Matthew V. Reid MD
4.5 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office East
3550 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.5
Overall Score
  • 4.2
    Wait Time
  • 4.5
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.5
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.5
    Explanations
  • 4.3
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 134 Ratings
  • 40 Comments

Overall good experience. Felt like there was a little disconnect during visit, felt like I had to repeat information several times. Might have just been motivational interviewing technique too. Physician was very personable and I really appreciated not being medication driven.

July 03, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Reid is great! Concerned; caring; knowledgeable; involved me in decision making ; focuses on prevention, nutrition, exercise, life balance! Kaiser needs more like *Dr. Reid.

June 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

best doctor

June 04, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr. Reid is most professional, empathetic, understanding and caring, in fact a first rate doctor

May 07, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Reid was so kind and sweet with my 2 day old baby. Although I had never seen him before for care I felt very at ease. I would gladly see him again!

April 16, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Reid seemed like he would've rather been anywhere else in the world. Been a while since I've seen a dr. who seemed like he was just punching his time card.

March 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Reid & his medical assistant practice medicine as it ought to be - with patience, gracious listening, sincere concern, & true compassion. My family & I are lucky to have them as our health care team!

February 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel fortunate to have Dr. Reid as my primary care physician He is terrific

February 06, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Doctor Matthew Reid is a great doctor.

November 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Reed is very professional and attentive to conditions for which I scheduled this visit for.

November 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was fun, changed some things around since we needed to change out meds in hopes that they would work out better for me.

October 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Matthew is always very positive which I appreciate. Questions outside of my actual reason for visiting is always answered. He encouraged me to slowly get back into running. He is very caring and I always leave feeling like I have been taken care of.

August 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

always explains in terms I can understand

August 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Reid was very conscientious, professional and knowledgeable about my plantar-fasciitis condition. I would highly recommend *Dr. Reid to anyone! I appreciate the time he took and the helpful information he gave me.

July 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr.Reid is great.

June 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like my doctor, M. Reid. He's direct, honest, friendly, knowledgeable, and seems very familiar with me and my medical history. He's very quick to message or email me when I have questions or need to talk to him.

May 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Reid is very attentive, caring, well-experienced and highly qualified. I'm grateful to have him as a physician. I trust his judgment and appreciate his concern for my wellbeing.

May 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Reid was very helpful and explained what was going on in a way we could understand and weigh the options for treatment for our daughter. He was very reassuring & gave us confidence in our next steps and relieved some stress.

March 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I liked Dr. Reid.

February 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very collaborative in his treatment approach

January 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I thoroughly enjoy my visits with *Matt Reid. He goes to great lengths to include me in decisions and explains the logic used to get there. His knowledge of the mass of data available to formulate plans for health care are worthy of accolades.

January 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Reid was very thorough and helped me out with what I need to do to get healthy and well.

December 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt like I was rushed during my appointment. I wasn't able to explain all my issues to the doctor.

November 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor was very helpful in describing the options I have.

November 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always approachable *Dr. Reid has always been professional & approachable.

July 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was favorably impressed with Dr. Reid.

July 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Reed was very kind and helpful.

June 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great guy. Very attentive and concerned with resolving the issue.

June 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have repeatedly recommended Dr. Reid to others looking for Primary Care Physicians at Kaiser. He is level-headed, and does an excellent job of looking at the whole picture of what is happening in my life, and not just the ailment in front of him.

May 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very helpful staff and, the doctor was great!

March 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We cannot say enough good things about Dr. Reid. We left the appointment saying that we are so thankful to have him as our daughter's physician.

February 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He seemed more concerned about my weight than anything else and failed to pay attention to other things I'd rather he discussed with me.

January 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

fantastic thank you

January 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Reid is one of the best doctors I have had in my 68 years.

October 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My Doctor and his staff are great and always courteous.

October 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

After I got home, I realized I still had some questions about my care, but Dr. Reid answered my e-mail promptly and completely.

September 29, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Overall a great experience.

September 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have utmost confidence in the care I receive from *Dr. M. Reid.

September 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would be able to answer the questions about the care provider after I have more interaction with him. as of my one and only interaction, very. good

August 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Reid takes time to hear my concerns. He is incredibly compassionate and never makes me feel rushed. I am lucky to have him as my PCP.

August 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born and raised in Montclair, New Jersey. An early interest in science, an extroverted personality, and a desire to make a positive difference in people's lives led me to family medicine. Since graduating from residency in 2002, I have worked in private practice, hospitals, and on the faculty of a family medicine residency program performing full-spectrum family medicine including obstetrics, pediatrics, and geriatrics. I moved to the majestic Pacific Northwest from San Francisco, California with my wife and two children in 2008. Outside of work, I am involved in advocacy work to reduce air toxin exposures for children in our neighborhood, and I engage with local and state legislators to make sure Oregon patients have a voice in America's rapidly changing healthcare system.

About my practice

I was attracted to Kaiser Permanente because of its commitment to improving primary care for patients; its focus on and investment in preventive care, health and wellness, and technology results in better outcomes for patents. Kaiser Permanente's cutting edge medical technology, including evidence-based diagnostic and treatment decision support and care coordination, allows me to focus on you. And the most important thing I do is making time to listen and get to know you. I enjoy being invited by patients to learn about them, their families and their lives. It's quite a privilege. I'm also an advocate for exercise and nutrient-rich diets of minimally processed whole foods. Don't be surprised if I talk with you about fun local gyms, my favorite yoga studios, great hiking or cycling trails, a few easy healthy recipes, ways to get kids to eat leafy greens, or how to arrange for deliveries of local farm-fresh produce to your home or neighborhood.

How I thrive

My family and I enjoy Forest Park's never-ending miles of winding trails, bike rides, and being just an hour's drive from the mountains and the ocean. I am continually amazed by the natural beauty of my surroundings and the people that inhabit them. I hope to continue to enjoy the treasures of the Pacific Northwest for years to come.

Medical School ?

UMDNJ-New Jersey Medical School
Newark

Medical Training ?

Family Medicine
Overlook Hospital
Summit NJ

Board Certification ?

Family Medicine
American Board of Family Medicine