May Wang MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office East
3550 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 192 Ratings
  • 51 Comments

Dr. Wang was very knowledgeable, concerned and thorough.

July 11, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*May Wang is very conscientious & caring. She takes her position seriously and is easy to talk to.

June 29, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Re: *Dr. Wang - I continue to be impressed with her patience and attention to my needs. Even though I'm sure she has an allotted time limit per patient, she NEVER made me feel rushed.

June 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. May Wang is not my regular PC. But she cared for me as if I was her own PT.

June 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good doc!

May 10, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Wang is awesome! She's personable, easy to talk to and professional.

April 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We love Dr. Wang!

April 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Wang is thee best!!! Kind and caring, professional and knowledgeable. if you paid her what she's worth, you couldn't afford her!!!

March 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was very thorough, and provided an excellent experience.

January 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My first visit with *Dr. Wang was fantastic. Everything ran smoothly even though I was a few minutes late. *Dr. Wang listened to all my concerns and addressed them in a thoughtful and no-nonsense way. I also sent her a follow-up email and she responded promptly and addressed those concerns in the same manner. She's fantastic and so was everyone else I interacted with. Thanks so much!

January 11, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We like *Dr. Wang a lot. She is kind and low-key in her approach to our children, which we find reassuring.

November 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really felt like Dr. Wang listened to me and let my needs at this visit. She included me in decisions regarded my care which is much appreciated.

October 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I always appreciate *Dr. Wang's responsiveness - I know I will get an answer of response if I email -

October 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The attention was very nice, *Dr. Wang looked into old exams (ultrasounds) and considered my previous health conditions, she took the time she needed, didn't seem to rush, she was very clear, answered all my questions. She and the nurses were great! Thank you! [name]

September 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I left this visit feeling really good about it. *Dr. Wang spend quite a bit of time with me and was very thorough; I didn't feel rushed at all.

September 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wang is fantastic and my children really like her, as do I.

September 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am sure the last thing dr. wanted to do on a Friday afternoon at around 4:30 p.m. was to see me. But everyone was great! I honestly felt like the cared about my situation and wanted to get an answer to my symptoms.

August 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

such a good listener! Rare, in my experience. Non-judgemental, willing to listen to my opinions and oriorities and include them in a plan of care

August 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been very pleased with *Dr. Wang's care. She is a friendly, open human being. I have complete trust in her care.

June 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wang was very polite, kind, and efficient in addressing my concerns after having come from emergency surgery. I really appreciated her.

February 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Wang was great! Easy to talk with and thorough.

February 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I saw *Dr. Wang when my PCP was out. I'm feeling better following her advice and she told me when to follow up. I'm thankful for her approach to finding the root cause of the symptoms.

January 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Wang is wonderful - my family loves her!

December 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was so nice and down to earth. She really was very nice and professional.

November 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Wang and assistants are superb.

October 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I get great care from Kaiser and Dr Wang is my favorite doctor. She listens intently to my health concerns and is proactive in finding solutions and cures.

October 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wang is wonderful. She is thorough, answers all my questions, always cheerful. She always seems to remember my issues and care needs. I am so glad she's my doctor!

September 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always a pleasure seeing this polite and caring doctor.

August 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. [Wang] has been amazing to myself and new baby. We highly appreciate her kind, warm and professional manner. We feel very cared for and would highly recommend her to others!

August 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was great -

August 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr Wang is always a pleasant experience. she and her staff is incredibly accommodating

July 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

May Wang is the best doctor I have had. She really listens and includes me in decision making. I also have confidence in her judgment and can trust her to have considered all aspects of my care, beyond just the standard protocols.

June 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel very fortunate to have found Dr. Wang. She always makes me feel valued and respected as an individual and I have complete confidence in her professionalism.

June 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wang non-defensively coordinates care with what I am doing at the other clinic. She was very responsive to all of my concerns.

May 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wang is a phenomenal care provider. She truly listens and explains thing well. She goes above and beyond in working me into her schedule when an acute issue comes up and never makes me feel rushed.

May 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Doctor Wang is always perfectly balanced between professional and friendly.

May 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very pleased with the treatment received during my visit. I appreciate the time, attention and respect.

May 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very understanding and caring woman

March 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I did not have any specific concerns during this visit, but she was very sensitive to my comfort level and also able to respond to my feedback from how I felt after my last visit and tailor my treatment this time accordingly to avoid me feeling the same way following this appointment.

March 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Wang really listened to me

March 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

If I could rate Dr. Wang as exceptional I would she is an amazing Doctor I feel so lucky to be a part of her practice!

March 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. May Wang is AWESOME and an attentive PCP!

February 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

best Doctor ever!

February 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Wang was wonderful. I've had overall bad experiences with doctors with which I've scheduled impromptu appts. so I was hesitant about seeing a doctor other than my PCP. However, *Dr. Wang exceeded all expectations & if I didn't already have a great PCP, I would probably ask for her.

February 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I don't visit very often - but everything goes well.

January 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Experience was good. Doctor was very informative and helpful.

January 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent

January 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I finally feel that I will get good care- my concern were addressed, and I was scheduled for my next appointment in a timely manner.

October 29, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wang is an impressive caregiver. She is thorough in her explanations and comes across as if she genuinely cares. She seems focused on quality and the healthy outcome of her patient.

October 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Otherwise, she is a remarkable doctor AND person. I guess that explains the wait.

October 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I didn't feel like Dr Wang was rushing me or trying to limit the amount of time she spent with me. She gave me her full attention and gave me time to describe my aliment

August 05, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am originally from Florida, born to parents who emigrated from Taiwan. I went to college and medical school in Miami, Florida and then moved to Portland, Oregon in 2001 to do my residency training in family medicine at the Oregon Health and Science University (OHSU). Prior to coming to Kaiser Permanente, I worked at a Native American community health clinic for several years. I currently live with my husband, daughter, and cat in Northeast Portland. I chose the field of medicine because I wanted to help people live better lives. I love being a primary care doctor because I get to know people and their families over an extended period of time and get to help coordinate all aspects of their health and wellbeing. I consider it a privilege to be invited into the lives of my patients.

About my practice

I enjoy helping people of all ages, from newborns to the elderly. I am happy to see all members of a family and enjoy getting to know the whole clan. I do minor office procedures and also practice acupuncture at the Integrative Medicine Clinic. People have different beliefs regarding health and wellbeing, and I like to try and tailor treatment plans to those beliefs so that my patients feel comfortable and engaged with their care. I believe that medications are often important and lifesaving, but the less you need, the better off you are.

How I thrive

I try to be thankful for the simple pleasures of life around me - sharing meals with friends and family, reading, enjoying a cup of tea, petting a purring cat. I also like to cook and play the violin and accordion. For my physical health I like to take walks, bike, jog, and practice Tai Chi. I find that remembering my mortality ("memento mori"), helps me keep my life in perspective.

Medical School ?

University of Miami School of Medicine
Miami

Medical Training ?

Medical Acupuncture
University of California (Los Angeles) School of Medicine
Los Angeles CA

Family Practice
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Family Medicine
American Board of Family Medicine