Maxine E. Dexter MD
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Kaiser Sunnyside Medical Center
10180 SE Sunnyside Road
Clackamas, OR 97015

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.4
    Wait Time
  • 4.9
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.9
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 52 Ratings
  • 23 Comments

*Maxine E. Dexter, MD was very caring and I felt she was very well educated. She made me feel as though I was in good hands. I trust her and appreciated her and her nurse assistant was wonderful as well. Great experience!!

February 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Love my _____ *Doctor Maxine Dexter MD.

January 30, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*dr. Dexter is an excellent doctor who is able to explain complicated medical information easily. She also listens well and makes her plan accordingly. She is also very good with follow-up and email response.

January 04, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really like *Dr. Dexter I have already recommended her to a friend.

October 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm grateful for the care I've received from *Dr. Dexter. Had it not been for her I'm sure I would not be here today. I know my time is limited, but for now things are good. (So grateful.) [name]

July 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Dexter is a wonderful explainer. She does not rush you and pays attention to your questions and answers completely. She is very sharp and has helped me a great deal.

July 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Dexter was exceptional! She took a lot of time with me & explained everything very well. She's very warm & caring & she involved me in decisions about my ongoing care. The medical assistant/nurse was also very good. All in all this was a wonderful visit to a doctor!

June 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Everythings very good.

May 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Dexter is great. All my questions were answered quickly. I can't say enough good things about *Dr. Dexter and her staff.

May 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr and staff were super!

April 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor was very good at communicating about my issues and asking questions about my symptoms & medical issues. She was very knowledgeable and made me feel comfortable and at ease about how to approach the issues.

April 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Dexter has been excellent in providing exceptional care and takes extra concern to explain options and treatment. One of the best doctors we have experienced at Kaiser.

April 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Caregiver was very nice and I felt she listened to me -

February 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Wonderful experience: *Dr. Dexter is very thorough & listens to what I say. I appreciate have such a good doctor!

January 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Dexter was so willing to explain to myself, my daughter and a nurse friend, of my current condition and what to expect in the future. Also what to do if something unexpected should happen or if other questions should arise. She explained everything so clearly. I would certainly encourage any new patient seeking lung or pulmonology care & advice to consider *Dr. Dexter. She is spectacular! [name]

November 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was excellent! Wish everyone gave such caring advice & concern.

November 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Dexter and staff are outstanding.

June 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Maxine Dexter has always taken enough time with me & is always positive about my problem. I'm glad she is my lung doctor!

April 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I wish that *Dr. Dexter were my primary care physician!

March 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The top priority I experienced was the detail and time taken to assess my condition. No stone unturned and the love given to help me accept those findings. Some things I had a hard time accepting but thru kindness and understanding came to accept the findings. // *Dr. Dexter and her staff always make sure you understand everything they are doing and make extra effort to understand you. The feeling they eminate is like going to your family for your care, in regards to the experience and detail of their assistant nothing is overlooked . We love this Dr.

February 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Dexter EXCELLENT!! Spent time explaining what was happening with my COPD and lungs. Rearranged order of using meds. Answered every question on my list fully. She is what every doctor should be, just terrific.

January 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Dexter is the best! Considerate, kind & interested in my care!

October 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really like *Dr. Maxine Dexter, she understands my concerns and gives me, what I thought, was a good response.

September 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Having been born, raised, and educated in the Pacific Northwest, it was a pleasure to return "home" with my family to Portland in 2008. I have been practicing with Kaiser Permanente Northwest since that time and have found it to be an incredible place to give and receive care. I am honored to serve this medical group as Chair of the Northwest Permanente Board of Directors. I grew up in Bothell, Washington, and was the first person on either side of my family to graduate from college. I met my husband, who is also a Kaiser Permanente physician, when we were in medical school at the University of Washington. We trained in Denver, where I completed my internal medicine residency, served as a chief medical resident, and then completed my fellowship in pulmonary and critical care medicine in 2008.

About my practice

Being a KP physician means I am able to do the right thing for my patients in a comprehensive and coordinated system. I am convinced we deliver the highest-quality care possible, and I deeply appreciate the autonomy I have to choose the right care at the right time for my patients. I practice both inpatient and outpatient medicine in pulmonary and critical care subspecialties. I have specialized training and knowledge in the areas of pulmonary hypertension (PH), bronchiectasis, and non-tuberculous mycobacterial infections. I also am trained in the use of endobronchial ultrasound and use this evolving technology to assist with bronchoscopic biopsies.

How I thrive

We have two fabulous children, and our family maintains an active and adventurous lifestyle. I make time to run, ski, camp, hike, cook, sail, read, and go for long walks in Forest Park with our family dog. We are dedicated travelers, enjoying the perspective we gain by spending time internationally. I am engaged in local politics from the school board to the state level and work to help my children understand that we have a responsibility to make our community a stronger one with the way we serve. I am proud to have played an instrumental role in guiding Northwest Permanente toward becoming the world's first physician group to gain certification as a B Corporation! I couldn't be happier to be here, and I look forward to many more adventures in the Northwest, both personally and professionally.

Medical School ?

University of Washington School of Medicine
Seattle

Medical Training ?

Pulmonary Disease and Critical Care Medicine
University of Colorado
Denver CO

Internal Medicine
University of Colorado
Denver CO

Board Certification ?

Critical Care Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine