly diagnosed I gave me exercises to alleviate the problem causing the pain.

October 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent service.

September 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kaul is my favorite doctor because he has something special in being able to diagnose a problem and have a solution to deal with it. He is also a very nice person.

August 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Matthew Kaul was one of the most pleasant doctor that I've every been to and I am eighty five years old and have been to many doctors and his staff.

August 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Have had several back surgeries. Many great physicians over that time. I was referred to *Dr. Kaul a few years back. I want you to know he is one of the most brilliant doctors working the _____ the pain. Dr.. Kaul spends time REALLY reading MRI's/CT scans like, no other doctor. I will take his advise, diagnosis over all. He has helped me so much. I so appreciate his knowledge and care and concern. [name]

July 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kaul is exceptional.

May 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

this doctor is far above any other that I have seen. he takes the time needed explains the procedure so I can understand it. he even offered a new procedure and included me in receiving it, once he gets it approved. I pray more doctors to be a effective as this one

May 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

First time to see Dr Kaul. Very personable and concerned about me waiting too long, and I didn't wait but a minute or two. He was very helpful and made me feel confident that my problems was going to be solved. I am improving with the suggestions he made and am encouraged by my progress. Thanks Dr Kaul.

May 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kaul & the nurse assistant did a very good job. I came in with many questions & health concerns and I left with all my questions answered & w/many solutions. Thank you *Dr. Kaul. I visited many doctors and you were there only one that provided me w/an answer & solution.

April 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Doctor Kaul took a great amount of time w/me his assistant was also super good I will follow up with *Doctor Kaul in the future. You are lucky to have two great people working for Kaiser.

April 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kaul is a exceptional doctor. Very easy to talk to, presents no attitude of self importance. Excellent explanation of medical problem.

March 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good doctor - Very knowledgeable and personable. Felt very confident with his diagnosis.

March 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always the best! [name]

February 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I drive from Gresham because I like the staff at this location. Dr. Kaul & [name] are the best.

December 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kaul was very concerned about my pain.

November 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kaul is one of the most caring and efficient physician I have ever met. I can email him in the morning and within a short time I have a response from him. If He thinks I need to be seen, I schedule an appointment or his nurse will call. He is so knowledgable and always teaches and explains my situation. He teaches about medication so I understand. I am so thankful for his care. I wish all medical doctors were like him.

October 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Extremely pleased with my experience this visit & with Kaiser in general - Thank you.

August 05, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was so impressed by *Dr. Kaul that I was going to write a letter commending him, but then life got busy. *Dr. Kaul was a good listener, very personal and knowledgeable. It was over and above what I expected! What a great team of caregivers.

August 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have spent most of my life in the Pacific Northwest. I attended medical school here in Portland, Oregon and graduated in 1987. Seattle, Washington was home for my residency in Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation. I graduated in 1991 and have been in practice since then.

About my practice

I have expertise in electro diagnosis, general rehabilitation, bracing and orthotics, and musculoskeletal medicine. After 22 years in practice, I still loves to come to work every day - I look forward to it and get excited, mind on fire. I love my field, in many ways it is one that still requires detective skills and discernment.

How I thrive

I come to work.

Medical School ?

Oregon Health Sciences University School of Medicine
Portland

Medical Training ?

Sports Medicine
Puget Sound Sports and Spine Physicians
Seattle WA

Physical Medicine and Rehabil
University of Washington
Seattle WA

Board Certification ?

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
American Board of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitat