Maxine E. Dexter MD
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Kaiser Sunnyside Medical Center
10180 SE Sunnyside Road
Clackamas, OR 97015

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.9
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 83 Ratings
  • 21 Comments

*Dr. Dexter was exceptional! She took a lot of time with me & explained everything very well. She's very warm & caring & she involved me in decisions about my ongoing care. The medical assistant/nurse was also very good. All in all this was a wonderful visit to a doctor!

May 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Everythings very good.

May 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Dexter is great. All my questions were answered quickly. I can't say enough good things about *Dr. Dexter and her staff.

May 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr and staff were super!

April 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor was very good at communicating about my issues and asking questions about my symptoms & medical issues. She was very knowledgeable and made me feel comfortable and at ease about how to approach the issues.

April 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Dexter has been excellent in providing exceptional care and takes extra concern to explain options and treatment. One of the best doctors we have experienced at Kaiser.

April 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Caregiver was very nice and I felt she listened to me -

February 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Wonderful experience: *Dr. Dexter is very thorough & listens to what I say. I appreciate have such a good doctor!

January 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Dexter was so willing to explain to myself, my daughter and a nurse friend, of my current condition and what to expect in the future. Also what to do if something unexpected should happen or if other questions should arise. She explained everything so clearly. I would certainly encourage any new patient seeking lung or pulmonology care & advice to consider *Dr. Dexter. She is spectacular! [name]

November 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor *Maxine Dexter is an excellent health provider.

November 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was excellent! Wish everyone gave such caring advice & concern.

October 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor needs to work on her person to person skills.

August 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Dexter is very good, I would recommend her to everyone with my condition (severe COPD).

July 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Dexter is THE best!

July 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Dexter and staff are outstanding.

June 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Maxine Dexter has always taken enough time with me & is always positive about my problem. I'm glad she is my lung doctor!

April 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I wish that *Dr. Dexter were my primary care physician!

March 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The top priority I experienced was the detail and time taken to assess my condition. No stone unturned and the love given to help me accept those findings. Some things I had a hard time accepting but thru kindness and understanding came to accept the findings. // *Dr. Dexter and her staff always make sure you understand everything they are doing and make extra effort to understand you. The feeling they eminate is like going to your family for your care, in regards to the experience and detail of their assistant nothing is overlooked . We love this Dr.

February 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Dexter EXCELLENT!! Spent time explaining what was happening with my COPD and lungs. Rearranged order of using meds. Answered every question on my list fully. She is what every doctor should be, just terrific.

January 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Dexter is the best! Considerate, kind & interested in my care!

October 26, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really like *Dr. Maxine Dexter, she understands my concerns and gives me, what I thought, was a good response.

September 01, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Having been born, raised, and educated in the Pacific Northwest it was a pleasure to return "home" with my family to Portland! I grew up in Bothell, WA and was the first person on either side of my family to graduate from college. I decided I was going to be a physician in fifth grade and never looked back. My husband and I met in medical school and moved to Denver for eight years, where we completed our medical training, had our two children, and explored the gorgeous Rocky Mountains. Our family maintains an active lifestyle and I have been able to continue running, skiing, camping, hiking, biking, and walking along the gorgeous Oregon Coast and have enjoyed sharing these activities with my children as they grow. I couldn't be happier to be here and look forward to many more adventures in the Northwest both personally and professionally.

About my practice

I practice both inpatient and outpatient medicine in pulmonary and critical care subspecialties. Within my subspecialties, I have specialized training and knowledge in the areas of pulmonary hypertension (PH), bronchiectasis, and non-tuberculous mycobacterial infections. I also am trained in the use of Endobronchial Ultrasound and use this evolving technology to assist with bronchoscopic biopsies. Though I considered many different regions and medical groups to ultimately settle with, I was drawn to Kaiser Permanente because the system is coherent, compulsive, and sensible; I am able to practice high-quality medicine and do the right thing for my patients without a lot of red tape. I have also been able to further develop my interest and skills in treating Pulmonary Hypertension, opening our group's first multi-disciplinary clinic to care for patients with this rare condition. My subspecialties offer an excellent balance of inpatient and outpatient medicine and working for Kaiser Permanente allows me to spend quality time with my family so that I maintain both professional and personal satisfaction with my life.

How I thrive

Balance is incredibly important, and I have been able to attain this while working with Kaiser Permanente. I am physically active and have continued to run regularly and get to the mountains or coast as often as possible with my family. We have a lovely yard where we grow many wonderful things and attract an amazing assortment of birds, which my children delight in identifying. I volunteer at both of my children's schools, working on fundraising as well as in the classrooms. Our family regularly volunteers at local non-profit organizations, and we hope to instill in our children the importance of not only being good people, but good citizens. We travel internationally at least yearly and hope that by sharing and experiencing different cultures and beliefs that we all will be more in tune with the needs of others and the importance of life balance for all.

Medical School ?

University of Washington School of Medicine
Seattle

Medical Training ?

Pulmonary Disease and Critica
University of Colorado
Denver CO

Internal Medicine
University of Colorado
Denver CO

Board Certification ?

Pulmonary Disease
American Board of Internal Medicine

Critical Care Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine